We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful food !”

Rosewood Hungry Horse Burnham on Sea
Price range: US$1 - US$25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed nearby for a family holiday,4 adults and a 5 year old.
The food was shocking,we ordered 2 mixed grills, a burrito/wrap,a kids meal and a steak with chips.The 3 steaks on the meals were impossible to cut as they were like rubber, we ordered medium cooked,when we tried to saw through them they just moved around the plate.
The only thing that was alright was the gammon although a bit salty.
My wifes wrap thing looked like it was sealed at one end then a load of gunk squirted in,she had one mouthful.the kids meal was okay,but thats a 5 yr olds verdict.The staff seemed more interested in getting a pantomine horse out for photos with people,probably the chef,we figured that the food was probably cooked by something with hooves.when asked "is everything ok with food" nobody had even taken a bite yet.we decided that we will forever avoid this chain of restaurants,even if we are as hungry as a horse!

Thank mayabay1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark r, General Manager at Rosewood Hungry Horse Burnham on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit a comment with regards to your recent visit to us here at The Rosewood.

Your feedback is sincerely appreciated and rest assured all of your comments have been duly noted and will be reviewed internally and acted upon as soon as possible.

I'm sorry that you feel in your personal opinion 'our chefs and team members are inadequate to perform their jobs'.My team I pride ourselves on the food we serve and the service we provide, we are also always happy to exchange any meal that you, as a customer are not completely happy with.

We are also a family friendly restaurant and the Super Horse mascot is there for your children's entertainment-not ours.

Hopefully you will come back and visit us another day for us to show you that you visit is not a normal occurrence here.

Kind regards,
Mark
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 336 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

We were on holiday in burnham and treat ourselves to one meal out per holiday. The first thing was they didn't put one childs meal thru so it obviously didn't come. Secondly the wait was ridiculous. The meals that did come were substandard to say the least. My 4 year couldn't eat the roast chicken it was so dry. The medium rare steak well done. The bread cake of the burger microwaved and inedible, on same burger no jalapeño sauce, burnt dry burger and microwaved chicken breast. They offered to rush thru a meal for the missing meal however 15 minutes later still nothing, we'd ate what we could but by now needed to leave. Avoid.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank paulabear73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark r, General Manager at Rosewood Hungry Horse Burnham on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Hi ,

Thank you for sharing your experience, observations and personal views with us from your visit here with us at The Rosewood.

First and foremost , I wish to extend my sincere apologies for the poor experience that you feel you were met with .Your comments have been shared with my management team for review and follow up.

Here at The Rosewood one of our main points of focus is our speed of service (time it takes to cook food in the kitchen).
Over 96% of all meals cooked leave our kitchen within 15 minutes. These timings are one of the fastest service times within Hungry Horse.
We pride ourselves on this and we are known within the local area for how fast we serve our food. We are upset to have read that you feel that we compromised the quality of your meal.

We would love for you to return to us when you are next in the area, for us to show you that our service and quality of food are at the heart of everything we do here at The Rosewood.

Kind regards,

Mark Robson
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Went for lunch whilst staying with friends. Was a bit dubious as hade a bad experie4nce at another Hungary Horse. I need not have worrie4d as the food was well cooked, piping hot and really good value. Going back to stay with friend againd in November for ~Winter Carnival so will definitely visit the Rosewood again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank squarepair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark r, General Manager at Rosewood Hungry Horse Burnham on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Hi,

Thank you so much for your positive comments regarding our staff and service.
I will make the team aware of the great impact that their service had on your visit with us here at The Rosewood.

We look forward to welcoming you back in November for the Carnival.

Kind regards,

Mark Robson
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Went here for a meal last night, great service, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sue-3103-bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark r, General Manager at Rosewood Hungry Horse Burnham on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Hi ,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such valuable feedback , we were very pleased to know that you had thoroughly enjoyed your meal with us here at The Rosewood.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Robson
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Service was shocking, when asked if everything was ok? we explained about the food being to a poor standard; the server looked a little confused, and walked away. We started with a starter which was very disappointing. The burgers made with 100% beef were more bread than meat, the side salad was some iceberg lettuce and a chopped tomato. The use of logos on the menu to represent deals are a 'good idea' only this is unclear in places leading to confusion.

Thank Jon_stadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark r, General Manager at Rosewood Hungry Horse Burnham on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review with regards to your recent visit here with us at The Rose wood.

Your feedback is sincerely appreciated and rest assured all your comments have been duly noted and will reviewed with my entire team.

We pride ourselves on the quality of food that we serve and we would like to apologise if you feel that your meals were not up to the high standards of Hungry Horse. We are also constantly reviewing our in house training program. All team members are fully trained In dealing with queries and quality issues and your issue should of been dealt with promptly.

We would like to welcome you back to The Rosewood next time that you visit the area, to show that we do have a fantastic team here and our food standards are one of the highest with within Hungry Horse.

Kind regards,

Mark Robson
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rosewood Hungry Horse Burnham on Sea also viewed

Weston-super-Mare, Somerset
Weston-super-Mare, Somerset
 

Been to Rosewood Hungry Horse Burnham on Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing