We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic week at Burnham On Sea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic week at Burnham On Sea”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We arrived to find a lovely clean and well maintained park. Everywhere was very clean and it was well sign posted. Whilst waiting for our caravan to be ready, we went on the karts and had a go in the arcade. The amusements, even though they were fairly big, they could get quite crowded. Eventually after a very long and tiring wait in the pouring rain, we were able to check in at 4:00pm. We found the Reception very clean and well presented. Karen checked us in. She was lovely and very helpful and willing to help with any concerns with our stay. We arrived at our Caravan, 14 Mendip Close, at the top left hand corner of the park. There was suitable parking bays to park the car and everything was sorted out with parking and so on. When we got into our caravan we noticed straight away, it didn't look remotely like anything on the website. We booked Standard, but what we got was far better. We got 2 bathrooms instead of 1, 3 TVs instead of 1, two with DVD players, and 1 in the bedroom. We also got all bed linen and duvets and pillows included, which was and added bonus. Having said all that though, it wasn't very clean. There was crumbs on top of the fridge, the freezer was defrosted and nor the fridge or freezer were turned on. I also found empty sweet wrappers on the floor and hairclips from previous guests in the draw. All the cutlery was dirty as well. Having said that though, our caravan was very well presented with only minor faults. Moving on to the entertainment. The show bar was very full and it was hard to get a table, but the shows were fantastic, with lots of variety. Including Character shows for the little people, the Seaside Squad, Magic Steve a magician and illusionist, Bingo and so on... The only downside is that the drinks from the bar were an absolute rip off! £4.60 for a small Gin and Tonic, not to mention, there were only 2 staff working the bar all week! Apart from that it was great. Thankyou Karen and all the Haven team for giving us all a fab holiday!

Room Tip: Any, they all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burham H, Guest Relations Manager at Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Park. I'm pleased that your holiday home had more than expected though I am sorry that it was not cleaned to your expectations. Please let us know if you have any concerns about the holiday home and we will do everything we can to fix them for you. One of our team would have been happy to pop down and reclean any areas for you. I'm glad that you enjoyed our entertainment and that there was variety for you and your family. I have spoken with our Complex Manager regarding the team on the bar and we will be making sure that all team are present and ready to help all of our guests. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again at Burnham soon :)

Pippa Jarvis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    364
    140
    54
    49
See reviews for
747
134
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Me and my partner arrived on Friday 11th July at Burnham on Sea Holiday Village having booked into a Prestige 2 bedroom caravan for 14 nights.

First impressions were good. We were happy with the pitch we were allocated in Poplar Grove, not too far away from the main complex. The caravan was clean and had all the essentials we needed inside. We requested parking next to our caravan before we arrived for our holiday, and although we did not have parking directly next to us, we had a bay just outside the front which was sufficient enough.

The park itself is very clean and the pool is great. We have visited many of the Haven sites and this in particular is lovely, but probably not the best we have been to. We used the Mash and Barrel restaurant on the odd occasion for drinks and although we did not purchase a meal, we felt that food was very overpriced.

The entertainment was very disappointing, we didn't enjoy the singing and dancing shows at all compared to previous entertainment we have seen - Apart from the magic show which was absolutely fantastic. On arrival, we were given a booklet with times of different shows etc. and found that when we did choose to go and watch the evening entertainment, the schedule was completely wrong! Also, the times of the entertainment were not suitable for us... a 10:30 start for the main adult shows were just too late. I feel that amendments could be made to suit people better and it would also be nice if the entertainment ran on a two week rota, we saw the chick flick show and rock show twice which became a little boring.

We spent a lot of our time visiting places around and outside of Burnham. The high street is just a short 10-15 minute walk away and there are shops and restaurants. Frydays Fish and Chips is a definite must for excellent food. We also used Taste of the Orient one night for a Chinese takeaway.

There is a Morrisons supermarket nearby as well as an ASDA for self-caterers!

We visited Cheddar Caves and Gorge, Fleet Air Arm, Weston Super Mare, Bath City Centre (Which is a little further out) for the Roman Bath Museum and Abbey, West Somerset Railway and also Longleat Safari Park. All of these attractions are well worth the visit!

The beach at Burnham on Sea isn't amazing.. If you are looking for a great day out at the beach, take a short drive to Weston Super Mare... there is so much to do for the kids including donkey rides and a funfair. We also visited the SeaQuarium.

We did enjoy using the swan pedalos on our holiday at Burnham on Sea. £5 for half an hour was plenty of time and something different to do!

Overall, we enjoyed our holiday apart from a few little things. We would possibly return to Burnham on Sea in the future.

Room Tip: Poplar Grove is near the main complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burham H, Guest Relations Manager at Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Park. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your time on site with us and found lots of different things to do in the local area. We are very lucky to be so close to lots of things to do. I am sorry that the entertainment was not what you were expecting and that it was not and I will pass your comments on to our Heads of Department and Central Support team for them to review for future years. We hope to see you back at Burnham in the future :)


Pippa Jarvis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Can not fault the caravan simply lush and the location of the caravan to the aminties was perfect. I went on holiday with my dad and son and we had used the site before in 2012 and loved it then so decided to go back. The indoor swimming pool has since been done up and its lush. All in all a great holiday had by all. Can also recommend The Reed Arms Wetherspoons Pub for good food and drinks and friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burham H, Guest Relations Manager at Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review of our Park. It's great to hear that you've returned after staying with us before and that you really enjoyed our new pool! There are lots of local pubs and places to eat if you want to venture into the near by town too. We hope to see you again at Burnham soon :)


Pippa Jarvis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in July and booked a prestige caravan. My partner and i have a 7 year old daughter and we took both our mums along who are in their 70's. Could not fault the caravan, the park, the amenities for families are fantastic and we had beautiful weather too. We chose a prestige caravan because we have not done caravan holidays for years and wanted to ensure it would be a high standard and paid the extra for a 2014 model which was really lovely and i cant fault it on the inside. The down side which sadly put a dampener on our holiday which in all other ways was perfect was the position of our caravan. The caravan was sited next to a walkway/cut through leading to all the main amenities. So rather than have the usual space between us and a caravan next door we were sited right against the pathway giving us approximately half the distance all the other caravans had of outside space and zero pricacy. Not only was the space small but it had a succession of people walking across it all day and throughout the evening and late at night. It was such a shame because if we could have picked up our caravan and moved it along slightly it would have been such a perfect holiday. My mother is not in good health so she stayed in the caravan quite a bit whilst we went off and did all our fun stuff and she gave up trying to sit outside because she had kids literally walking across her feet. We didn't really realise the problem until our 2nd day because the first day we went off to explore and it hit us that night after we all had poor sleep because of noise. We were forced to keep the windows open because it was so warm. We complained to the office and they offered to move us to another caravan which would have been an upgrade to a retreat van. The thought of packing everything up and moving it filled me with dread because im sure you all know the thought of packing it all away, back to the car, unpacking and all that goes with it. Having spent 2 days preparing to go and packing for all 5 of us i just couldnt face it, not for 3 days. I would have had to move the mums to the van, send my partner and child off to enjoy themselves (we only had 4 days there) and faced hours int the heat getting it all out again and into the car. We had gone fully self catered and the fridge was completely rammed and we had unpacked and hung all our cothes etc away and found a home for everything.

I asked Haven if we could have an extra night to make up for the first awful night, we all felt rubbish on our second day because we had such a bad night and this way it would have meant we hadnt really lost anything and could start our 4 days again. Sadly Haven said that they had offered to move us so had kept all their 'policy promises' and despite being told by an office member that the new caravan was free for the extra night, they refused to give us the extra night. I understand that they had kept their policy promises but we didnt enjoy our first night and had paid over £700 for a 4 night stay in a caravan that we could not sit outside of.

The old saying location, location, location is so true. I think that a prestige caravan should be sited in a good place. I have taken pictures of the outside which shows the lack of space, privacy and dead grass outlining the foot traffic across its doorway and outside space. I have also took a picture of the space outside the neighboring caravan and the others around us.

What a shame because apart from that we could not fault the site or the staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoJoMu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burham H, Guest Relations Manager at Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Park. I'm sorry that the location of your holiday home let the stay down for you though it's lovely to hear that you found everything else on the Park enjoyable. It's not something I have heard about this holiday home before and I will be sure to pass your comments on to our Heads of Department. If you do have any special requests such as a quiet area with somewhere to sit outside the holiday home for your family, please be sure to let us know when you're making the booking and we will do everything we can to meet your requests. We do our best to rectify any concerns our guests have as soon as possible and I do understand that you were offered an alternative holiday home which would have been a higher grade than what you had booked. I do hope that you come back to us in the future and please let us know if you do and we will do everything we can to make your holiday fantastic! :)


Pippa Jarvis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We hired a private 8 berth caravan for a party of four adults and two children aged 12 & 10 which needed cleaning before we could settle in, equipment in the kitchen was very sparce and although our paperwork said all bedding included, none was available. We had to buy sheets/pillow cases and duvet covers from the town or pay Haven to hire them at £10 per room. We paid £150 for passes which in our opinion wasn't worth the money as there was little for the children to do, basically that £150 was just for the use of the pools. The clubhouse was quite boring, most of the entertainment was aimed at the under 5s and from what we saw, the 'adult' entertainment was the childrens entertainers in ordinary clothes. The activities available all cost extra which is a great shame for families on a low budget, especially after paying for passes. In my opinion a lot more should be available to use with the passes and older children should be included more in the activities available. Outside of the complex is a beautiful beach but sadly no one was allowed in the sea due to sinking sand and currents, the only part of the beach you were allowed to use was against the wall. The town itself is lovely, plenty of pubs where you can eat, lovely little shops to visit including a retro sweet shop and a pound shop. Overall though i would not visit the holiday park again because my children were bored and that defeats the object of a family holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MumToSix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burham H, Guest Relations Manager at Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Park. Many of our Owners privately sublet their holiday homes without our help and I am sorry if it was not as clean as you would have liked. When booking direct through an Owner, we are only here as a company to release keys and provide entertainment if you do choose to purchase the passes. We do hire out linen which is £10 per room with a £10 hire deposit. I'm sorry that you did not feel you got what you wanted from purchasing the passes. These do allow access to all areas on our Park though some of the activities are an extra charge, we do still have many activities which are free for our guests to do such as Family Football and Everyone Outdoors. There are also many activities in the Showbar which are run by our Funstars for our guests to take part in. I'm sorry that you do not feel you will come back to us, though if you change your mind please let us know and we will do our best to help :)


Pippa Jarvis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Two weeks of fun and memories!
A very clean holiday village, very friendly staff with the odd exceptions (Shane- owners bar,short tempered? And Sophie-Mash and Barrel, really shouldn't slag off customers when she makes a mistake!)

The two Sarah's in the owners reception/sales are an asset to the company! Always there with a smile and local knowledge.

The entertainment is great fun, a great team, Our kids loved Jess, Matt and Steve.. Show-time entertainment is amazing, Nicole and Matt's vocal are out of this world.. But please re-think the dancers as the choreography is messy and not in sync and Nicole and Matt's presence is lost!
The wresting is an awesome addition to the Calendar and our boys loved it!
The leisure facilities are excellent, plenty to keep everyone interested for days without venturing off site.
Catering options are varied, fully stocked store and gift shop with everything you could need, papa johns pizza take away delivered to your caravan is 5*, the on site restaurant (Mash and Barrel) could do with additional staff to keep mistakes and waiting times down, although food is very tasty, it was occasionally served cooler than would have been liked.

Overall a fantastic time was had by all!!


  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burham H, Guest Relations Manager at Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our park. I'm so glad you enjoyed yourselves with us and that your boys especially loved the wrestling! Papa Johns is perfect for those nights when you don't fancy leaving your holiday home as they will deliver straight to your door making it nice and easy for you! I'm sorry if you were disappointed with some of the service you received, I will be passing your comments to our Complex Manager for his attention. I'm so pleased you all had a fantastic time and we hope to see you again soon :)


Pippa Jarvis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denbighshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed in the oaks for a week at the end of July x fantastic site!! lovely caravan, great entertainment , fabulous pool lots to do around the camp for our 2 children ! Very clean site and also the friendliest haven we have been too !! Keep up the excellent work !! Looking forward to visit again soon !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burham H, Guest Relations Manager at Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our park. It's lovely to hear that you and your family think our park is fantastic! I'm so pleased you all found plenty to do around the park and we hope to see you again soon :)


Pippa Jarvis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham-On-Sea
0.6 mi away
The Royal Clarence Hotel
The Royal Clarence Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnham-On-Sea
177 reviews
8.3 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#5 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
365 reviews
8.7 mi away
Anchor Head Hotel
Anchor Head Hotel
#17 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
8.6 mi away
Seaward Hotel
Seaward Hotel
#26 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
330 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sandy Glade Holiday Park
Sandy Glade Holiday Park
#4 of 14 in Burnham-On-Sea
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven

Property: Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven
Address: Marine Drive, Burnham-On-Sea TA8 1LA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Burnham-On-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Burnham-On-Sea
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burnham On Sea Holiday Park Hotel Burnham-On-Sea
Burnham On Sea Holiday Park - Haven Burnham-On-Sea, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing