We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Horse riding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Meadow Trail Rides - CLOSED

Mountain Meadow Trail Rides
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horse riding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

I came here in June 2013. I went on one of the four-hour rides. As one reviewer said, the first bit is down a gravel road but later on we passed some small lakes, and there was a great view of the area on top of one of the hills. The palomino horse I rode was well trained and the people running the place seem very nice.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessie464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer
Level Contributor
166 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Authentic Western experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We have been on a lot of horse rides in the past. This is nothing like the usual nose to tail rides where the horse needs prodded constantly to stay breathing and moving.

This is our third year coming here but our first on an overnight camp out ride. What an amazing experience. Over the two days you really get to know your horse and the terrain. Amazing views and we saw a bull elk at 40 yards.

We had an excellent dinner made up by Dan on the spot with the occasional break to give my daughters roping lessons. The hot tub was needed and for two city slickers who have lived in Alberta for 15 years we learned a wealth of information about ranching, horses, wildlife and the Waterton area.

We thought the accommodations were perfect. Log cabins with bunk beds and a hot shower. Did I mention the wood fired hot tub? It was a life saver for the beginner rider.

My wife and I are beginners and our daughters are intermediate riders. Dan made sure we all had fun and never felt overwhelmed. On our last day he took us out to a pasture to give a try at loping. Based on the laughing and giggles, we are hooked. We will be back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Foodseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Horseback Riding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Nice guide, professional, and fun. I'd recommend this stable! The horses were chosen to fit our comfort level with riding and the amount of experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ptsip04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great fund for family and corporate retreats. But requires physical exertion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

Just did a hour long trip with the owner and operator who is also a 4th generation rancher. it was great informative trip and the scenery is beautiful. But you must be in reasonable physical condition and without any back problems and riding horses on the mountain trails for extended time exerts pressure on the back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Abi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

My husband, two sons (12 yrs and 15 years) and I went on a three day ride. We had a great experience and truly enjoyed ourselves. We have a new respect and understanding for horses and the people who raise and care for them.
We found the trails to be challenging but very scenic. The horses allowed us to ride side by side when the trail was wide enough. We were able to trot and gallop in some of the open fields, which was alot of fun but is extremely hard on the body for novice riders.
Here are a few recommendations that we would suggest you take into account. The camp was VERY rustic. We did not mind the fact that it was rustic but a little more direction with what awaits you at camp would be very helpful. Our package included two dinners, two breakfast and three lunches. When we arrived the first day to camp we were starved and thirsty. Dinner was not going to be ready for a few hours so we only had fresh spring water to drink. Perhaps soft drinks and a snack for the riders before dinner would be a great idea or when booking perhaps Terrie could have suggested to bring along snacks and drinks as its something that is not provided during our stay. The meals were all very satisfing and plentiful.
Our guide was the real deal when it came to cowboys. Very nice, extremely polite and respectful, cooked us great meals and was always willing to hang out with us. He shared many stories with us about ranching, rodeos, and the culture of south western Alberta. All topics we love to hear and learn about. Our only recommendation would be for the guide to be more sympathetic to the inexperienced rider. Both my husband and one son were thrown off their horses and when it happened the guide really did not react very quickly. Getting thrown off a horse for him is probably an every day occurrence but for us it was at the time pretty scary. My husband and son are both fine and don't regret doing the ride as we all understand that you are dealing with an animal and if you are not paying attention anything can happen. Each horse has a unique personality which you learn over the course of the adventure. Horses can be unpredictable so they require your undivided attention as you learn to understand what bothers them and what doesn't. Overall a great experience - I would recommend this adventure to anyone who is looking for a real outdoor adventure. If you want a completely predictable experience - you should probably choose something a little less adventurous.

Helpful?
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing