We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly Special Wedding Venue”
Review of The Yurt Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crewkerne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Yurt Retreat
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Incredibly Special Wedding Venue”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We were incredibly lucky to hold our wedding reception at the Yurt Retreat. It was an absolutely magical and beautiful location! Paul and Andrew were a great help in in the run up answering queries and were wonderfully flexible about everything so we were able to have exactly the kind of relaxed, rustic country wedding that we really wanted. It felt like our very own little chilled out music festival with a stunning backdrop. A bunch of our friends got to stay in the on site accommodation so it felt like a whole weekend party as we got to sit around by the fire pit watching the stars after the party and BBQ together for breakfast the following day. Andrew and Paul have set everything up so well and thought of everything, the accommodation is beautiful. It made a really special weekend absolutely phenomenal for us!! Anyone else getting married here is really lucky!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarpoLarpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Spent the weekend at the Yurt retreat with the girls and could not fault the place. Everything has been thought about and everything is of the highest quality. The surroundings are beautiful and the Yurts provide a brilliant, beautiful base for a luxury weekend. The bathrooms were all spotless and the kitchen was very well equipped.

Room Tip: The Lord Poulett arms was fantastic for food and wine. Cant wait to go back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BStobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

and spend a few nights at the Yurt Retreat.

Even though it rained during our entire visit, we enjoyed two nights of peace at the Yurt Retreat. It's pretty all mod-cons even by glamping standards. You've got electricity, hot water and semi-decent wifi if you can't bear to leave the gadgets behind. There are four yurts and "Larch" has its own shower ( all yurts have their own high-spec outhouse).

Each yurt has a small hooded barbecue but make sure you bring coal. There are nice outdoor areas for dining, and you can also use the well-equipped kitchen in the Lodge, which is shared by all guests.

Worth noting, as others have, that if it's at all chilly you will need heat- whether you light the wood burning stove or use the heater provided. Yes, they do ask you to pay for wood and firelighters via an honesty box, and we went through £6 of it on the first night. Might be worth bringing your own fuel if you can get it cheaper elsewhere.

You aren't able wander aimlessly around the farm, as it is a working dairy farm, so we didn't see much wildlife, but the views are gorgeous. As for pubs, you can walk to the Lord Poulett Arms - lovely, lovely pub in Hinton St. George- and we wished we'd brought our bicycles to get there and back.

The best thing about the yurt retreat is that it forces you to switch your brain off for a few days and just enjoy the views inside and out. They provide lots of extras like kettle, crockery, torches, etc. which makes the visit pretty hassle free.

We would definitely go back in late summer or even at the end of the season in October for a cozy weekend away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed at the Yurt Retreat in a group of 6, 3 couples, to say we had a fab time is an understatement. We laughed the whole time and enjoyed the whole experience because it truly is an experience like no other, we have been home a week already and we will most certainly be back and very very soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saintsmush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Thank you so much for an amazing 2 days. My girlfriend and I had the entire setting to ourselves for our whole stay, the setting and the yurts themselves combined with the sensational weather made for the most brilliant, if brief stay. Rest assured we will return and have already raved about it to all our friends and family. We cannot wait for our next visit. Thank you again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Samuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We spent three days last week at the Yurt retreat, the yurts are lovely, we spent evenings sitting on the deck outside our yurt watching deer, foxes and various birds. Very peaceful and relaxing. Only fleetingly saw others staying there, it was very private.
The lodge and showers were nice.
We went to Lyme regis, and west bay. Both lovely it helped the sun shone while we were there.
The only complaint would be that you are asked to pay £3 per day if you use the electric fire, or buy additional fire wood for the wood burner ( it does get a bit nippy at night), I wouldn't expect to pay for heating / air conditioning in a hotel - and it just felt a bit mean. Surely this could be incorporated into the cost of hire. However this is a minor complaint - we have recommended the yurts to friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank KarenQ3619WE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theyurtretreat, Owner at The Yurt Retreat, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi Karen
Thanks so much for taking the time to review The Yurt Retreat. I'm really pleased that you had a good stay with us and that you got to unwind.
I thought that it would be a good idea to explain why we charge for using the electric fan heaters as it is a considered cost not just us being greedy! When we initially added the heaters last year for those who struggled with the log burners, we had several incidences where the heaters were left on continuously. We have made every effort at the site to be be environmentally conscious and so we introduced the nominal charge for the use of the heaters. We were working on the well tested principal that you only really value what you have to give something for ( be it time or money) and since we introduced the charge we haven't had a single problem with people leaving the heaters on. It may seem a slightly hippy approach to the problem but on a site where we deliberately minimise our presence during our guests stays to maximise the sense of relaxation and immersion in nature we use these little tools to ensure that everybody has the best possible stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Beautiful setting for a gathering of girls to glamp up for a special birthday. Accommodation exceeded our expectations, and even though it was cold in the evenings the wood burners kept the chill off. Kitchen was brilliantly equipped for our group of 11. Shower rooms are great - water lovely and hot! Local Waitrose delivered everything we needed, so no painful supermarket trip before hand. Taxis and lifts were manageable to and from Crewkerne station - and the local taxi service was fabulous ferrying us to and from the Poullet Arms on Saturday evening. We ventures out for a walk in the fabulous scenery and were blown away by the bluebell woods and fantastic setting. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Use Larch if you have limited mobility - as it is on a ramp access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marshtastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crewkerne
19.3 mi away
Deer Park Country House Hotel
10.2 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
889 reviews
22.3 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#4 of 22 in Weymouth
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
343 reviews
2.2 mi away
Haselbury Mill
Haselbury Mill
#1 of 2 in Haselbury Plucknett
478 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glamping on the Hill
Glamping on the Hill
#1 of 1 in Mells
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yurt Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yurt Retreat

Property: The Yurt Retreat
Address: Fordscroft Farm, Crewkerne TA18 7TU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Crewkerne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Crewkerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of a medieval castle site, 4 Luxurious Yurts welcome you to a slower pace of life.Exclusively for Adults, this is one of the best Glamping destinations in the country. You can enjoy private bathrooms, Luxury showers and use of the spacious Lodge with a farmhouse kitchen and comfy lounge. The Yurts are in an amazing natural setting and have an award winning pub a walk away! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Yurt Retreat Crewkerne, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing