We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another wonderful visit to Sundance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sundance Guest Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another wonderful visit to Sundance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This was the third visit by my wife, our son (now almost eight), and myself to Sundance. I'm planning to visit at least once a year from now on.

I had four rides during the two days of our recent visit. Each was different and our skill and confidence as riders is definitely improving due to this diversity. We were lucky enough to have an evening ride on our first day there.

Highly recommended: excellent food (vegans and gluten-free okay); beautiful landscapes; and the real stars are the 100 or so horses in the Sundance herd and their wranglers.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    41
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
166
88
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

As a family who had never ridden a horse before, the Sundance Ranch was an excellent experience. The wranglers were brilliant, very confident, yet understanding getting all the family addicted to riding within our first day. The rides are excellent with stunning landscapes and really interesting wildlife.

A special mention must go to the kids club. Our youngster, who is 7 years old wasn't able to go out on the trail rides, instead he stayed behind on the ranch and spent a wonderful time with Katelin. Katelin organised arts and crafts, played games and kept him entertained.

The meals at the ranch are very good, with loads of wonderful food to eat and excellent service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

First timers at the ranch and had a great time! Traveled with experienced, beginner and non-riders and everyone had a good time. Really cool experience meeting people from all around the world with great humor and ready-for-fun attitudes!

Wrangler Staff: WOW. The team of wranglers were great, multicultural and multilingual, all with great attitudes and abilities. DO NOT MISS YOUR CHANCE TO RIDE WITH DANIEL. Daniel was our favorite - has grown up there and can give great insights to the area, has great stories to share, but doesn't take away from the peacefulness of the rides either. Takes good care of kids and adults alike.

Rides: WHOA. These are no ordinary trail rides. Super fun, and more challenging than most we've gone on in other parts of the world. Rougher country makes for a bit more soreness, but a lot more ADVENTURE, interest and views. The views are nothing short of SPECTACULAR. Some people might be surprised by the level of riding. The run spots are RUN spots (not lope or canter spots) and the horses like to GO. This is super fun, but can be a bit sketchy for those who have not ridden before. Even the beginner rides offer these, so be sure to speak up if you are a walk only. Also, don't be a show off: wear a helmet. The terrain and speed at which you run call for them.

Food: Yummy. The food was good and there was plenty. One suggestion is to make available kids options during kids "month". We were there during kids month and there were so many families with kids who didn't want red pepper soup and salad for lunch (as an example). The Chef GRACIOUSLY put together a peanut butter and jelly sandwich when asked, but it wasn't made clear that people COULD ask. Also, couple of other easy suggestions: would be great to be able to have salt and pepper out on the tables outside during mealtimes (we were told no) and ice available in the main dining hall so you don't have to walk over to the bar for ice to have with your meal.

Rooms: RUSTIC. Super clean, but for sure expect the basics. Beds were comfortable overall and seems like they recently (last few years) updated the bedding. Everything is pretty rustic and the rooms are pretty dark. That said, after the rides, they were cool, clean and welcoming for a little nap. :)

KNOW BEFORE YOU GO: Bring snacks and water bottles, drinks you like etc for your room and the shared fridge, particularly if you have kids. The three meals a day are PLENTY, but there is nothing in between, so recommend that you pay attention to the BYOB comments online. Also, recommend you bring a blow dryer if you care (no one there seems to care what your hair looks like, so that's cool) and swim / beach towels if you plan on spending time at the pool.

Don't forget your sunscreen and a big bottle of IBUPROFIN. You'll need it after the first couple of rides. :)

Have a great time. You'll be glad you went.

Room Tip: Recommend rooms like Tack, Buffalo or Rodeo - or any on the pasture side of the property so you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S3H1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Great trail rides and horses. the food was great and the patio in the evening was good too got to talk to the folks you rode with and share stories. They have a nice pool and a massage person if needed. Rooms are a bit rustic but are clean and comfy.

Room Tip: not really all ranch style rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debohay1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

All aspiring cowboys and cowgirls will find Nirvana at Sundance Ranch. It's the real deal with mighty friendly people and great extracurricular facilities (pool, adult only bar with byo facilities, kids games room).

It's where men are men and women let them pretend for a short while.

Thank you all at SR!

Karl

Room Tip: I recommend going for the rooms overlooking the lawn and wider countryside (past the adult room) for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver island
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We go annually as a mother/daughters trip to the ranch every summer. It is, by far, our favourite vacation we look forward to all year!!!

This year was no different. We get our usual room as they are adjoining which works great for our family and we always feel like we are home there, everything is so familiar to us.

The food was great, our favourite meals there are breakfast and lunch, always top notch!!!! We always eat way too much during our 8 days there but love every minute of it!

The horses were fantastic again, you can never know for sure if you will get your favourites or not depending on circumstances but we were all very lucky again this year to have great rides.

There were mostly all new wranglers this year from last year.....just two I believe from last year were there. We can't say enough about how we felt these were the best wranglers yet!!!! We loved every one of them and enjoyed our rides with all of them!! They were in a bit of a situation as their head wranger had left the week prior so it was a bit of a different situation down at the barn but they handled it well. We were impressed, especially when there were stressful situations arising and many guests to mount up!! The wranglers were great, we miss you all!!!

It was very hot while we were there, got up to 41.....which meant we did evening rides 7 out of 8 nights which was okay. I personally am not a huge fan of the evening rides, I like to eat my dinner and relax with a glass of wine after but we had to mount up and go riding after a light dinner. You come back after and have appies and desserts which were always nummy. Nobody can control the weather, so you just have to adjust to the times!!! And admittedly, riding when it is cooler in either the morning or evening is much better for everyone, especially the horses!

We always enjoy the saturday night dance.......can't wait to next year already!!!

Once again another fantastic ranch trip and we can't wait to go back!!! Definitely an awesome holiday for families, couples, singles, beginners to advanced riders, everyone will enjoy themselves!!!

Thanks to the Sundance Ranch staff for, as always, making sure we have a great trip!

Room Tip: They are all great really!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We spent 3 days at the ranch as part of our first visit to Canada travelling from Jasper to Vancouver. We had booked into the king sized rodeo room and the children, who we had booked into the bunkhouse, were actually upgraded to the double room round the corner from us, which worked out well. The rooms were clean and well appointed. There wasn't a hair drier, but the style at the ranch was very casual and as such not necessary. The food was plentiful, varied and of a very good standard. The eggs benedict special at breakfast was the best we'd had in a while! The children loved the swimming pool with spring board too.
But the best bit of all was perhaps not unsurprisingly, the riding! The horses were well matched to our differing riding abilities, the trails varied and the wranglers friendly and experienced. Hats and boots are provided, although we had brought our own. We all rode twice a day for more than the expected 2 hours.
We all wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickieandRene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashcroft
10.3 mi away
Sandman Inn Cache Creek
Sandman Inn Cache Creek
#1 of 10 in Cache Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bear Claw Lodge
Bear Claw Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kispiox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ashcroft River Inn
Ashcroft River Inn
#4 of 4 in Ashcroft
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Lakeside Country Inn
Lakeside Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Savona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
10.8 mi away
Bear's Claw Lodge
Bear's Claw Lodge
#7 of 10 in Cache Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
10.4 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites-Desert Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundance Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundance Guest Ranch

Property: Sundance Guest Ranch
Address: 2591 Kirkland Ranch Road | Box 489, Ashcroft, British Columbia V0K 1A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Ashcroft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Ashcroft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundance Guest Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is it - this is your ranch, only four hours from Vancouver, Canada! Whether you're looking for a horseback riding holiday with a bit of adventure, a family vacation at a dude ranch where even the kids will have fun, or just some place new where you can really get away from it all, you've found it. Sundance Guest Ranch is located in the warmest, sunniest spot in Canada with sweeping, panoramic views of the wide open Thompson River Valley that are so beautiful, they're ridiculous... but that's not it. Sundance Guest Ranch is just an easy four hour drive from Vancouver, Canada, making us a perfect weekend getaway destination... but that's not it. Sundance Guest Ranch serves absolutely amazing food that goes well beyond what you might expect from a "dude ranch"... but that's not it either. Sundance Guest Ranch runs a herd of over 100 happy, well-cared-for horses with thousands of acres of spectacular and varied terrain to explore, and the horseback riding is truly wonderful, whether you're looking for relaxing, instructive or exciting... but even that's not it. When you've just gotten back from a ride, and you're sitting on the lounge deck with your favourite drink in your hand, watching the herd gallop out to the field for the night and laughing with someone you've known ten minutes like you've known them ten years... lean back, put a foot up on the railing and look around... you're close, close to knowing why we say: "The first time, it's a vacation - after that, it's coming home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sundance Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundance Guest Ranch Hotel Ashcroft

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing