We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lower Severalls Farmhouse
Ranked #4 of 10 Crewkerne B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous breakfast!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We've stayed here twice now and both times have been made very welcome and comfortable. Lovely comfortable and spacious rooms with and the breakfast is even better, brilliant full English and lots of extra bits like home stewed fruit - delicious!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
29
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Magical. This is a beautiful 17th century property with spacious rooms and top quality furnishings. With a glorious garden as a bonus. Mike & Mary are the perfect hosts and the breakfast is the best I have ever had spread before me in a b&b or indeed in a top hotel. A one-night stay does not do justice to the place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mulberry18, Owner at Lower Severalls Farmhouse, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Hi KItty S, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. It was an absolute pleasure to have you all to stay, you were the perfect guests. Till next time, all the best, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My grown up family and I stayed here overnight after a family wedding. We just wanted somewhere convenient to put our heads down but got so much more.
This farmhouse B n B is out in the wonderful South Somerset countryside but very close to the A303 and we only needed to cross the road to Haselbury Mill where the wedding was taking place.
The accommodation is in a converted barn, which has been very well done up. The beds were comfy and there was a lovely wet room in our room.
Breakfast was something else, the choice was amazing and the jams and marmalade and juices were either home made or came from close by, as were the sausages, bacon and eggs.
Mary and Mike are so lovely and we all really appreciated his sense especially my daughter!
Mary gave us some great advice of where to spend the rest of the day. There is so much to see in the area I would advise anyone to stay for much longer than our 1 night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann273504128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mulberry18, Owner at Lower Severalls Farmhouse, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review. Hope your daughter is enjoying Rio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bramhall
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights and loved the big room and excellent breakfast. A few things needed attention but the goodwill was warm. At first there was no hot water but that was rectified when we mentioned it the next day. There are steep outside steps up to 2 of the rooms so it needs to be taken carefully. You have to walk outside in order to get to breakfast. The rooms are large and interesting, a 'kitchen' is mentioned but this is just a microwave.............I imagine you'd have to ask for plates etc if you wanted to eat in. The kettle was filled with lime scale so my first drink had bits floating & had to be thrown away but I am sure this was just an oversight as with hard water it can build up very quickly. There were no curtains in one of the rooms! There was a welcome tray of tea and cake which made a lovely start. Opposite there is a place to eat, super food but quite expensive, though one night a week they do more economic possibility

Room Tip: Apparently there is a downstairs room if you don't fancy a walk outside in the dark! Very keen g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfeakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Thank you Mary & Mike for providing such comfortable and beautiful accommodation, I just wish we could have stayed longer. The Willow suite is fantastically presented, clean, tidy, fresh and extremely well decorated/presented. We stayed as we had a friends wedding at the Mill, which was a short walk across the road, it was well lit and easy (we stayed during the storms and floods). Mike & Mary even provide a torch if you want. Our accommodation was far nicer than some of our friends who where staying at the Mill and a better price!! The bed was very comfortable and I loved the cosiness of the whole room. The Breakfast was First class and again beautifully presented. I too have to mention the cute and friendly little dogs and the charming young lad who bought our toast out deserves some praise too :)
Thank you again for such an amazing experience, I always worry I might get it wrong when I book somewhere but I So got it right this time!! :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mulberry18, Owner at Lower Severalls Farmhouse, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you so much for this lovely and detailed review, it really is wonderful to hear that our rooms and breakfasts are so appreciated. I have passed on your praise to our son (and the dogs) who will be even more eager to help now! Hope to see you again sometime, maybe for a little longer stay next time. With best wishes and thanks again, Mary & Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Beautiful place, very comfortable and laid back atmosphere. Accommodation was spacious and very tastefully decorated. Mary and Mike were brilliant hosts and very friendly, as were their two dogs. Would definitely recommend this B and B and hope I can stay there again myself sometime.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dawn583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mulberry18, Owner at Lower Severalls Farmhouse, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. It was a pleasure to have you to stay. Do hope to see you again sometime, best wishes, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Initial impressions were not that good - the place reminded me of the ramshackle farm that Pop Larkin scurried around in on TV a few years ago. And the road signage, crudely daubed on an old door, looked more like the sort of thing a tramp might have done, to indicate a friendly place to stay the night. Which indeed it was.

The room itself was fine. Comfortable, warm and with a good shower and a strong wi-fi signal. The breakfast was something else again. It was fit to grace the table of any 5 star establishment. Fresh orange juice, homemade jam and lemon curd, 'proper' bread toasted to a T and a woodburner glowing amber, in the old farmhouse dining room. From 'full English' with amazing quality bacon and mushrooms, to a fat fillet of Haddock with a softly poached egg burst over the top, breakfast was always wonderful.

So ignore initial impressions that you've entered a run down country garage, fill your nostrils with the sweetly scented air from the monstrous pet pig and thank your lucky stars that you found this hidden away little gem.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crewkerne
1.3 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#2 of 2 in Crewkerne
45 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Manor Arms
The Manor Arms
#1 of 1 in North Perrott
54 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haselbury Mill
Haselbury Mill
#1 of 2 in Haselbury Plucknett
476 reviews
1.9 mi away
Calendar Cottage
Calendar Cottage
#3 of 10 in Crewkerne
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Severalls Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Severalls Farmhouse

Property: Lower Severalls Farmhouse
Address: Lower Severalls, Crewkerne TA18 7NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Crewkerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Crewkerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the beautiful rolling hills of South Somerset, a 17th century Ham stone Grade 2 listed long house with a converted stables and loft adjacent. Rooms are apartment style, spacious and all en-suite. Breakfast in the farmhouse is varied, locally sourced and served with homemade bread and preserves. Visit Britain 4 stars, Silver and Breakfast awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Lower Severalls Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lower Severalls Farmhouse Crewkerne, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing