We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing retreat! Totally worth the money.”
other traveller has booked this property
The Barn Owl Lodge (3 bedrooms, sleeps 6) 7 other lodges to choose from
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Barn Owl Lodge (3 bedrooms, sleeps 6) 7 other lodges to choose from
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
The Barn Owl Lodge (3 bedrooms, sleeps 6) 7 other lodges to choose from
Canoeing here at the farm, explore the amazing River Brue and Somerset Levels
Kayaking on the Brue
Air Rifle and Air Pistol Target Shooting here at the farm
Glastonbury Torr as featured in the Olympics 9 miles from Wall Eden Holidays
Lovely walk along the river bank
KIng Alfred the great Burnt the Cake here
Grey Lake Nature Reserve (7 miles from Wall Eden Farm Holidays)
Burnham on sea, sea front (3 miles from Wall Eden)
Burnham on Sea 3 miles from Wall Eden Farm
The river Brue
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
20 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Burnham-On-Sea, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nicholas6...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing retreat! Totally worth the money.”
Reviewed 6 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

It was a last minute idea to take two days away for my girlfriends birthday with 10 other friends ranging between 23-25. We decided on a log cabin retreat in the South-East and wrote down a few numbers to call the next day. When we spoke to Andy on the phone he was very laid back and friendly. He calmly described his usual practice of paying a deposit etc.

As we were so late notice, we thought it might be a problem but Andy broke his usual protocol and happily agreed to bend the price a bit and let us pay on the day! He really made our planning process easier.

When we finally arrived, we called Andy and he quickly sent Katrina over to show us around. She was really informative and chilled about the whole affair. Katrina made us aware of all the local hotspots and informed us that Andy would be on hand to help tomorrow.

There is a supermarket close by so sorting breakfast was easy and all the appliances worked perfectly. Andy sorted us out with shooting and archery. The equipment was great and andy's a good teacher.

To top the trip off, there was a sauna and hottub. The hottub was a little cold, and the lighting was a bit poor, but Katrina did say they were working on it. I don't think we were using it properly! The next day Andy let us go fishing in the lake.

In summary, the atmosphere is very tranquil and private. It's very much a self-catered venue which allowed us to plan our own days, but Andy or Katrina are always on hand to help out. I advise writing a inventory and plan of action for the weekend to enhance your experience!

Cheers Andy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Lodge was amazing
Liked least: On site lighting could have been a little better.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2013
We always looking for ways to improve our guests experiance. keeping on top of the game is challenging, but makes it all worthwhile when guests show their appreciation.

Regards Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redxcat
surrey
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect for groups of any variety and size”
Reviewed 5 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

we had a group of 17 females stay here for a friends hen do. are ages ranged from 19 to 32 and some of the group are now mums, so quit a different mix. this is why its so good a place for group. each cabin hold a different amount so you can all go in groups that fit you best but they are still close enough it takes seconds to get to each other but if you need some quite you have enough space to get away.
Andy the owner was great and really made us feel special and welcome. the activity's were great and we made use of the hot tube.
all in all a really lovely place to stay.
cant thank them enough for making the weekend so special.
one small tip, to pick up the wifi you need to be close to the barn so make sure you get one of the cabins not by river as we could pick it up in them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: shooting
Liked least: nothing.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2013
It's great to have guests along to celebrate their events at Wall Eden Holidays. So thank you for choosing Wall Eden Farm

Regards Andy and Katrina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Charming complex in the green grass of Somerset”
Reviewed 3 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Wall Eden Farm's cabins are somewhat contrasting in their modesty and feeling of something approaching luxury. In fact, the whole site follows this general idea too. Those wanting something unfussy and simple can enjoy the wooden structures, extensive (without being overblown facilities), honesty shop and rolling grasses between the cabins. If something a little more is required however, well one is provided with access to a hot tub, sauna and activities like pottery and archery.

The site itself is located is an area replete with typically British style walks, farms, the gushing river and a reassuring amount of wildlife. Obviously it is not suited to those wanting more intense hedonistic experiences, but acts as a beautiful retreat for friends to spend some relaxed hours or families and lovers to enjoy a restful getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2013
Thank you please keep writing your reviews about our warm and cosy cabins at Wall Eden Farm. Holidays
Many thanks Andy and Katrina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alison c
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a group holiday”
Reviewed 3 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Lots of local attractions, also the cabins are great if you want to stay in - really comfortable beds, modern bathrooms, and well equipped kitchens

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: friendly and helpful owner
Liked least: lack of wifi
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2013
Wall Eden say's a big thank you for writing a review.

Kind regards Andrew and Katrina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross H
Amersham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A friendly & happy to help owner made this a wonderful place to stay. You can do as much or as little as you wish!”
Reviewed 3 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We had a short 3 night stay over the new year period into January. The owner was always happy to help and there are a range of onsite activities should you wish to undertake them. On the other hand if you wanted to explore the area around, Cheddar Gorge is not too far and Burnham On Sea is a short drive. There are several local pubs and one was able to accommodate more than 30 people for food at very short notice!
The accommodation really was excellent. Each cabin is a home away from home. This place suits families, small groups and large groups. We stayed over a very wet period of time and yet this didn't dampen our spirits. The owner is very personable and I cannot speak highly enough of him. The value for money is great and it beats other self catering places hands down.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owner's willingness to make our stay as comfortable as possible.
Liked least: Not applicable - no-one can change the weather!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2013
We are always here to help and look for ways to improve what we offer.

Many thanks for your words an comments
Best wishes Andrew and Katrina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nayeem S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“One of the best self catering accommodation”
Reviewed 26 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Hi,

I found Wall Eden farms online and gave a call to Mr. Andrew. Right from the word hello, Andrew made me feel comfortable. I went with a group of 11 friends. Andrew greeted us and along with him some sheeps and other farm animals. Andrew showed us the accommodation. We stayed in Barn Owl and Dragonfly cottages, we were amazed to see the cleanliness and ambience of the cottages. The cottages had floor heating and beds were cozy. Temperature outside was hovering around 0 degree celcius but once we entered the cottage we couldn't feel anything. You can buy some of the basic food such as milk, juice, breakfast, farm eggs, etc from the shop inside.
Each cottage had 1 double bedroom and two twin bedrooms. Bathrooms were hygienic and spacious. TV with Freeview and sofas. The kitchen was clean and you get much more than basic kitchen cookery items. If you want to try any culinary skills then you will find all the items that are necessary.
We wanted to try Archery. Since we were trying for the first time, Andrew gave us some safety tips. Even though Andrew had to leave for his friend's marriage, he was patient and taught each and every one of us basic archery skills. He arranged for all the necessary items for our stay before leaving. He got us some wood for a bonfire (but the rain and wind had other plans) and fishing rods.
Asda is 10 min drive nearby so you don't have to worry about basic necessities. We tried our hands at fishing but I think fishes were much more intelligent than us. Exactly, we couldn't catch one. Sheeps love bread and they ate some breads from our hands and it was great.

The whole experience was amazing to say the least. We could just stay for one night but we are definitely planning to stay longer during summer time. Andrew was best in hospitality. It will be the best place for families with or without kids, boys or girls night out and during the music festival time.

A good accommodation is really necessary when you cannot predict the weather. I would suggest staying on Wall Eden farms than any other Bed and Breakfasts if one has a choice between the two.

A picture perfect memorable experience with friends and it wouldn't have been possible without Wall Eden farms accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area was peaceful and relaxing. The experience of living in a countryside. We got much more than what we asked for.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2012
A BIG thank you to our guests who shown their appreciation by writing a review.

This help our new guests know what we are really like.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Popsiwops...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation. Tranquill setting. Friendly and helpful owner.”
Reviewed 21 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We have stayed many times at Wall Eden and always enjoy a restful and relaxing time. The location is rural with sheep and chickens on the farm. However, it is close to many of the popular seaside resorts, Burnham-on-Sea is a short drive away. Over the 3 years we have been visiting Wall Eden we have found lots of other places to visit, the surrounding countryside is fantastic. This time we went to Kilve and Cheddar Gorge, two new ventures for us and still plenty more to explore. On site, the accommodation is a real home from home, nice touches such as washing up liquid, tea and coffee are available. The cabins are cosy in the colder months and lovely in the summer, the verandahs are great for an early morning cuppa! There are nice walks along the river Brue to be enjoyed and plenty of wildlife to look out for. Andrew, the owner, is friendly and welcoming, always happy to offer advice if needed. The hot tub and new sauna are great and we have also enjoyed learning archery on our visits. I would recommend this venue to young and old alike!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quality of accommodation
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2013
There is so much here to offer so please ask and we will do our best to help.

Kind Regards Andy and Katrina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing