We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay,very relaxing place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tamarind Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Uroa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 August 2013

we are family of 4.with 2 teenage girls-and they had a great time there ...so it must be good!
we arrive early enough for a super breakfast!every day-fresh shake,fresh fuits,pancake and smiles from the stuff! the room was really near the beach,which was perfect!the room have big porch and hot water.cleaning lady every day with clean towels. the pool is so good!all the area is clean and being take care,and when you have kids you feel safe in the compound.they can go -and come to the room with no strangers around.even small kids .no need to look after-that was my meaning.the beach is so beautiful-long,very white sand.no need to go anywhere-just relax.
i am happy we found this place!

Room Tip: the ones that are near the beach-so you can open the door and breath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tzufitn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

Tamarind is an amazing little place on a fantastic stretch of beach. The staff is great and food tasty, but rooms could use a sprucing up. Great deal, service and pool! A great place to relax for a weekend or week!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MakameKomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This was our first trip to beautiful Zanzibar but hopefully not the last! The location of Tamarind is excellent - on the east coast of the island, away from the hustle and bustle of Zanzibar Town and Stone Town. The beach is spectacular - white sands, turquoise water warm as a bath. The resort is low-key and very friendly for the most part. The rooms are adequate, but in need of some repairs and updating. Our sheets were not quite big enough for the bed, and came undone every night. But the beds were comfortable and we slept like babies. The little touches like the flowers on our bed were so sweet. Some of the (much-needed) ceiling fans were non-functional, and the locks on the beautiful carved doors were ancient and awkward, sometimes broken. I wished there were more places for hanging clothes and towels, as nothing ever seemed to get dry in the humidity. The food and service were excellent. We were there for seven days and tried almost everything. The fresh fruit and omelets in the morning were wonderful, although we had to battle with the flies to eat it. Just another part of being in the tropics, and certainly did not matter that much. The fish curry over rice was my favorite. (The flies only seemed to be active in the morning, and the other meals were undisturbed.)
We went on two excellent outings: one to Stone Town on Easter to worship at the Anglican cathedral. Then on to the amazing marketplace, a maze of middle-eastern looking buildings with lots of little shops. Our lunch at the Emerson Spice Hotel was good enough for royalty. Indeed, my husband sat in a chair that was very throne-like. On the way back, we stopped at the Spice Farm for a very fun, educational tour through the jungle. Another highly-recommended activity.
Our second outing was to Chumbe Island for snorkeling, an amazing and beautiful experience that defies my command of superlatives. That will take a whole other review!
On both outings, we arranged our own agenda, then asked for a driver from the resort to take us. I would suggest that, before going on outings, discuss the price of the transportation FIRST with the manager at Tamarind, and don't get a huge, unpleasant surprise at the end! Settle on a price that works for you before agreeing to utilize their driver. But even though we made this "mistake" in our planning, it was still definitely worth doing despite the cost.
The "beach vendors" were few and blessedly far-between, although a lady continued every day to try to convince me to get a massage! But she was sweet, and I just had to keep politely declining.
Definitely use your mosquito repellent and nets!
All in all, this was a wonderful, peaceful and pleasant place. I loved the pool and the amount of shaded areas for reading. RIght down the beach is a very fancy resort, at which we ate a few meals.... but I was always happy to return to our quiet, unpretentious "home" at Tamarind.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pegspony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

First the positives - this is a well laid-out small hotel fronting a superb clean and quiet beach. The pool is good and the restaurant is fine (even in low season you can get a reasonable selection of meals). In addition, the room rates are pretty reasonable.
Accommodation is in neat, well spaced-out semi-detached bungalows. Potentially excellent, but the rooms have been allowed to fall into some disrepair. The overall standard of cleanliness could (and should) be improved, and some basic repairs need to be carried out.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

This is the third time we come to this hotel and we will keep coming back! We stayed on this last trip for 9 days. Our previous trips have been for 10-14 days each.
The beach at Tamarind Hotel is incredible. The water is crystal clear. Clean, fine white sand, hardly any algae, the water is warm, not too salty, you can swim and swim without fear of strong currents, and you just don`t want to get out.
The food is very good. Local Swahili cuisine with Indian and western items. We tried almost every dish on the menu and we recommend them all! The pizzas, fish, chicken are great -- good cuts of meat. The maharage (red beans in coconut sauce) is excellent. They also serve great fruit juice for breakfast, and a different fruit juice every day! The fruits and vegetables come fresh from the market, and at a time when the big hotels serve you packaged fruit juice and frozen vegetables, this is priceless.
The rooms at the hotel are simple, but good. There is an extra bed in case you need it. We slept very well. I used the balconies in the room to read and write, and relax with a beer. The best part is each morning, when I wake up and open the door to my room, in awe at the paradisiac beach in front of me.
The pool is lovely, great to dip into after a swim in the sea.
And at night the sky lights up with stars and little white crabs come out of their holes on the beach and you watch them scurrying around you as you walk.
For what you get, the prices are very reasonable -- for the accommodation, food and services. You never feel the hotel is trying to rip you off or make a fast buck. It`s all very relaxed, very enjoyable, and you spend your vacation focused on having a good time and totally disconnecting from the world.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank africatraveller446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We spent just over a week staying at the Tamarind Beach Hotel on Uroa Beach. The beach is heavenly - clear warm water, white sands, friendly locals, quiet & peaceful.

The service and meals were excellent. The rooms were basic but comfortable.
Great place for a budget holiday.

PS: I would recommend taking your own insect spray and/or mosquito coils for the room. The mosquitos can be vicious.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We have been coming to this hotel for our family holidays for 8 years now and we always have a fantastic time. The rooms are basic but great (the fans are appreciated on the hotter nights), the staff very friendly and accommodating and remember our boys each time we return, and visa versa.
We all enjoyed the food, drinks, pool and of course the beach, fishing, swimming, walking.
We'll be returning again for our next family holiday as do many ex-pats who live in East Africa.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7AndrewB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uroa
0.5 mi away
Uroa Bay Beach Resort
3.0 mi away
Azao Resort & Spa
Azao Resort & Spa
#5 of 6 in Pongwe
108 reviews
0.7 mi away
Moonshine Uroa Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mermaids Cove Beach Resort & Spa
19.0 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 13 in Jambiani
258 reviews
11.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Beach Hotel

Address: East Coast, Uroa, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Uroa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Uroa
Price Range: £53 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bungalows by the white sandy beaches of the Indian Ocean. Tamarind is affordable paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Tamarind Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Beach Hotel Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing