We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PARADISE IN A (COCO) NUTSHELL!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palumboreef Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Uroa
Certificate of Excellence
Verona, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“PARADISE IN A (COCO) NUTSHELL!!!”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I am a flight attendant so ,as you can imagine, have stayed in some of the most exclusive and sort after resorts around the world. When on holiday my expectations are high.Palumbo reef didn't disappiont me. The warm welcome from the owner and help to settle in. The spacious and comfortable rooms.The FANTASTIC food, so much chioce, even italian cusine!! The cristal blue sea which I discovered thanks to the wide chioce of excursions this resort has to offer. I have recomended this resort to my colleges and friends and would recomend Palombo reef to you too!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank samanthapenlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Beautiful Samanta!!
We are happy to reed your feedback even couse you are expert after travelling a lot.
We miss you guys!!
When are you coming again? we are waiting you!!
Thanks for your kindness, we are pleased to welcome you again!!
come come come..
Greeting from all of us!!
C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    306
    74
    23
    15
See reviews for
196
520
103
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We have returned just recently after spending a week at Pulumbo Reef and ejoyed the stay at the hotel very much. The overall atmosphere, friendly staff makes the stay enjoyable. Animators Giacomo from Napoli and Iva from Prague make a great team. The beach at the hotel would be fine, if it weren´t for the seaweed. During low tide swimming isn´t possible, unless you walk far out. If you want to go on a trip, talk to Jerry at the hotel, who organizes reasonably priced trips around the island. The day trip "Blues Safari" with snorkelling and seafood lunch prepared and served on the beach is unforgettable and highly recommended! Be sure to visit Stone Town and have a drink during sunset on the terrace with live music of the Africa House. I want to go back!

Room Tip: Suites consist of 2 rooms facing the beach. The ones on the ground floor are shaded and cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Martin,
thanks for your feedback that is really super!!
We are pleased that you inform all the future guests about the nice staff and about all the activities that the hotel can organize for them.
We offer a very rich program, full of activities like diving, quad adventure, hourse riding, excursions by boat or in town..or a very relaxing time chilling by the pool, in a quiet place, where guests can discover our spa and all the treatments.
Just to choose!!!
We thank you again and we hope to see you soon!!
C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterton, Indiana
Level Contributor
311 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

First, I did not stay at Palumboreef Resort, but I stayed next door and the two lodges share a beach, restaurant, and some employees. The beach was very overrun with black seaweed and the lodge only made one path to the water. The meals were served buffet style and cost $15 USD for lunch or dinner. However, some folks must have had their meals included in their lodging. I only received breakfast with my lodging. There is a little pizza place on the grounds but it opened at 10 PM. The pool was great and the Masai "security" were a great addition. I thoroughly relaxed during my time in Zanzibar.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Marie,
we thank you for the feed back and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay!
Our guests can decide the treatments they want regarding meals.
We offer b&b, half board and full board.
If someone want to eat pizza, he can advise the restaurant few minutes before and they will provide for it.
It's not necessary to wait the pizzeria opening.
Anyway, like you said all our staff is kind and at guest disposal for any request.
We thank you and we hope to see you again here with us!!
Greetings from everyone!!
C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We came in the middle of the night, 03:30 A.M, we were given the worst room ever, shower was designed for midgets, you cannot stand straight while showering and the room wasn't clean, bed was FULL OF BUGS. We notified the reception and they woke up the cleaning lady at 4 A.M, she cleaned the bed and changed the sheets. The next morning, we decided to leave, the hotel manager WAS EXTREMELY NICE AND MOVED US TO A GROUND FLOOR SUITE, CLEAN ROOM, BIG COMFORTABLE BED, CLOSE TO THE POOL.

From that point forward, we had a really good time, the hotel feels like a family with all the Italian guests and the super nice staff, good dance pool music, good shakes.

We did find out later that the same prices goes for Uroa Bay Resort, which US MUCH MORE BEAUTIFUL, but the guests are more diverse and a little more snobbish, not sure about the nature of the staff and food.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheToursit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear travellers,
We thank you for the feed back you left us...
We are very sorry for the small inconvenience but how you said, here we are always ready to arrange quickly the best for our clients!
We offer Italian and local dishes, nice rooms all located near the beach or the pool area and many facilities like spa, diving, kite surf, hourse riding...
We hope to host you again with friends!!!
In case please contact us to have good offers!
Greetings from all the staff!!!!
C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My 3-night stay at Palumbo reef was relaxing and problem-free. It was lovely to be greeted with a glass of fresh mango juice and fresh flowers in my room on arrival. The staff is very friendly and helpful, especially manager Mohamed. My room was large, comfortable and clean, with a great view of the sea from my balcony. There is AC in the rooms, but with the sea breeze, it wasn't needed. The bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of hot water in the shower. The sound of the surf lulled me to sleep each night. The food is plentiful and of good quality, with both Italian and traditional Swahili dishes. There are plenty of activities organized by the hotel and associated tour operators, but no pressure to participate if you don't want to. The pool is gorgeous as is the beach. I particularly appreciated being able to walk the beach without being bothered by local touts. I recommend the traditional Zanzibar massage at the spa. All in all, I enjoyed my stay very much and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diggergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
il P, Guest Relations Manager at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Friend,
It was really nice to meet you and to have you here with us at Palumboreef Beach resort.
Your review is a great reward, we really appreciate your feedback for all the services and the rooms,

We wish to see you coming back soon!

Greeting from all the Staff

Giuseppe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend and another couple for 4 nights. Palumbo reef resort is a very nice place to chill out and relax for a few days. The very helpful staff go out of there way to ensure you have an enjoyable stay. We made good friends with the entertainment staff Jacho and Somea who looked after us and definately kept us entertained. As there is nothing to do in the surrounding neighbourhood this is essential. Each night they offered to bring us to where ever that nights party was taking place..sometimes this could be up to 30mins drive away. The resort hosts mainly Italien customers and thats the primary language spoken there but most of the staff have a good level of English. The room was spacious and clean and the whole resort is nicely designed and fits in well with its surrounding. The pool is very nice and is handy for when the tide is out. My only complaint would be that the wi-fi is very slow and you have to pay for it. They also do not have a desktop for customers to use. Overall a nice quiet place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
il P, Guest Relations Manager at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Evan,

Thanks a lot for your fantastic words!
They real give us the right energy to stay focused, and keep improving. A Wi-Fi is little bit slower because we are to many in use and here in Africa a connection isn't like Europe, but I am pretty sure next time you will find an Internet point for customers.

You'll always be welcome here.

All the best.
Giuseppe and All the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I stayed with my family at the Palumbo Reef Beach Resort for four nights recently. We had a fabulous time. Booking was very helpfully handled by Mohammed, and on arrival at the port in Stonetown we were picked up with a very comfortable vehicle. Reception was friendly and quick and we settled in soon to very generously sized rooms, each with balconies. Conveniently, they had made sure that our two family rooms were adjacent to one another.

Palumbo has excellent facilities, and some great Italian buffet style food (as well as an excellent small pizzeria), but perhaps the best bit of Palumbo is the friendliness of all of the staff. Giacomo, Martha and Tortellino play the role of animators, and for those interested, they organize various fun activities, ranging from pool gym, to table soccer (fussball), to beach volleyball. You can choose to do these or not, but for anyone with a family, they offer lots of fun moments and chances to meet new people. Most of the guests come in from Italy, but there is enough of a mix to keep things interesting and ensure that the non-Italians (like us) have a great time. We really enjoyed the atmosphere.

The pool is fabulous, as is the lounging area, and there are some hotel-attached tour organizers who can help you fix up trips to various sites of interest on Zanzibar. We did a trip to Mnemba atol for snorkelling, and that worked out great. The beach is not the best, as there is quite a bit of seeweed in front of the hotel itself, but with a bit of a walk you can get to better spots, and with such a lot to keep you busy in the hotel itself, this was not a problem for us.

All in all, a great place with a superb Zanzibar welcome. Go there and try it out!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Legobeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
il P, Guest Relations Manager at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Hi!
Thanks a lot for taking the time to write this beautiful review.
It was really a pleasure to meet you, hope to have the privilege to host you again in the future.
All the best.
Giuseppe all Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uroa
0.7 mi away
Uroa Bay Beach Resort
26.1 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#10 of 17 in Nungwi
1,013 reviews
10.9 mi away
Coral Reef Beach Resort
Coral Reef Beach Resort
#6 of 6 in Pwani Mchangani
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,512 reviews
26.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.1 mi away
Samaki Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palumboreef Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palumboreef Beach Resort

Property: Palumboreef Beach Resort
Address: Uroa, Uroa, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Uroa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Uroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palumboreef Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Palumboreef Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ora Resort Palumbo Reef Hotel Uroa Village
Ora Hotel Uroa Village
Ora Hotel Palumbo Reef
Palumboreef Beach Resort Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing