We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Italians, not so Brit-friendly”
Review of Samaki Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Samaki Lodge & Spa
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Uroa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed here in August for a few nights and had very mixed opinions about our overall stay. We thought the food was excellent, the room was lovely and clean and the staff, for the most part, were very helpful.
However, being run by Italians and largely catering to them as well we felt rather uncomfortable at times and certainly outside of the clique. Despite Zanzibar being part of Tz and therefore operating with UK style plug sockets and Tz shillings or US dollars the hotel caters to it's European guests with European sockets and prices in Euros. Great if you're from Europe but not if you're from the UK and haven't been advised in advance. Having picked up a little Swahili on our holiday we tried to communicate accordingly but the waiters always spoke to us in Italian even after repeatedly mentioning we didn't understand Italian and, perhaps most upsetting, when we went on an organised tour with the hotel the guide spoke almost exclusively in Italian leaving us feeling very excluded.
Our other negative comment is that it seems very much that this hotel is rather neglected in comparison to it's sister hotel next door. Meals, except for breakfast, were all next door, staff were, at times, hard to find and when they were around we frequently had to wait while they called someone from next door who spoke better english and the whole place seemed somewhat neglected. The bathrooms really need modernizing and termites seem to be taking hold in much of the woodwork - we could hear them hard at work while sitting on our balcony!
As I said, the food was excellent and the place was clean and these were the most important things in my mind for a relaxing stay, it's just a shame that all in all we ended up feeling somewhat neglected.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pedders901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Pedders,
we are very sorry if this was your sensation..it's very strange thinking that the staff is not speaking English couse all of them or almost all, are coming from Tanzania, where people after Kiswahili speak English!
We welcome many nationalities during the year and no one was complaining till now.
Anyway, we hope to see you again here with us and to make you feel all the good vibes we are used to give to everyone!!
Many thanks.
C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

Just returned from six nights at Samaki Lodge. This quaint lodge is perfect for travelers who want to relax and take in the natural beauty of Zanzibar. There isn't much to do in the area, but I thoroughly enjoyed the beach and pools. This lodge does NOT have a beach but you can utilize the beach at the next door lodge. In fact, we enjoyed the dinner buffet each evening there (15 USD for lunch or dinner). Make certain you meet Samera at the front desk and Kennedy who has a little shop to the far right from the beach. Also, make sure to explore the seaweed gardens cultivated by the locals during low tides. Amazing!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Marie,
Thanks a lot for your feed back..we really appreciate it!
Our small resort, is perfect for enjoing holidays in a totally relaxing atmosphere.
We can offer all services that our guests need: restaurant (buffet or à la carte) bar, spa, pool area, beach area, boutique, diving, hourse riding and many other excursions to discover this beautiful island.
We hope to see you again, in the next future..maybe with family or friends..
You are almost welcome!!
C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The hotel has excellent facilities and hospitality of the hotel,just as what the other reviewers have said of the place. After a long travel from Dar Es Salaam to Zanzibar, we were really tired, but the moment we arrived at the hotel, we knew that it was a great place to unwind and relax.

The hotel treated us like family, with the great service and great food. The location is such that you have all the privacy you need, but yet you have full accessibility to the beach and the sea. Swimming pool was great too, clean and nice. Breakfast everyday was a joy and we will always look forward to eating in the restaurant. Dinner was always fantastic and great, as the food served was excellent and we could see and taste that the chef placed great pride in his cooking. All meals were buffet style, and yet was great.

The room that we were in was just fantastic. We had the full view of the sea, village and even the hotel, it was a great privilege to be located there, we never had shortage of fresh sea air and we never got bored of the view.

Beach wise, could have been better, as you may have read from the other reviewers, there are a lot of sea weed in the water and on the beach, because locals also farm sea weed in the area. But it is very interesting to observe the locals farming the seaweed during low tide, thats why it was great that even though the tides are very drastic everyday, you don't get bored with the shoreline at all.

Last of all was the pleasant surprise at which the hotel will randomly have special presentations in the evening with performances by the locals or even by their own Masai who also are the security personnel of the hotel, which also adds to the relative safety of the hotel.

The hotel all in all is a very good place if you would like to relax and vegetate. But if you're the kind who is restless and can't stay at the same place for long periods of time, this may not be the place for you, or you can arrange for tours to the reefs or town with the hotel, but prices may be a bit stiff because its all in Euros.

Room Tip: If you want one of the best rooms in the hotel, request for room SV7. That was the room we were in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikas101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
il P, Guest Relations Manager at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Wow!!
Thanks for your effort and taking time to write down this beautiful and detailed comment about your stay with us. It was really nice to meet you Micah!

The truth is that we really enjoyed your presence, thank you for your declaration of the Seaweed to other reviewers. We hope to have you again.

You'll have always a special room waiting for you in case you decide to come back in this lost Paradise,

Best regards,
Giuseppe and all Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

I liked Samaki Lodge. Beautiful place, friendly staff.
The food is alright but not exceptional - especially at the price they charge.
Rooms could be cleaner. We had cockroaches living in a wall.
Communication from the staff could be improved.
These doesn't take away that we had a great and relaxing stay, but 5 stars would definitely be too much.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Replicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
il P, Proprietario at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013
Google Translation

ASANTE SANA,la tua recensione , e' positiva .
Unico problema sono stati piccoli animali sulla parete, questo e' normale in Africa quando il Resort e ' costruito nel verde come il samakilodge.
Noi facciamo tutti i giorni buona pulizia delle camere e delle parti Comuni, può capitare che qualche piccolo animale viene dai giardini dopo che e'stata fatta la pulizia . In questo caso basta avvisare lo staff , interveniamo immediatamente.!!
Grazie per la tua osservazione , abbiamo gia avvisato la capo cameriere di prestare maggiore attenzione nelle camere vicine ai giardini.
Speriamo di averti presto nuovamente nostro ospite , CARI saluti. Pablo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This is the second time we visit this place. Me and my wife we loved this place.
We stayed at this wonderful hotel for ten nights, yes ten straight night of our honeymoon.
Our honeymoon could not get better than that.The first thing you will notice when you get there is the personal attention you get in everything you want. The let us change our room because we did not like the first one. They are very friendly and they listen to you.
This is the most romantic hotel ever. we loved everything about it, the food was great, super quiet,spectacular views, nice musics, beautiful flowers, awesome swimming pool.
We plan to go there again when we get our first child, as a family.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2011moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Samaki is the coziest hotel on the island......our 10 day stay (16-26 march 2013) was the best we could wish for......friendly service, friendly locals and guides with whom we took a few excursions around the island and hotel's owner personal attention..... the best beach and warmest ocean we've ever experienced......many thanks to everybody......Robert(US) and family(Czech).

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 473robertv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
il P, Direttore at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Dear Robert,

Thank you a lot for your nicely comment about us.
As you have notice that we are very friendly , very attention on our service considering with all needs, we mostly provide Italian’s zanzibarian food , and we also provide other kind of dishes according to the choice of Clients. For all clients who book direct with us by sending an email or calling ,a part special discount we now offering 2 half day trips (SPICE & STONE TOWN) for those who staying from 7 nights and more.
We are very happy to see everyone enjoying their stay at Samaki Lodge & Spa , will be glad to see you again at Samaki Lodge & Spa .Our staff and management wishing you and your family all the best in your duties.
Many thanks,

Pablo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

It was a nice experience to stay in Samaki Lodge, nice owner ... nice staff too with a nice and beautiful beach just in front of the hotel, white sand just like a powder. Just a bit problem with the water in the room, and a bit expensive too for the internet :(, maybe would be good if everything inclusive tho... we are staying there almost 10 days january 2013, love the african food !!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LaPetitIndonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Dear guests,
we thank you for the nice feed back regarding our hotel and all the staff!
Our Italian food is really tasty,and even our Zanzibarian dishes are delicious like you said!
If you will come back, pls let us know that we reserve for you a very special offer including a fantastic Safari in the main land!!
Thanks again for all and hope to see you soon!!
C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uroa
10.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,751 reviews
8.8 mi away
Zawadi Hotel Zanzibar
3.2 mi away
Pongwe Bay Resort
Pongwe Bay Resort
#3 of 6 in Pongwe
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Uroa Bay Beach Resort
0 mi away
Palumboreef Beach Resort
3 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samaki Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samaki Lodge & Spa

Address: Main Road, Uroa 458-928, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Uroa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Uroa
Price Range: £55 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Samaki Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samaki Lodge is a "boutique hotel" located on the beautiful Uroa beach, 30 km from the international airport.Samaki Lodge comprises 19 rooms, elegantly and originally furnished while retaining the style of old Zanzibar.A private beach, equipped with beds, tables and umbrellas is ideal for sunbathing and relaxing under the hot African sun.During their stay guests can make long walks on the beach, meet and socialize with the friendly local people, discovering the uses and customs. The area of sea that lies between the reef and the beach allows you to swim in a safe and wonderful language of coral sand that goes for dozens of meters into the turquoise waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Samaki Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samaki Lodge & Spa Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing