We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a holiday memorable”
Review of Samaki Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Samaki Lodge & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Uroa
Certificate of Excellence
cotronei
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a holiday memorable”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Services offered are of excellent quality cuisine caters to all tastes even the demanding hospitality of this hotel is very good all employees are very nice, very clean rooms are very pleased with the services I and my fiancé.This holiday was one in which all services provided by your staff left me impressed

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FeraruAurelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Aurelia,
exactly like you say at Samaki Lodge we have a very nice staff, taking care of all the guests.
Even our Italian food is really appreciate, and in the menu sometimes we offer the possibility to taste local food!
We organize even special dinners, in a very romantic atmosphere close to the beach proposing all kinds of fishes the island can offer!
We are really satisfied cose all our guests they relax enjoying totally the place.
Thanks for your feed back and we hope to see you again in Zanzibar!
Greetings from all of us!!
C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    78
    17
    6
    7
See reviews for
103
243
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I stayed at this property, along with my family, for two weeks
in April, the hotel is beautiful and in a fabulous location
great for couples and families,
and it surpassed even our expectations.
There is a very nice pool,and the beach is great,with white sand;
the food is good ,and also very filling, the service is great
and very helpful,the rooms are clean and comfortable.
Everything was absolutely amazing,excellent stay,
can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmilioMariano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Emilio,
even your feed back is perfect!
We thank you for everything you said and we will be glad to see you again here with us.
Please contact the office that will propose a special price for you and for your family.
We will be happy to see you at Samaki in the next future, you are always welcome!!!
Greetings from all the staff of the hotel!!!
C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Considering the full package, this is the best deal that i have ever had in years of travelling from excellent service to Michelin star food, plus the bonus of an incredible beach and view with courtesy and security!
I really loved the Masai people that are used for the security operation and they also give sense of tradition and culture

Great place to stay, highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Memo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIAMI BEACH
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed at this property in March 2012 for 2 weeks ! Very different from your "regular" resorts -
spectacular service provided by very friendly staff members, very nice and spacious rooms, good location to visit the rest of the island and best of all amazing food !
The owner and his son make this place very unique and make you feel at home - i have traveled quite extensively around the world and stayed at many places and i can easily highly recommend this hotel -

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZANDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We have stayed there in January and were satisfied with services hotel offers.
Pros:
- perfect location. Hotel is located in the UROA village, where the beautiful pristine beaches and nice atmosphere. It is away from Stonetown that is very good
- clean and comfy rooms
- helpful staff. In the restaurant every room has its own table. Of course, best tables are for more expensive rooms. We didn't know that and took the one we like. Staff asked us to change a table and they saw we didn't like it. We haven't expected to receive a good table next time.
- good value for your money. I couldn't find a good hotel for that price in the high season.

Cons:
- If you are not Italian you MAY experience some difficulties, especially when you go to excursions with Italian guys. We had to remind all the time to translate in English.
- drinks are included but you can't get fountain drinks or bottles. You have to ask a waiter for a glass of coke. Every time he had to open a small bottle. It's a pain and we don't want to ask for it very often.
- Dinner starts at 8 that is too late, especially if you came from safari where you use to go to bad at 9-10 and get up at 5-6. Snacks are very poor (chips or cookies) so you get really starving before dinner.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anttraveller85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We spent a relaxing week in Samaki after travelling in Tanzania mainland. The staff and their service attitude is exceptional. Food is very good, and we found it good to have a buffet: even children find always something to eat. Room was very clean and nice - not luxury, but good quality fot the price. Unfortunately we needed medical services several times, and fortunately there was a doctor in the hotel, and another in the near by hotel.

What we didn't like too much was that the pool was rather small and the Italian guests seemed to have different understanding of hygiene: both children and adults jumped into to pool without showering, with sun cream, sweat and sand...

The place and the beach are nice, even though you can't swim during the low tide and there is nothing but the hotel in the area. What we missed were taxes which you could take and make spontaneous trips in the neighbourhood. Now you had to plane in advance everything you wanted to do, and book the ride in the hotel day before.

In general we didn'l like Zanzibar as much as e.g. Goa, where there are paradise beaches too. One time was enough for us.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria61029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samakilodge, Proprietario at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
Thank you for reporting this issue of the pool. We instructed the pool-boy to check that all visitors take shower before entering into the pool.
Best regards.
Domenico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacau, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Baieti... daca dorit o adevarata septemana de vis... cu plaja alba si deosebita, mancare de nota 11 si, sa nu lipseste nimic ... o baie cu dolphin in mediul lor... trebuia absolut sa venit pina aici.

Proprietar italian (si bucataria la fel) si staff de localnici are o grija constante despre voi, bere este buna si rece mereu, si mancare la buffet nu desamageste niciodata.

Fabio Cristina Rebby

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orsoebasta d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uroa
0.6 mi away
Uroa Bay Beach Resort
15.4 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
438 reviews
26.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Azao Resort & Spa
Azao Resort & Spa
#4 of 6 in Pongwe
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palumboreef Beach Resort
21.9 mi away
Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samaki Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samaki Lodge & Spa

Property: Samaki Lodge & Spa
Address: Main Road, Uroa 458-928, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Uroa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Uroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Samaki Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samaki Lodge is a "boutique hotel" located on the beautiful Uroa beach, 30 km from the international airport.Samaki Lodge comprises 19 rooms, elegantly and originally furnished while retaining the style of old Zanzibar.A private beach, equipped with beds, tables and umbrellas is ideal for sunbathing and relaxing under the hot African sun.During their stay guests can make long walks on the beach, meet and socialize with the friendly local people, discovering the uses and customs. The area of sea that lies between the reef and the beach allows you to swim in a safe and wonderful language of coral sand that goes for dozens of meters into the turquoise waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Samaki Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samaki Lodge & Spa Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing