We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pontins Brean Sands Holiday Park
Reviewed 26 August 2014

After reading reviews about pontins I was dreading it but I was very surprised apartment was very clean also very small and basic can't complain tho £99 for the weekend ,great play areas for children lovely places to eat outside of the complex, entertainment was much much better than an haven site would defo return

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shell227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,843)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,123 - 2,129 of 3,843 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

Absolutely disgusting, never stayed anywhere like it. I am disabled and was told parking would be next to accommodation, no. Most disabled bays were used by non disabled people, cars parked either side of the road where there is no parking and car parks were nowhere near accomodation. Security couldn't care less. On entering the accommodation, we were hit by the most awful damp, mould smell. Kids were horrified as were we. Complained and the only solution was half a can of air freshener! The site is very run down and service is poor. The accomodation was dirty, hair all over the bathroom and kitchen along with dust & food around the floor area of fridge & oven. ROOM 424 AVOID. Whole block needs knocking down as you smell the damp walking past it. Biggest waste of money, go spend your hard earned cash elsewhere.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank B3rbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I was not hunting for a speck of dirt under the bed- the whole site is run down and dirty. We arrived to find half-eaten kebabs in the microwave and oven, and the apartment was generally grotty. There were bits all over the floor, mould and mildew throughout and a layer of grime on just about everything. We had a club apartment, but went with family who stayed in economy and premier- they are all equally as poor.
The entertainment was reasonable for families, but there was not enough seating for the number of people staying at the resort. The swimming pool was absolutely freezing, turning the kids’ lips blue.
The highlight of the weekend was arriving back at the chalet to find that the electricity had run out and that we had to purchase our own token or go without.
This is a lovely area, but my advice is to book a caravan on one of the parks nearby. Brean Leisure Park was excellent and the facilities were far superior and much, much cleaner than Pontins. Pontins should be ashamed to take people’s money and offer them such a poor standard of accommodation and service in return.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room here- choose one somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We booked a weeks stay here with my husband, daughter, son in law and 8 year old grandson. From the minute we got the key to the apartment to the time of leaving we had nothing but hell. On arriving the apartment was filthy, no clean cups, food left in the saucepans from previous guests, The sofa bed broken and finally changed at 9pm by security. When we spoke to the duty manager he told us to go and take some photos for trading standards before the place was cleaned for the second time. I am registered disabled and could not get near our apartment, there was nowhere to park. The bath that we were promised, was more like an oversized footspa with a seat in it.
The main reception and arcade were filthy also, the toilets never had any loo roll until I asked twice and then we finally got some. The main entertainment room, well we didn't see any of it as we could never get through the door. when we did get in the door to look for a seat we stuck to the floor and the tables were swimming in drink where they had not been cleaned. The queen vic was not much better and drinks were served in plastic cups. The staff which are no more than bits of kids spoke to you as though you were a piece of dirt, having been shouted at by one in the swimming pool as we were exiting, then again on the morning of departure in the restaurant because I asked for our table to be cleaned. I was told my table was not cleaned because I had "spoken to her like crap" so she would not clean the table.
The swimming pool is more of a health hazard than an enjoyable swim, broken tiles, rubbish floating in the water and the changing areas were again filthy. with stains on the curtains around the cubicles.
IF YOU HAVE ANY SENSE YOU WILL STEER WELL CLEAR OF THIS PLACE AS IT NEEDS CONDEMMING. IF YOU CAN STICK TO A REPUTABLE COMPANY. THE MANAGER WAS OVER THE MOON BECAUSE THEY HAD ONLY HAD 1400 COMPLAINTS THAT WEEK WHICH WAS A "QUIET WEEK" AS THEY USUALLY HAVE OVER 2000. hAVING SPOKEN TO 3 MANAGERS ON SEPERATE OCCASIONS AND ASKING THEM THEY ALL SAID IF THEY DIDNT WORK FOR THE COMPANY THEY WOULD NEVER GO THERE ON HOLIDAY.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sheilalaverie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Last minute booking due to extremely heavy workload, we had heard good and bad things but decided because it was for the boys to take a chance. We decided to go for a long weekend in Club because of the earlier check-in and a few of the other benefits that it advertised.
We drove over to the club designated parking area right next to the chalet which was good, on entering our chalet we checked the cleanliness ( matter of course wherever we stay), worktops covered in grease so much so you could smell it on your hands, cutlery and crockery also greasy, cooker extremely greasy and hob still had food stains on it. The plastic drainers and sink bowl still had remains of tomato sauce around them, and the base of the kettle and electric cord covered in food matter. On removal of the plastic drainers to see the stainless drainer and sink, food matter everywhere, but when the overflow for the sink is full of grease and food matter this shows a basic lack of cleaning skills by the staff. One of the lights flickered like a strobe light, have to wonder if this was due to large amounts of coke that was on the light and the surrounding ceiling.
On entering the bathroom, black mould down one of the walls and around sink and tiles, but the nail in the coffin was the lump of human excrement on the floor next to the toilet and the long brown streak down the outside of the toilet.
Immediately phoned the number given to us and told them of our findings, told someone was attending to us straight away, 3 hours later and 2 more phone calls and a quick chat to a cleaner next door we decided enough was enough and went for a walk to reception to complain face to face.The cleaner next door told us it was her first day and not her responsibility, plus I`m going home know as she entered the chalet with cigarette in mouth. We did not make it to reception and had a phone call from the cleaning staff to say they are in the chalet can we return. When we got to the chalet we were asked to show them the problems, they had looked and could not see anything, they were shown each individual problem, the answer was we are checkers and this has been checked.They cleaned the problems up and apologised profusely about the issues, the male even said they do not look up at the ceilings but will in future.
Here`s the crunch cleaners of Pontins, When you walk away make sure the customer is not in earshot and discuss whether or not you had checked that chalet.

The quad bikes do not exist, the area is derelict, the kart`s for the youngsters do not exist, again area is derelict with the plastic covers around the tyre walls blowing around in the wind, the whole area is very run down and as a matter of point should be one of concern for Pontins.
False advertising,don`t advertise if it does`nt exist, you are going to upset the pre-teens as you call them ( see link for article below)
The swimming pool had mould growing in many places.
The entertainment and bar area was extremely busy in the evenings, with very little seating so be prepared to stand.
Parking for the whole park is not adequate enough as we found the very next morning,I parked the car in marked bay, but others did not blocking all entry and exit points to the area, so we could not go anywhere until others had moved, staff not very helpful in the matter, and the whole parking was a free for all, on return that evening parked car by security hut on grass about 300yds away from chalet just to make sure we could get out the next morning.
We had a free breakfast on last day, wish we had not bothered disgusting.
We will never consider this type of holiday again, especially with the likes of Pontins.

Britannia hotels you have a very long way to go (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1354275/Pontins-new-owner-plans-Disney-style-make-UK-holiday-resorts.html) this article is comical.

We ventured over to Wookey Hole with 20% discount to Pontins visitors which kept the boys occupied, and also Longleat for the day, both a worth while visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

From the minute we arrived we had problems, when we booked we asked for two cots to be put in our room as we have twins only to realise when we got there that we had to fetch the cots ourselves and the linen for them was not supplied could not believe they didnt supply bedding for the cots how ridiculous is that. We had two towels between 5 of us.. and when we asked for more towels we were told that we were expected to wash them ourselves.....what a joke.
Meal times were terrible queue,s ridiculous...food ok when you finally got it ....Never any places to sit in the entertainment room..
Would never go back there again.
Sorry pontins you need a lot of changes to this holiday centre. :(((.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suetrotma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is our 2nd stay at pontins brean sands,
On both times we have booked via newspaper promotion so not paid more than £50,
Ok
so please look at my first review then follow up on this, (Don't want to cover old ground)
We only ever use our holidays accommodation as a base,,
So in that respect it was perfectly fine for us,
We stayed in a newly refurbished unit , clean and well looked after ,not too far to walk from car park, so plenty of pluses.
The main reception is the same as before in need of updating and so is the main entertainments areas,
BUT!!
We never stay around the area,
we always use the Seagull pub across the road,
Again we never tried the restaurant , we dined out in other places,
So for us it was fine ,
We had no young children with us so can not comment on the child friendly zones,
The staff I found to be helpful and polite even though I felt that some of customers were a little ignorant towards them,
I think as a base it has what you would want and need, Remember your only stopping few days not moving in forever.
So yeah its no way perfect but comparing my two visits they have really tried to upgrade and improve your stay.
Hope this review and my last can help you,

Room Tip: Don't arrive to early to book in or you will be waiting forever, If your book in time is for 4p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paula j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham-On-Sea
3.6 mi away
The Royal Clarence Hotel
The Royal Clarence Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnham-On-Sea
188 reviews
4.9 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
396 reviews
4.4 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#13 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
660 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Sundowner Hotel
The Sundowner Hotel
#1 of 1 in Highbridge
31 reviews
11.2 mi away
Warrens Village
Warrens Village
#2 of 2 in Clevedon
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontins Brean Sands Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontins Brean Sands Holiday Park

Address: South Road, Burnham-On-Sea TA8 2RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Burnham-On-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Burnham-On-Sea
Price Range: £38 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pontins Brean Sands Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pontins Brean Sands Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontins Brean Sands Holiday Park Hotel Burnham-On-Sea
Pontins Brean Sands Holiday Park Burnham-On-Sea, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing