We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palumboreef Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Uroa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

I spent one week there with all included formula.( all soft are free)
I'm bit disappointed, no bottles of water is waiting for you in your room (you want one, bought it for 1,5€) they serve you drink by glass ( just leave the bottle on table.
I don't understand when you ask for a non alcoholic cocktail you pay 5€...
Juices are 80% cut with water...
I was fed up to eat pastas, rice, risotto for each meals, hotel is near a fisher village. Food was a bit fat. Will be better to have a special every day
The best meal we had was on the Friday for the typical meal
Staff is very kind and very friendly,
but managerial staff don't really care about your expectations, maybe cose they don't bother you're speaking English or French ( they don't understand) but they're fluent in Italian
In one world it's not the best place for food and other beside but animations are good
I thing they need to improve to be as the Uroa Bay Beach Resort is...

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
6  Thank Fred_da_sloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Freddas,
I'm sorry that you had not enjoyed the stay but I have to contradict you about some details.
First of all the staff is speaking a fluent English and all our guests comunicate easily with them.
The direc management of the owners is always taking care, regarding also particular requests.
The restaurant menu also satisfy our guests, offering a large buffet and the bar is really valued.
We are in a Muslim country where the alcohol is prohibited and expensive so please before accusing try to reflect.
Same for water, that here in Africa is precious and you pay it more than Europe.
Anyway we hope that after this you gonna think that in our management there are not inefficient and no logical services.
We thank you for the stay and we welcome you anytime!
Greetings.
C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 1,248 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed the week before X-mas in Samaki/Palumbo and got the holiday as wished.
Our bungalow B04 had an amazing seaview on a quite part of the beach. The bungalow was nice, clean, airconditioning and a pleasure to have this home for a week.
Samaki is great, smaller as Palumbo, but lovely resort and staff. We started always the morning there.
Palumbo is bigger, but really a good place and great to have this resort next to Samaki and you can use as well. Enjoyed there the beach the most, palmtrees, sea in front and nice staff walking around to have a talk. We always stayed here after having a good italian coffee on the swimming pool bar.

During the day and evening enough activities and entertainment for us as we really liked to relax. Thanks to the entertainment and animation which made us smile a lot.

We wish the staff working on both resorts an amazing, wonderful, healthy, lovely, lucky and sunny 2014.

Greets from Holland
Marjolein and Kim

Room Tip: Samaki bungalow B04 on a private beach and quite part of the resort. Between Samaki and Palumbo res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KimdeJong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Morj,
thanks a lot for your wonderful feedback !!
We are glad that you apreciate both hotels enjoying all the area..and the rooms on the beach are simply special..good choice!
The staff wish you the best for 2014 and all of us hope to see you soon.
Please, if you wanna come back contact us and we are happy to keep the same room for you!!
greetings from all of us..
C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I am a flight attendant so ,as you can imagine, have stayed in some of the most exclusive and sort after resorts around the world. When on holiday my expectations are high.Palumbo reef didn't disappiont me. The warm welcome from the owner and help to settle in. The spacious and comfortable rooms.The FANTASTIC food, so much chioce, even italian cusine!! The cristal blue sea which I discovered thanks to the wide chioce of excursions this resort has to offer. I have recomended this resort to my colleges and friends and would recomend Palombo reef to you too!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank samanthapenlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Beautiful Samanta!!
We are happy to reed your feedback even couse you are expert after travelling a lot.
We miss you guys!!
When are you coming again? we are waiting you!!
Thanks for your kindness, we are pleased to welcome you again!!
come come come..
Greeting from all of us!!
C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We have returned just recently after spending a week at Pulumbo Reef and ejoyed the stay at the hotel very much. The overall atmosphere, friendly staff makes the stay enjoyable. Animators Giacomo from Napoli and Iva from Prague make a great team. The beach at the hotel would be fine, if it weren´t for the seaweed. During low tide swimming isn´t possible, unless you walk far out. If you want to go on a trip, talk to Jerry at the hotel, who organizes reasonably priced trips around the island. The day trip "Blues Safari" with snorkelling and seafood lunch prepared and served on the beach is unforgettable and highly recommended! Be sure to visit Stone Town and have a drink during sunset on the terrace with live music of the Africa House. I want to go back!

Room Tip: Suites consist of 2 rooms facing the beach. The ones on the ground floor are shaded and cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Martin,
thanks for your feedback that is really super!!
We are pleased that you inform all the future guests about the nice staff and about all the activities that the hotel can organize for them.
We offer a very rich program, full of activities like diving, quad adventure, hourse riding, excursions by boat or in town..or a very relaxing time chilling by the pool, in a quiet place, where guests can discover our spa and all the treatments.
Just to choose!!!
We thank you again and we hope to see you soon!!
C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

First, I did not stay at Palumboreef Resort, but I stayed next door and the two lodges share a beach, restaurant, and some employees. The beach was very overrun with black seaweed and the lodge only made one path to the water. The meals were served buffet style and cost $15 USD for lunch or dinner. However, some folks must have had their meals included in their lodging. I only received breakfast with my lodging. There is a little pizza place on the grounds but it opened at 10 PM. The pool was great and the Masai "security" were a great addition. I thoroughly relaxed during my time in Zanzibar.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Marie,
we thank you for the feed back and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay!
Our guests can decide the treatments they want regarding meals.
We offer b&b, half board and full board.
If someone want to eat pizza, he can advise the restaurant few minutes before and they will provide for it.
It's not necessary to wait the pizzeria opening.
Anyway, like you said all our staff is kind and at guest disposal for any request.
We thank you and we hope to see you again here with us!!
Greetings from everyone!!
C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We came in the middle of the night, 03:30 A.M, we were given the worst room ever, shower was designed for midgets, you cannot stand straight while showering and the room wasn't clean, bed was FULL OF BUGS. We notified the reception and they woke up the cleaning lady at 4 A.M, she cleaned the bed and changed the sheets. The next morning, we decided to leave, the hotel manager WAS EXTREMELY NICE AND MOVED US TO A GROUND FLOOR SUITE, CLEAN ROOM, BIG COMFORTABLE BED, CLOSE TO THE POOL.

From that point forward, we had a really good time, the hotel feels like a family with all the Italian guests and the super nice staff, good dance pool music, good shakes.

We did find out later that the same prices goes for Uroa Bay Resort, which US MUCH MORE BEAUTIFUL, but the guests are more diverse and a little more snobbish, not sure about the nature of the staff and food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheToursit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Dear travellers,
We thank you for the feed back you left us...
We are very sorry for the small inconvenience but how you said, here we are always ready to arrange quickly the best for our clients!
We offer Italian and local dishes, nice rooms all located near the beach or the pool area and many facilities like spa, diving, kite surf, hourse riding...
We hope to host you again with friends!!!
In case please contact us to have good offers!
Greetings from all the staff!!!!
C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My 3-night stay at Palumbo reef was relaxing and problem-free. It was lovely to be greeted with a glass of fresh mango juice and fresh flowers in my room on arrival. The staff is very friendly and helpful, especially manager Mohamed. My room was large, comfortable and clean, with a great view of the sea from my balcony. There is AC in the rooms, but with the sea breeze, it wasn't needed. The bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of hot water in the shower. The sound of the surf lulled me to sleep each night. The food is plentiful and of good quality, with both Italian and traditional Swahili dishes. There are plenty of activities organized by the hotel and associated tour operators, but no pressure to participate if you don't want to. The pool is gorgeous as is the beach. I particularly appreciated being able to walk the beach without being bothered by local touts. I recommend the traditional Zanzibar massage at the spa. All in all, I enjoyed my stay very much and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diggergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
il P, Guest Relations Manager at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear Friend,
It was really nice to meet you and to have you here with us at Palumboreef Beach resort.
Your review is a great reward, we really appreciate your feedback for all the services and the rooms,

We wish to see you coming back soon!

Greeting from all the Staff

Giuseppe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uroa
10.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,704 reviews
19.8 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#5 of 13 in Jambiani
269 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Pongwe Beach Hotel
#1 of 6 in Pongwe
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
0 mi away
Samaki Lodge & Spa
14.8 mi away
Cristal Resort
Cristal Resort
#3 of 8 in Paje
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palumboreef Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palumboreef Beach Resort

Address: Uroa, Uroa, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Uroa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Uroa
Price Range: £77 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palumboreef Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Palumboreef Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ora Resort Palumbo Reef Hotel Uroa Village
Ora Hotel Uroa Village
Ora Hotel Palumbo Reef
Palumboreef Beach Resort Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing