We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Shepherds Hut Retreat
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Crewkerne
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
The George Hotel(Crewkerne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Haselbury Mill(Haselbury Plucknett)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor Arms(North Perrott)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dillington House(Ilminster)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
77
6
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
6
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshepherds restfire pitlord pouletthinton st georgemy partnerlittle touchesdouble bedtoasting marshmallowsget away from it allbeautiful lakegastro pubprivate gardenspent nightsdvd playeroverlooking the pondplaces of interestcomplimentary basket
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The Shepherd's Hut Retreat is the perfect place to go to escape!!! The hut we stayed in was beautiful and had everything you could possibly need and more!!! The garden area was amazing and we thoroughly enjoyed cooking bbqs and making fires at night time...lots of fun!We also did an archery session and horse riding which was brilliant as well.The weather was amazing until the last day which was really lucky!!! We can't wait to come back and will probably come with friends next time! Thank you for creating such a peaceful and perfect place!

Room Tip: We stayed in Shepherd's Delight and we think it looked like the best hut!!!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michele177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I am so glad we chose to stay at The Shepherds Hut Retreat. We arrived on Monday 21st July in glorious sunshine and left in glorious sunshine. We stayed in Shepherds Watch which I believe is the newest of the four huts. We were stunned by the views over the lake and just the sheer quietness of it all - no cars or any of the usual bustle of everyday life. This really is a retreat in every sense of the word. The first sighting of the lake/pond is a total joy. Surrounded by tall trees and totally secluded, this area is truely one of outstanding beauty. The hut itself was wonderfully kitted out with all the modern kit you may expect in a boutique hotel apartment. It is made to the highest quality and its difficult not to believe you are in a four star hotel. The 'washroom' itself is worthy of any world class hotel. The bed looks small when you see it to begin with but , believe me, its a very spacious double bed. There were marshmallows to toast in the firepit, a wonderful bbq area complete with all the tools you should need. Charcoal, firelighters and kindle are available from the 'shepherds shop' just outside the gate, there is a charge and a honesty box. There is a tv/dvd (no tv programmes but plenty of dvds) . The lack of tv was no hardship - all the better for getting away from it all. If you really do need contact with the outside world, the phone signal is good and there is free wifi (password supplied on the front of your info pack). We both lead very busy work lives so to be able to come away to this idilic spot was an absolute joy. The owners are only a phone call away but you never see them . You don't need to - everything is provided for you.
We are already talking about when we go back. Perhaps try a different season , I'm sure autumn will be spectacular!
Thank you so much for providing this accomodation. It really is a total treat and a retreat.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Shepherds Watch hut but honestly, they all look absolutely super.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank YorkshireChrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed for three nights in June. We were very lucky with the weather. We had a lovely relaxing time and the huts were very comfortable and romantic.
Some things which we think could be improved:
Lights around the BBQ area weren't working, so we had to BBQ in the dark.
The grill for the BBQ and some of the kitchen utensils were dirty.
Communications for how to get there, what was available on site were lacking and arrived only on the morning of departure, which was a bit late for us.
Otherwise we had a lovely time in shepherds rest, and would recommend it to others, we would consider returning with some friends, to share the experience.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RJDobberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew0781, Owner at The Shepherds Hut Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

All arrival information is sent to the customer both when they book and on the day they are due to arrive. The lights by the barbecue were found to have a faulty sensor and have been replaced. Our sincere apologies if the cleaners had missed dirty utensils in the kitchen, this has been flagged.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Just got back from 3 days at the shepherds hut and we loved it. The huts were lovely and may look small on the outside but there is plenty of space inside. We visited durdle door and weymouth and after walking around all day there's nothing better than relaxing by the pond and toasting marsh mallows on the fire. If your looking to escape and relax this is the perfect place!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paolo236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Beautiful,tranquil,relaxing peaceful spot by lake.Everything one needed from binoculars to check on the antics of wildfowl /wildlife on far side of lake to marshmallows to toast on firepit.Selection of books /dvds not needed all weekend but good to have available.
Do not really want to tell people how great this place is in case we want to stay again.Know this is going to be really popular and can understand why so many people come here to propose marriage.Great for romantic stay/get away from it all break but with all home comforts one needs.
Even with mobility problems access to Shepherds Watch Hut good (only 3 solid wooden steps).
Will be back to this spectacular place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqui064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews