We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Holiday, will return”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burnham-On-Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lakeside Holiday Park
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed here couple of weeks ago for 1 week, it was the first week of the school holidays. Booked through Hoseasons. A fantastic park for the family.
We had the Heron 6 which is the basic caravan on the park but we have to say very impressed with how clean and tidy the caravan was. Layout and style exceeded our expectations.
Went the pool couple of times, the child pool is brilliant. Came up to our 4 year old sons knees and he really gained his confidence with the water. As the park is smaller to others, always had space to sit at the poolside.
The food at the Boathouse is nice and (I think it was Tuesdays) kids eat for £2!
Childrens entertainment have fantastic energy they well work together and are great with the children.
The amusements on the park; a variety of amusements including 2p push penny (our favourite) think it could do with some small toys or something though so the children see a reward like the ones at the beach front.
The lake is nice shame you cant walk all the way round but understand the difficulty of this as it backs onto peoples gardens!
We have not stayed at a better location than this one. 10 minutes walk and you are at the shops and beach. There is also a nice playground on the way about 3 minutes walk from the park. At the beach, as others have said, keep to the right of the pier less mud.
Our caravan was 1 down from the park which was very ideal for us as our son could go on his own. The park is enclosed so we knew he was safe and from certain angle of the caravan we could see him. Glad the park is now open until a little later.
The only negative thing would say is to couples, I feel this is a family park and not a park for couples to go and argue! Luckily it was our last night, we had a couple arrive in the next caravan and argued from the moment they got there. It was very hot that week so all windows open so you could hear. Problem was just as our 3 month baby would settle they would wake her up! Thankfully they went out about 9pm.
Overall a fantastic holiday, and will return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank louisefinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

We arrived back on 26/07/14 after a scorching week!>We chose Lakeside after having a fab week last year at the sister park Broadland Sands,Great Yarmouth.The caravan was spotless and very spacious as we expected from last year.The caravans are close together in some areas but we got a nice corner one!.My dad came with us ,he enjoys fishing and spent a good few hours on the lake,he did catch a lot but nothing too exciting,he thought the lake could do with a little "upkeep". The staff were all very friendly and chatty,the entertainment was great and the 2 visiting acts we saw were great,loved Station Road!.Every night theres a mini dusco and kids games,followed by bingo and a mini quiz,the nights that are soley entertainment team based are usually quizzes and games,we won a meal voucher,bottle of wine and an MP£ player !!.They do an amazing job of keeping the atmosphere going.Really good nights.The bar was a liitle expensive but I suspect on a par with the area. Lidl and Tescos are not far away and the traditional Burnham seaside town is a lovely 15 minute stroll away.Complete with a few high street shops and and local businesses aswel as a couple of pubs,cinema and a Wetherspoons!.The beach was beautiful.We also visited Weston super mare and Brean.Both a short drive away.
Our son (8) made great use of the pool and it was never too overcrowded considering the heat that week!.
We did hear people complaining that bar clsed 3 till 5.30pm whilst around the pool,and the same moaned about the 11pm closing at night but it's a family showbar and if you can't get enough to drink from 5.30 pm till 11pm you have a problem !.
As for peoples issues with the wildlife (its near the sea ,it has sea gulls !!) They didn't bother us really except one night when dad put a tub of sweetcorn (fishing) with his rods under the caravan ,yeah lesson learned ha ha.Other than that we didn't have any trouble.# Overall its a quyet family holiday park,if you want the hustle and bustle of Haven, etc go and pay theyre prices,because Lakeside is fabulous value for money.
We are undecided which one to re visit now!!.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank littlemisssunshine6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Just got back from lakeside holiday park burnham and what a lovely quite and peaceful holiday park.The caravan we stayed in was great spotlessly clean and well mentained, the only down side was there were no net curtains at the windows and with the vans quite close together not alot of privacy. The park itself is very small but has most things you need like swimming pool, club house,childrens play area, fishing lake, they do have a little shop but its in reception and doesn't stock that much but ok for your morning paper and milk and bread.The location of the park is eccellent town and the beach all in easy walking distance and flat all the way so anybody with mobility issues shouldn't have a problem.Overall a great holiday park, clean site and caravans and well located.We would without a doubt book again and stay here! Well done to all the staff that make sure the site is a great place to stay!!!!!!!:)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
Thank ingrid p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely holiday beautiful views of lake from caravan would visit again. Good place to stay and visit western super mare, Cheddar gorge, wookey hole, clarks village, wells cathedral, brean leisure park, brean down walk national trust and the old traditional seaside resort of burham on sea.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank annmarie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wlpark, Public Relations Manager at Lakeside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for leaving us your feedback, we love to hear from our guests.

Lakeside is a great base to get out and about from and lots to explore as you discovered.

Burnham-on-Sea is a peaceful traditional little seaside town just a short walk from the park and a lovely place to walk along the front on a sunny evening.

We hope you’ll be back in the future.
Best wishes from all the team at Lakeside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We have been to lakeside a few times now every time it gets better we had meals in the boathouse most days some of the times we took it back to the caravan still the same quallity.
The caravan is always exerlant. The site is flat no hills to cope with which makes things great as i am disabled and dont walk very far.It is not very far into burnham, also the beach, overall a brilliant place to go.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wlpark, Public Relations Manager at Lakeside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review and endorse all the good things Lakeside has to offer.

We’ll look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Best wishes from all the team at Lakeside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights with our 4 year old who really loved it, ok, we had a few problems cooking a full breakfast because the grill didn't work but otherwise it was a very nice place. We could have done with a bit more variety of food in the shop but lidls is just down the road. The pool is great and they seem to do kids games every morning. The entertainments team seemed to be really into it and seemed to enjoy what they were doing . I'm sure the guy will be doing breakfast radio soon. ! The guy that shut the swimming pool at 6 was really nice and had time for us and even though he was moving us on, was friendly and un rushed. The lake is really nice apart from the big man swan who is a bit inpatient with his bread but you need a bit of this to keep it real. I would look forward to going again

Room Tip: Get a caravan near the lakeside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyhorse123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wlpark, Public Relations Manager at Lakeside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear Guest

It’s lovely to hear your review, it’s good to have your feedback.
James our Entertainment Manger is very special – his energy and performance always worth a watch no matter what he’s doing he’s truly entertaining.
Our staff take a huge pride in the part they play in making Lakeside a restful destination to get out and about from.
Look forward to welcoming you back again.
Best wishes from all the team at Lakeside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have just returned from our four nights Sun holiday. We were pleasantly surprised at the location of the park, as it is central for the beach, and town, in fact if you were fitter than us, it would be a pleasant walk to either. The caravan was spotless and smelt fresh when we arrived, it wasn't brand new and had obviously had a few happier years, but it looked like it had been refurbished and kept up together. We did have a problem with the shower not emptying, but that was sorted whilst we were out enjoying the sunshine. It is nice small park, which is kept really clean, we noticed someone cleaning up litter, not always left by humans, as the gulls liked to empty the bins if they get the chance. There is a lake if you have a licence to fish, but it is just nice to have a quiet walk and sit to watch the wild life on an evening. We did eat in the restaurant for two nights and the meals were of very good quality with big portions. However you do have to sit in the bar with the entertainment team working hard, so it can be loud, not a place for a quiet evening meal. The restaurant has different offers on for meals so can be good value, we have been to other caravan parks which do half board, which we find very useful, so might be an idea for them in the future. We did like the fact that we usually have to pay extra for the entertainment when we go on a Sun deal, but here it wasn't extra, probably because it was all in the one room. There is a nice pool for adults and kids, but you need to be on your guard they don't run out into the roads either side, might make the whole thing stressful as the gates are not on a catch and get left open all the time. We didn't venture in but it did look inviting when the weather warmed up.
The only down side for us was the caravans were very close together, you have to park in a lay by and walk across the grass which when it rained wasn't very pleasant. There are no net curtains and privacy can only be gained by pulling the curtains closed at all times. We had a caravan with a long picture window in the bedroom ( whoever thought of that must need their heads examining) anyway this not only looked out to the other vans, but straight into the window of the caravan behind us. Once we had made the bed we pulled the curtains, and had to leave them shut until we left, or anyone passing and in the caravan behind would be able to see anything left on or by the bed, which isn't very secure. Not sure if we had upgraded if we might have had a caravan nearer the lake they weren't quite so close together.
We had a really good break, and hope to go back again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lizw56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wlpark, Public Relations Manager at Lakeside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Guests

Thank you for taking time to review Lakeside, we really like to have feedback.
I think we can safely say you had a really nice time overall and enjoyed all Lakeside has to offer.

The pool gates have now been fitted with return hinges on them and so not possible to leave open, you may have stayed before this was completed.

We will review nets curtains in bedrooms with the picture windows for next season.

We hope you’ll be visiting again in the future.
Best wishes from all the Lakeside Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham-On-Sea
0.5 mi away
The Royal Clarence Hotel
The Royal Clarence Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnham-On-Sea
187 reviews
7.3 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
397 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sandy Glade Holiday Park
Sandy Glade Holiday Park
#5 of 15 in Burnham-On-Sea
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#4 of 13 in Burnham-On-Sea
106 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ashbourne House Bed and Breakfast
Ashbourne House Bed and Breakfas...
#2 of 13 in Burnham-On-Sea
99 reviews
2.4 mi away
Yew Tree House
Yew Tree House
#1 of 1 in Berrow
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Holiday Park

Address: Westfield Road, Burnham-On-Sea, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Burnham-On-Sea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Burnham-On-Sea
Price Range: £100 - £800 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As:
Lakeside Holiday Park Hotel Burnham-On-Sea
Lakeside Holiday Park Burnham-On-Sea, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing