We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Knights Rest
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brent Knoll Lodge(Brent Knoll)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rookery Manor(Edingworth)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admirals Table(Bridgwater)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
33
18
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
18
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomb blast minute bookinglovely hostscar parkbreakfast was excellentbiscuitsshower roomhome from homeenjoyed our stayfull english breakfastplace to stayburnhamtoiletsuitegelswarden
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed a Knights Rest for the weekend.
Firstly Hugh and Jenny are very welcoming.
Our room the double en suite was exceptionally clean as was the whole of the B&B.
Lovely thick towels and a robe in the wardrobe for us to use.
Full-English breakfast was cooked fresh when we arrived in the dinning room.
Cereal and fruit juice offered along with extra toast and Homemade Marmalade.
Location was great just a 5 minute walk to shops, beach, pubs and restaurants.
There is parking on the street, in peak season could be busy but a car park is round the corner
free after 6pm.
Would Definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 186220Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diibach, Owner at Knights Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

It is always a pleasure to be of service and be part of a persons enjoyable weekend and we as proprietors try to make it enjoyable especially when our guests are appreciative.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My partner & I booked to stay for a 3 days but only stayed for 2 as on the 2nd day the male owner was rude, shouted at us & even made his wife (female owner) cry in front of us! All was great when she was on her own looking after us & the hotel but as soon as he returned he was a terrible host! We eventually left, with our 3rd night refunded.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shane-filan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diibach, Owner at Knights Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Sadly, these two people did not appreciate a nice family home and we had problems with them and had to ask them to leave prior to their departure and we were very pleased to see them go.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Brilliant room, we had a great nights sleep, room was spacious and had everything we needed. The hotel was very local to everything, 1 min drive from the beach and close to local shops. Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 132Jade_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diibach, Owner at Knights Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

It was an absolute pleasure to be of service to these very polite and appreciative guests, when you have pleasant guests in your family home nothing is too much trouble.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Our fault for not leaving a contact number so we nearly lost the rooms. Hugh immediately sorted the internet to read "taken". Parking, I agree is a problem but you can still unload/load then try to find that all important parking space. Both Hugh and Penny made us all very welcome. We found the rooms very cosy with ample room, the only down side was only the one room having an 'en-suite (albeit very small). Breakfast was lovely and our German friends were well impressed with the "full English". I would certainly recommend staying here if you want to feel your staying in a home and not a mansion. Thank you Hugh & Jenny.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Brian Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diibach, Owner at Knights Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

It was a absolute pleasure to be of service to the four people that came from Germany, they were polite and appreciative of what we did for them and nothing was too much trouble as they were exceptionally nice and we will welcome them back any time a total reverse to the previous people who were arrogant and ill-mannered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We had a horrible experience and our first impression of the B&B owner,Hugh, was very UNwelcoming! We visit Burnham periodically, but our normal place wasn't available so we tried this one. We arrived on a Monday evening and called to find out when we needed to pick up our key. It was just 9 pm and Hugh answered the phone and said 'before 9 pm'. No 'hello', no greeting whatsoever! We said we were in town and would come by. He said 'the confirmation clearly said arrive by 9 pm', but there was nothing on confirmation--we double checked. We then said we would be right over, as we were just down the way at friends. He then called 7 minutes later to find out where we were. When I got to the door (a minute later) he said we could cancel, but he had already charged the room. He was very curt, never apologised and reluctantly let us stay. There is no off street parking so had to park a ways down the street (with my sister on crutches). The 'en suite' room was OK, but you cannot shut the door and be on the toilet! Also, the shower is very small and can't turn around or water will run off the shower curtain and onto the floor--it is not a wet room.
With the horrible reception that first night, we were not impressed! The food was fine and the place was clean, but after the non-hospitable welcome, we will never go back!

Room Tip: Not all rooms are en suite, but ours was so tiny you couldn't close the door and be on the toilet. The sink was all the way on the other side of the room.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peggy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diibach, Owner at Knights Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Please just look at our previous reviews.

Sorry that the Americans were not happy.

However we wish them well for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews