We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Uroa Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Uroa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I visited Uroa Bay this February for my Honey moon. I have to say that experience was excellent! The resort is situated in a scenic bay with long white beaches that are great to explore. I have never in my life experienced such friendly and helpful staff and they just made our stay even more delightful. The food was great and we truly enjoyed the evening entertainment.

The resort is located in a rather secluded part of the Island (30 min from Stone Town), however, the excursion desk made it possible to organise any activity on the Island, even just a Taxi to get to Stone Town.

Uroa Bay Resort has truly made sure that we had a wonderful romantic experience and will definitely return in future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BFNT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 795 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at this resort during December 2013. We had the option of a 4 nights or 7 nights stay and we chose the 7night stay. Although the hotel was nice enough there is not much to do at the resort itself, and in hindsight the 4 night option would be better.

The rooms were nice, but the beds are very hard. The bathrooms need some upgrading. The staff were quite friendly, but language seemed a barrier as their English language skills are quite limited. We occupied three rooms next to each other, and we found the corner room to be bigger than the other rooms, although the costs were the same.

We hired a "tour guide" on the beach to take us to places like Stone Town, Prison Island, the spice forest, dolphin watching, etc. Although these guides' charges were much cheaper than those of the official tour operators (AfricaStay, etc) it still cost quite a penny, as their prices were all quoted in dollars.

One downside is that one is continually harrassed by these tour guides wandering on the beach, so we found the long beach walks we looked forward to, quite irritating. I do understand that the locals make their living out of tourism, but to be continually harrassed by someone selling Zanzibar souvenirs, lunch at their restaurants (which are very basic) or someone offering to take us to some or other tourist attraction,was quite daunting.

Uroa bay is a small fishing village, so if u prefer the quiet life or just looking for a place to rest this resort is the perfect place, but i personally would have preferred a hotel set in the hustle and bustle of Stone town. Uroa bay is also quite far from Stone town,about half an hour, and because we did not hire a car, we had to hire one of the "unofficial beach tour guides" to take us into stone town. The hotel did not have these facilities, which would be preferable, even at a charge.

The hotel organised live entertainment every night to entertain the guests, and they served a themed menu in their buffet section every night. Most of the guests were South African during our stay, so one night they also had a South African theme, which was a nice thought on managements side - even though some of the "South African" dishes were definitely foreign to us:)

Apart from the hard beds,We had a comfortable stay at uroa bay resort but all in all I feel that Zanzibar itself is overrated.

PS One member in our party's camera disappeared from her room (she forgot it on the bed) and the evening when we returned she found only the memory card. We did report it at reception but because of language barriers we gave up on it, so one word of advise is to lock up all valuables. The hotel does advise its patrons about locking up valuables.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shamsu O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I spent one week with friends at Uroa Bay Beech Resort which felt like three. It is perfectly positioned with access to a pristine beech which is relatively secluded. It is about 30 minutes away from Stone Town. The rooms and facilities are kept clean. The restaurant has theme nights serving different foods from different counties followed by different entertainments (bands, acrobats etc). The staff are exceptionally friendly and cater for your every need. The only thing to consider is should you wish to tip the staff you are unable to add it to your bill for payment via credit card and therefore need to have sufficient cash with you to do so, the only ATM's are in Stone Town. We had a fantastic time and will certainly go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CamillaKrog7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Our family spent three days here. We had a good time in the long pool each day. The staff were very attentive and friendly. We ate at the buffet each day (Chinese, American and Swahili for our three days). Prices were reasonable. Rooms were adequate with air conditioning. It is about 45 minutes from StoneTown (around $30). When the tide went out, we didn't see any way to walk out on the reef. So, if you want to do that you might double check with the hotel if this is possible here.

Room Tip: Facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed at Uroa Bay after 3 weeks of teaching in Tanzania, I had an amazing time. We arrived and were greeted warmly by the receptionists and were given lovely beverages whilst they sorted out our paper work, we were then given absolutely lovely little bracelets to show our category (different colours for half board etc). Our room had a sea view and was absolutely beautiful, it had all the necessary items and its decor was also very beautiful. The whole complex is well maintained and absolutely stunning, the garden is beautiful, full of: beautiful birds, coconut trees and flowers. The whole resort was kept extremely clean. We ate from the buffet each night and were astounded by the choice, each meal was outstanding and tasted wonderful! It was not over priced and the rate for drinks was also very reasonable. Each night at about 6:30 there was a bar set up with free cocktails (different ones each night) and nibbles before your main meal! The pool was cold (may just be because I am rather cold blooded!!) but still delightful to be in once you had become used to the temperature! The beach bar was very well done and offered a wide variety of snacks/drinks. It was wonderful to see the massai guarding the beach, they were very friendly- however, the security did make us feel slightly uneasy when we were chatting with the locals although I am sure they were just making sure we were safe. The Monkey Shop is a really nice extra selling wonderful things. The staff went out of their way to book massai dancing which we requested - a really brilliant team! All in all a brilliant stay, I would and have recommended it to anyone and everyone! I hope to return in the following year! x

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CharlotteW1252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed 5 nights in Uroa Bay Beach Resort. The rooms are lovely - overlooking the garden and the sea with private terrace. Family rooms - two connecting bedrooms are nice, decorated with taste and very clean. Garden is beautiful: full of birds, coconut trees and flowers. Hardly no mosquitoes in the garden - garden well maintained and probably sprayed. Large pool. Beach is fantastic, cleaned from seaweeds everyday and a nicely signed small path brings you to the close by sand bed at low tide - a dream place! Dinner buffet is good and varied with good mix of local and european food. Quiet place, not overcrowd, no loud music - very relaxing!
We rented a car for 3 days and had no trouble at all with police checks (we had the temporary Zanzibar driving licence worth 20$).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ingrid-Gael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I recently spent a week with my partner and his mom at Uroa Bay and we had a wonderful time there. The rooms were amazing - cool, clean and spacious. There were a few ants on the patio but that was only due to the hibiscus flowers in the vacinity
.
The resort itself was kept clean and tidy - from the bars to the swimming pools to the dining areas. The staff were friendly and the food was lovely and varied; there was something for everyone!
The beach was clean, aside from seaweed, but that can't be helped - the locals farm seaweed in the area and the currents sometimes mean that seaweed is washed up. But in the resort itself is a sandy area complete with sun loungers, so you do not feel that you are missing out on the beach.

The only real problem that we encountered was that you need to have cash to do anything. The resort has a spa, boutique and excursion shop, but you are unable to pay on card. You are also not allowed to put any of these on your tab and pay the hotel at the end of your stay, you have to pay cash. There is no facility in the hotel to get cash back and there is no ATM so to get cash, we had to get a cab to Stone Town ($50) and find a working ATM (3rd time lucky!) to draw money. It's a shame, as we would have done more and spent more in the boutique if we were able to etiher get money from the hotel or put things on our tab.

However, overall it was a great holiday and we had a wonderful time!

Room Tip: As for sea view rooms - spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Michskev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uroa
10.7 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,753 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Pongwe Beach Hotel
#1 of 6 in Pongwe
956 reviews
6.9 mi away
Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Zanzibar Beach Resort
Zanzibar Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Mazizini
192 reviews
27.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.7 mi away
Palumboreef Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uroa Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uroa Bay Beach Resort

Address: Uroa Bay, Uroa 2675, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Uroa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Uroa
Price Range: £72 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Uroa Bay Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new 4 star superior resort, on wonderful Uroa Beach, on the East Cost of Zanzibar. Italian management and maintenance, with smiling and professional local staff, working all together to make you enjoy at best your stay here. Big pool, pool/beach towel service, great beach, excellent Italian inspired kitchen, more then 40 square meter rooms fully equipped and furnished (individual A/C, mini fridge with daily refill mineral water, TV with satellite channels, telephone, fan, mosquito nets on beds, safe, internet connection, private furnished terrace, private services with shower box and bidet). Relaxing and easy-going atmosphere. Ideal for everyone who wants to relax and have a great time in a wonderful location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Uroa Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uroa Bay Beach Hotel Uroa Village
Uroa Bay Beach Resort Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing