We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple but budget friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of RB Lodge Kalibo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
RB Lodge Kalibo
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
170 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Simple but budget friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed at RB Lodge for the Ati Atihan festival. They arranged free pick-up from the airport. The hotel (perhaps it is less than a hotel as the name suggests) does not look much from the outside but inside the room was clean and simple. The beds were comfortable enough (the usual foam matress for this type of establishment); the shower provided warm water if required. We didn't try their breakfast - the menu suggests a simple Filipino breakfast. Given the limited 'formal' choices for eating in Kalibo it would be worth trying. They have a good coffee place downstairs.

The location is great for Ati Atihan - just a short walk to where the action is. The staff were helpful in arranging a hire car for a trip out of town. On arrival they gave us a little welcome pack with some local delicacies and souvenirs and a city map (that indicated they also have a newer hotel building close by). The room looked to the back so was relatively quiet but one could still hear the drums of the festival (and some tricycles and cockerels) so bring ear-plugs if you are a light sleeper.

For what we wanted (and given there are limited hotel choices in Kalibo) this was simple but just right and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saydelah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    23
    17
    1
    4
See reviews for
14
21
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

LOCATION
- Located in a quiet area, so this was great
- I have no idea where we are really situated at, so I can't really comment
- We arrived late afternoon and left early morning
- So not much time to explore

ROOM
- I think we paid 1350pesos via Agoda (There's 3 of us)
- With a/c, cable tv, hot and cold shower, wifi
- The room was very clean and it looked homey

STAFF
- The guy at the front desk knows a van driver (or maybe a couple of drivers) who goes to Caticlan daily at 7am
- The driver can pick people up at the hotel at no extra cost
- We paid 100pesos per person for the trip, by the way
- The staff are polite and helpful
- Requests from them are dealt with ASAP

EXTRAS:
- Towels are provided
- There's free flowing hot and cold water outside the room
- Might be purified water, like ones you see in most offices (and probably homes) in the country

Overall:
- Satisfied with my stay here
- I will definitely go back if there's a need for me to stay overnight in Kalibo

Room Tip: We stayed at Room #7, the wifi signal was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inutme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed in this Lodge between our travel to Boracay. When we arrived, we asked them to fetch us at the airport and the rate was cheap, the same as riding the public transport (Tricycle). Our flight was at 11:30pm and we got there around midnight. By that time, my children were starving. When I asked if there are any nearby restaurant or store that may still be open, the staff offered to buy our food instead. Now that is value added service!

The Quad Room has one double bed and two single beds. We asked for an additional mattress and it was accommodated.

There is Wi-Fi available and breakfast can be pre-ordered and the price is good. We had their Tapa (beef jerky) and it was great.

On our last night before going back to manila, we even ask them to print our plane tickets at no extra cost. We also left our toiletries at Boracay and the staff, again, offered to buy these for us.

Overall, the room was spacious, with cable TV and hot and cold water. There is also a hot and cold water dispenser along the hallway with glasses available.

GREAT GREAT GREAT service, GREAT GREAT value!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jocelynang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

I was impressed with the room when I arrived. Very spacious, clean, and had a private washroom with a hot and cold shower. Shortly after arriving on our room a mouse arrived as well and we couldn't get it to leave. I woke up in the middle of the night to it climbing on my back. When I turned on the light, I found two bed bugs who had just finished feasting on us. There were also two fresh blood spots on our sheets. I can survive with a mouse but I'm praying I don't take these bed bugs home.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcacalinao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

From Boracay, my daughters and I stayed overnight at RB Lodge in Kalibo for our early morning flight back to Davao City. The hotel is not really close to the airport (10-15 minutes away) but we chose the place banking on good reviews and photos. The place did not disappoint us. We reserved a triple room accommodation in the new building and we were all awed by the zen-inspired design of the room. Spacious room, spacious and clean bathroom with hot and cold shower, and hey, a bathtub for a room that only costs P1,300 per night? We were like "is this really a lodge???" The bed is not that firm but my daughters are happy with the place, so it's no big deal, we slept well. The building is unpretentious and you will be in for a nice surprise once you get past the small gate - a small, well-maintained garden inside the walls of the lodge, very refreshing!

The staff who attended to us was very accommodating, though it would have been comforting to know there's always someone at the front desk in case the guests need something. There was no one when we arrived, apparently, the staff was in the main building, located just a minute-walk away from the new building. There was a night guard though, so we felt safe.

On our arrival, we got a chance to talk to the owner's mother who is a very pleasant lady, she was tending to the plants. Thanks ma'am for the warm welcome!

Location is okay, but not really great. Few trikes on the street and if you're leaving early in the morning, make sure you arrange a trike with the lodge's staff.

By the way, the lodge has a standby hot and cold water dispenser in the second floor, awesome!

Room Tip: Request to stay in the new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmyRocero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloocan, Philippines
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed over night in the town Kalibo to catch-up for our early morning flight bound for Manila. The service is okay. The staff had arranged our transportation (tricycle) to the airport at an agreed time of 3:30AM. The lodge location is very close (20 meters) to Roxas Ave., one of the major road of Kalibo and a great location to stay when you are in town for Ati-Atihan. The room is quite clean and the sleeping quality is great due to better quality of mattress.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolixto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
164 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

We were in town for the Ati-atihan festival and for this the location of RB Lodge was good. It was a very short walk to the parades and events but just off Roxas Ave and so not smack in the middle of the chaos. It was however, loud the whole time and you can here the drums and noise all the time. If you’re planning on sleeping during the festival, pick a hotel further out of town (although good luck getting in and out of town through the blocked roads).

Kalibo was not warm in January and certainly did not require aircon. At night we needed blankets to sleep with (although these were not provided by the hotel). The aircon rooms cost 60% more than a fan room. The aircon was old and when we tried it was quite noisy.

The room we booked was advertised has having hot & cold water. The hot water worked briefly for about 2 mins of my first shower and then it never worked again. We raised this to the staff who were “going to look at it” but nothing was ever fixed.

Room Tip: The top floor at the back was quite quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talltaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalibo hotels
0.1 mi away
Oliveros Place
Oliveros Place
#7 of 31 in Kalibo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ati-Atihan Festival Hostel
0.7 mi away
Bee Bee Lodge
Bee Bee Lodge
#19 of 31 in Kalibo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aranas-Carillo Travellers Inn
0.2 mi away
Kalibo Hotel
Kalibo Hotel
#4 of 31 in Kalibo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.2 mi away
Basa Hotel
Basa Hotel
#20 of 31 in Kalibo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RB Lodge Kalibo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RB Lodge Kalibo

Property: RB Lodge Kalibo
Address: Pastrana and N. Roldan Streets, Kalibo, Aklan Province, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Kalibo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Kalibo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — RB Lodge Kalibo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RB Lodge Kalibo is a family-owned establishment that has been operating since 1984. We are a budget-friendly place for business travellers that is also ideal for families travelling on a budget. When you stay at RB Lodge, you do not worry as much because we would take care of you as we would our personal guests. We are conveniently located within easy reach of business and recreational establishments and facilities and are also near transport terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your RB Lodge Kalibo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing