We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed again” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandy Glade Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandy Glade Holiday Park
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

After staying at widmouth bay, and to be honest that was very poor, we were then offered a four night stay in a gold chalet at burnham on sea , this again was poor, it said that the chalets had been refurbished, this was not the case, we had a water shortage due to a leak , and the management had not handled the situation well at all , no sanitation no drinking water , until about 8 at night.

The staff in the clubhouse where great however, and the grounds where very good.

We wont be staying at another john fowler site again

Room Tip: Dont book one with john fowler
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pitzey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandy Glade Holiday Park, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hello Pitzey

It was a shame to read about your disappointment of your stay at another of our parks. It would be remiss of me to try to argue with you regarding to the accommodation, because the facts and other wonderful reviews speak for themselves.

The water "outage" was not of our making - a major mains breakage put the whole of the area for miles around out of action and every shop and supermarket quickly ran out of their bottled supplies. Our staff endeavoured to help by travelling to Weston-super-Mare and Bridgwater, and eventually obtained supplies from Waitrose to ensure that everyone had at least 2 litres. I feel anyone reading this response would give us the benefit of the doubt.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    154
    76
    50
    61
See reviews for
351
83
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

After visiting sandy glade last year we immediately booked to return this year, what a disappointment we had! Last year we found no faults in this park and the entertainment was A* quality? This year however is a totally different story, my children were bored out of there minds and there was nothing for my older children to take part in. Even my 2 year old got bored as the entertainment time when the characters came out was far too late! Accommidation was basic but clean, bar staff were very accomidating and always had a smile on there faces! Entertainment staff however, weren't so accomidating, all most as if they didn't want to be here! I definitely will not be booking to return in a rush like I did last year, dissapointed

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandy Glade Holiday Park, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hello Samanatha

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such an honest review. We certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests.

Your comments have been passed to all departments and everyone will be especially delighted to read your comments about the park.

It is rare to get a poor review about the entertainment, however, we can all have vastly different opinions about the same subject and your thoughts have been noted.

We really hope to see you again in the near future

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Burnham-On-Sea hotels

Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a 4 night stay in a silver chalet
Overall it was ok, the tv good size, beds comfortable, good kitchen area.
I struggled with tiny bathroom as i am 6ft and the shower and sink are very small indeed. The areas need some attention as mildew and rust in areas.
The entertainment team were fantastic...really made us smile!!!
Would i stay again???
Maybe...

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank j21dudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandy Glade Holiday Park, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such an honest review. We certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests.

Your comments have been passed to all departments and everyone will be especially delighted to read your comments about the entertainment.

We really hope to see you again in the near future

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

First of all thanks to liam, nikki, kirsty and duane for fab entertainment. Was fab when they joined us in the pool. Been here to this site for over 6 years and its been great to see the stripeys during the day. As usual chalet nice and clean. Bar staff friendly to name a couple steve and ollie and of course good old kelvin and always a warm reception from tracey and karen on arrival. Def recommend anyone staying here and already booked again to come here again. Oh and the stripeys are always up for fun with the guests even when the club is quiet providing entertainment from the young to the old with a few games.

What would be nice is if I return here next year and find the same entertainment crew as they have been absolutly fab as they have made our holiday brilliant.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicki-h2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandy Glade Holiday Park, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hello Vicki

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed to all departments, especially the housekeeping team, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts on the cleanliness of the chalet.

Once again our entertainments team have been singled out for extra praise and there is no doubt that they deserve it. They are all doing a brilliant job this year and work extremely hard to ensure everyone has a great holiday.

Our returning customers are so important to us and regularly make up 50% of our visitors. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This was our first family holiday with our children, so a very exciting time for both our 5 & 8 year old (exciting for us parents, teen and grandparents too!) As this was our first holiday we were reluctant to complain however realise now we should of done. We stayed in a silver Chalet which slept 8 during whit week half term. The website stated that most units would be double glazed, ours obviously one not done yet, but did not expect to find rotting wood frames in the double and single bedroom. These are advertised as a home from home, yet not very homely. As most mums know the price we pay to take our children on holiday in the half term is extortionate at the best of times and this was certainly not worth my hard earned money. The only saving grace was the entertainment staff who were great with the children.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandy Glade Holiday Park, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hello Sarah

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park.

With regard to the accommodation, no doubt you noticed that the park is in the midst of a complete re-vamp. Many of the older chalets are being refurbished and brought up to gold standard. As you will appreciate, such a massive investment does not happen overnight.

Once again our entertainments team have been singled out for extra praise and there is no doubt that they deserve it. They are all doing a brilliant job this year and work extremely hard to ensure everyone has a great holiday.

Our returning customers are so important to us and regularly make up 50% of our visitors. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed on a long weekend break Friday to Monday and was upgraded from gold to Platinum.

In truth I would not have known this if I had not been told as the caravan, although new did not look luxurious. It had everything that we needed the tv /dvd worked, the kitchen was well equiped and the caravan was clean.

The sofa was a little uncomfortable however that is really the only gripe that I have. The shower worked.

There was a few things to turn on when we got there and was a little confused that the fridge had been turned off between guests. When we finally worked out where the fridge was turned off the freezer above had been opened and water came pouring out becasue it had defrosted between visitors.

The caravan had a path but it meant walking around instead of directly from the car park though to the caravan. As it rained a few times it meant this route was often water logged and on the first morning Saturday there were ducks splashing around on the puddle.

the usual entertainment was offered, didnt visit the pool and the kids on site seemed to enjoy the entertainment.

good value and a nice stay was had. the only down side is this site is a little too far to walk to the shops or amusements in the area so a car is needed but there is a bus stop pretty much near the site entrance.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trinity956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandy Glade Holiday Park, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Hello Trinity

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such an honest review. We certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests.

Your comments have been passed to all departments and everyone will be especially delighted to read your comments about the park.

We really hope to see you again in the near future

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Booked a holiday not sure of area, lovely to find great accommodation , fab entertainment staff who were fantastic with kids!! Park was very well maintained and would definately book again. Lots of happy smiles from kids say a good holiday .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happymumto2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandy Glade Holiday Park, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hello Happy Mum

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed to all departments, especially the grounds keepers, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts on the condition of the park.

Once again our entertainments team have been singled out for extra praise and there is no doubt that they deserve it. They are all doing a brilliant job this year and work extremely hard to ensure everyone has a great holiday.

Our returning customers are so important to us and regularly make up 50% of our visitors. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham-On-Sea
2.7 mi away
The Royal Clarence Hotel
The Royal Clarence Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnham-On-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Weston Super Mare Jct 22 M5 (Lympsham) Hotel
3.9 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#3 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Resort Unity
0.2 mi away
Yew Tree House
Yew Tree House
#1 of 1 in Berrow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Glade Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Glade Holiday Park

Property: Sandy Glade Holiday Park
Address: Coast Road | Berrow, Burnham-On-Sea TA8 2QX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Burnham-On-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Burnham-On-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Glade Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandy Glade Holiday Park is easy to reach, just fifteen minutes from the M5, yet puts you right on a great stretch of Somerset coast. You can enjoy the long, sandy beaches of both Berrow and Brean which are a short walk from the park. The beaches are famous for their sand dunes, which kids will love playing on, and you’ll find that Brean Sands is a perfect beach for sunbathing, playing in the sand or paddling into the water. This Burnham-on-Sea Holiday Park has plenty for you to do once you get here. Our adventure playground means that even when you’re not at the beach the kids won’t be bored, and our heated pool is great fun for the whole family. We also have a clubhouse with nightly entertainment and a cafe and takeaway to make your stay even easier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sandy Glade Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Glade Holiday Park Hotel Burnham-On-Sea
Sandy Glade Holiday Park Burnham-On-Sea, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing