We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience, lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Uroa Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Uroa
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great experience, lovely place”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in Uroa Beach Resort, the place looks fantastic, it's very tastefully decorated and welcoming, the staff and management were friendly and efficient so we had a very nice time. The food was good and varied, the pool always clean and sparkling and the rooms are large and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ioana_Te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    285
    72
    30
    19
See reviews for
135
361
40
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Great rooms, very welcoming flower cards, excellent facilities and helpful staff. The food was good, especially the dinner buffets. The beach was full of seaweed when we were there but it was because of the ocean currents and staff were removing it.

I recommend staying in this part of Zanzibar away from the hustle and bustle of Stone Town, which is still easily accessible through taxi or dalla dalla. We enjoyed the 45 minute taxi as you go through many villages and get a glimpse into island life.

The sand in Zanzibar is so soft. Great beaches.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joshuasmith77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kleinburg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We were really happy with the service and cleanliness of the hotel. Our door lock was stuck but when we told them about it they were right on it and had it fixed within an hour. The beach was beautiful but you had to contend with locals always trying to sell you something when you went to the beach. However when you told them no thank you, they left you alone. We felt very safe walking the beach and being on the resort. They had activities around the resort to keep us busy since it is rather isolated. We would have liked a fitness room but we made use of all the facilities they had instead especially the 44 ft pool.This is not a bad thing especially if you don't want to be near the city but rather in a quiet beach location, which we did. The beds are hard but we found this to be the same in all the places we stayed in Tanzania. The food was good - enough variety at the dinner buffet that we could always find something we liked.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie42013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richards Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This place suits honeymooners, friends or family travelers alike. Friendly and helpful staff. Everything you need for an island vacation. Free wifi. Safe and secure all around the resort and beach. Clean and sparkling pools and right on the beach.
They could however add some English books and magazines to their library.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Natash2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potchefstroom, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This review is for fellow wheelchair travelers as the hotel indicate on the website that the hotel is wheelchair accessible. First of all Excellent resort!
Wheelchair accessibility on the ground very good, angles of ramps is perfect. Difficult to get to beach, but not impossible. Swimming pool not wheelchair accessible. Room is spacious, bed approx. 15cm higher than wheel of chair. Bathroom - no grab-rail at toilet, no shower-chair, your travel shower-chair will work perfect as the bathroom is spacious.

Negative : wheelchair rooms is family rooms, thus you will pay for 3 persons even if you are 1 traveller. Maybe the resort can urgently work on this aspect.

Positives: Numerous - food, service, friendliness, relaxation.....

Room Tip: Contact the manager directly for a better rate, otherwise too expensive if you pay for a "ghost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeonPotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights at the beginning of August 2013 and had a lovely time. The Italian management were friendly enough, saying hello each day and the resort felt extremely safe and well run. The pool was beautiful with plenty of sunbeds and there were other activities if you're not a sunbather: a tennis court, table tennis, a 5 a side football pitch and a lovely beach to stroll along. As Uroa is a quiet village, there were not really other places to visit for dinner etc so we stayed on the resort most of the time, The food was lovely with enough variety to satisfy most people. Evening entertainment (acrobats, bands etc) happens a few nights a week which was pleasant to watch. Excursions can be organised from the resort although we didn't participate in any as we were happy chilling by the pool. All in all, Uroa was a quiet, relaxed resort but perfect for what we wanted after a busy safari.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room but could barely see the sea so not really worth the extra money. The gardens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephtrueman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey, UK
Level Contributor
120 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We holidayed here as a honeymoon couple with children aged 14 and 6 years. We stayed for 13 nights in July/August 2013.

Booking / costs – We booked via booking.com and had email communications with the hotel prior to our stay. The management were always polite and responded quickly.
Check-in – We were collected by hotel taxi from the airport for $50. Upon arrival our room keys etc were ready along with a fruit juice drink. Staff helped us to our room immediately after we settled the accommodation bill.
The night before checkout you are asked to settled your tab for the stay which we did in full. However this caused a few difficulties for us the next day as we were asked to pay for everything in cash as we used it however we’d used all our cash!! Luckily the staff allowed us to make a further tab which of course we paid just before leaving.
Location – Uroa is on the East coast of Zanzibar about 45 minutes from the airport and Stone town. The beach is stunning. Uroa is on the coral reef so you will get seaweed but the beach is beautiful. White sand, warm clear waters. When the tide is out you can walk to a raised sandy area just watch the urchins.
Rooms – We stayed in a two bedroom garden view room. Actually we could see the sea and were happy we didn’t pay extra for that benefit!! Each room had a kingsize bed in as well as wardrobe and drawers. The master room had balcony access and a tv. Bathroom was large, tiled and clean. Upon arrival we had a special honeymoon palm entry made for us, flowers decorating the property and fruit bowls which was lovely.
All air conditioned as well as a fan. Small fridge filled with water daily. We had safe too.
My only slight criticism would be the quality of the towels and bed sheets – they could do with updating however were always clean.
Communal areas/Facilities -The grounds of the hotel are well fenced and the entry guarded. The beach front has security guards. Not that i felt at risk, however this was seen as a secure measure.
The hotel offers wifi in the reception area where there is plenty of space to sit or lay around on day beds. Towards the end of our stay they were also upgrading their wifi which we could access from our room. Quite slow but adequate for use during a holiday.
The hotel has a small library to swap books. This was full of Italian and French reading so I left a few English books there too ;-)
Doctor on site each evening from 6-8 (ish). Offers free consultation, $20 quick malaria blood test, and a fee charging prescription or out of hours service. Helpful as Uroa is some distance from any private health facilities of Stone Town.
Safe car park area if you’re hiring a car.
Tennis court area which we didn’t use however looked clean and well managed. You can borrow tennis rackets from reception. There is also a mini football pitch – the hotel have a team who practice 2-4 nights per week and play around the Island.
Beach/pool area -The hotel is beach front. There are a number of sunbeds and umbrellas along the beach front. The tide range is quite big and at high tide the water is up to the walls of the hotel boundaries. This is Africa, you will get people on the beach trying to sell you stuff. In my opinion they didn’t hassle, they aren’t nearly as annoying as other African areas. They attempted to sell us some excursions and wooden bits as well as henna tattoos. Other than that local women were farming seaweed in the sea and generally living their private lives.
The pool area was immaculately clean, plenty of sunbeds and shady areas. The pool area was braely ever full which gave a feeling of space and quietness. Often our children were the only ones in the pool. The pool bar was well stocked and has an array of non/alcoholic drinks, pizzas, snacks, lunch and desserts. They also have a large tv for sports screenings!
Towels are provided. I think these have seen better days but were useable and alwsy fresh and clean.
Staff – We found each and every one of the staff to be friendly helpful and kind. There were a number of trainee staff all of whom were learning – they remained courteous throughout.
The management are Italian, I found them to speak little Swahili or English so watching them train staff was interesting. Luckily some of the staff seemed to speak Italian.
Other guests – guests were mainly European – Norwegian, Dutch, Italian, British, as well as Americans and South Africans. Most people had either enjoyed a safari in Tanzania/Kenya or climbed Kilimanjaro! As a consequence most guests seemed to stay just a few days.
Food – We stayed on B+B option however the hotel also offer, half board, full board and all inclusive. Breakfast is served 6.30-10.30 in the buffet dining area. There was a huge range including pancakes, cakes, cookies, bread for toast, fruits, yogurt, hot foods 9sausgae, beans) and a chef to cook your eggs in any way you wanted! Also nutella and hersheys syrup which were at times a welcome home comfort!
Lunch is either served at the buffet restaurant for $15 or a la carte (either in the restaurant or at the poolside bar). Same for dinner.
The buffet was reasonably priced and offered a good variety of food. Bottled water included. Every night included pasta station, fruit, desserts, salads, and a BBQ area which had frssj meat and fish each night. The dining area was clean, beach view and free from bugs/birds/flys etc!!
Activities/Entertainment/excursions – the hotel offers three entertainment events per week consisting of acrobats, live band etc. They commence around 9.15, sounded pretty good however with the kids we didn’t get a chance to watch!!
This isn't a hotel with an animation team bugging you all day, its quiet and relaxed.
On site they have a small shop selling tourist souvenirs (including postcards and stamps), toiletries and chocolate! I noted a previous comment about the hours of opening – this shop is open every day morning and eve (except thurs morning) and isn’t operated by the hotel. There’s a Massage place. And an excursions desk – we organised the Spice tour through them. Reasonably priced, efficient and we enjoyed the tour.

Dont miss:
We hired a car for a few days to explore the Island. We enjoyed a day trip to Stone Island, prison Island (giant tortoises), kizimkazi for dolphin tours/swimming, Nungwi, the butterfly park, to visit the red colobus monkeys and the amazing rock restaurant – ALL RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank willowhopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uroa
27.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
10.7 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,512 reviews
26.7 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#10 of 17 in Nungwi
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Azao Resort & Spa
Azao Resort & Spa
#4 of 6 in Pongwe
91 reviews
19.1 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#5 of 13 in Jambiani
552 reviews
27.3 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uroa Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uroa Bay Beach Resort

Property: Uroa Bay Beach Resort
Address: Uroa Bay, Uroa 2675, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Uroa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Uroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Uroa Bay Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new 4 star superior resort, on wonderful Uroa Beach, on the East Cost of Zanzibar. Italian management and maintenance, with smiling and professional local staff, working all together to make you enjoy at best your stay here. Big pool, pool/beach towel service, great beach, excellent Italian inspired kitchen, more then 40 square meter rooms fully equipped and furnished (individual A/C, mini fridge with daily refill mineral water, TV with satellite channels, telephone, fan, mosquito nets on beds, safe, internet connection, private furnished terrace, private services with shower box and bidet). Relaxing and easy-going atmosphere. Ideal for everyone who wants to relax and have a great time in a wonderful location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Uroa Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uroa Bay Beach Hotel Uroa Village
Uroa Bay Beach Resort Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing