We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of Hotel Kastro

Hotel Kastro
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stoupa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Kastro
Ranked #3 of 7 Stoupa B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Wow...right across the street from the beautiful beach. Very clean room and very comfortable!! Great little balcony off the room. Breakfast was a little on the skimpy side...just 2 slices of toast and some cheese, juice and coffee (enough for me) , but for those who want more, there are plenty of cafes and restaurant to go to. Loved it there and would stay there again!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank goldy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    9
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed for one week at the Kastro and had a fantastic stay in a prime location. Our room had a sea view which was gorgeous and it was very, very clean. Although the breakfast was simple that suited us and we liked the fact that the hotel was run by a family. We felt very welcome and came back to the hotel to play cards alongside the owners on a couple of nights. We would recommend the hotel to anyone coming to Stoupa.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

stayed at george apts year before but found eat mostly at kastro and position great so stayed georges apts v good to will review just myself and wife daughter away with school restraunt was open when we there so food good heard its closed now but the house wine and food was v good shame closed lots of good eating houses around though

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Very friendly and helpful hotel. Although we didn't have a sea view, we had an excellent clean room with balcony (useful drying area and small washing line!) but, unusually no hairdryer, which I didn't discover till I came out of the shower. Comfortable beds. Only grumble was very poor breakfast - no fresh juice or bread, just sliced, and lukewarm coffee. Excellent restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wrinklie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colduk
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Just spent 14 days at the Kastro. No restaurant service now and breakfast consists of two slices of toast, one coffee or tea, and one glass of orange juice. You do however get honey AND jam, one sachet of each. The slice of Orange cake we had for the first four days evaporated after my wife asked for an alternative and was replaced with two cheese slices....one each!
The owner,Paris, is quite friendlybut one gets the feeling his heart isn't really in the job. His right hand man, Stratis, is pleasant and seems to be picking up the job well enough!
The Hotel is scrupulously clean and sheets and towels were changed regularly so if you're dieting and fastidious, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: We paid extra to get a sea view and felt it was worth it as the balcony overlooks the beach, and get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deadeye202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Stayed for 2 weeks in 2010 via Thomas Cook. We had stayed in Stoupa several times in a villa and eaten in Kastro's restaurant many times. We decided to stay in Kastro hotel for 2 reasons, its location and its restaurant. On arrival we found that the restaurant had closed although it was still featured in the Thomas Cook brochure. The hotel is in a fantastic location, is clean, quiet and comfortable. However the breakfast was poor. My only complaints are the boring breakfast, the disappearance of the restaurant. We reported our disappointment to Thomas Cook who were not interested. Overall, a nice hotel in a fantastic resort but hgo out for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank irgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

My daughter and I have been visiting Stoupa since 2001 and we had always intended to stay at the Kastro Hotel at some point, having eaten there and knowing its location right on the central beach, where we love to snorkel.

After booking, we read some poor reviews and were a little concerned that standards had slipped, but decided to go with an open mind. We were absolutely delighted with our holiday.

We received a pleasant greeting on arrival and were shown the facilities including the fridge, in-room safe, television, spotless bathroom (with bath and shower) and our air-conditioning with remote control, which was highly effective. Our beds were very comfortable and we both slept really well, despite external temperatures of 40 oC with 50% humidity!

The breakfast did lack variety, it was toast with butter, jam and honey, and orange cake every day, but the coffee was lovely and since there are so many tavernas and cafes in the resort, the simple breakfast was fine. The restaurant no longer opens, but again, the hotel is so central that this really doesn't matter.

Hotel sunbeds are 5 Euros per day for two sunbeds and a large, static umbrella, but this is the going rate throughout the resort. There is also a tap and hose-pipe provided in the hotel drive-way for rinsing sand from your legs and feet, so that your room stays nice and clean.

The hotel is immaculately clean, and fresh-smelling, with a very high standard of finish. Bedding and all towels were replaced every day. I have travelled widely in Greece including the mainland, many islands and Athens. The only hotel that has surpassed the Kastro was a major 5 star hotel in central Athens.

The staff were all very helpful, friendly and polite, although not over-chatty. Most of the other guests were Greek, as are the majority of visitors to Stoupa, and we particularly enjoy the authentic nature of the resort and this hotel. Visitors preferring English food and company would probably enjoy a large island resort more than Stoupa.

We will definitely stay at the Kastro Hotel again next time we go to Stoupa. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alison_gee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stoupa hotels
0.0 mi away
Lefktron Hotel
Lefktron Hotel
#1 of 9 in Stoupa
189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anaxo Resort
Anaxo Resort
#2 of 9 in Stoupa
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Olympia Villas
Olympia Villas
#6 of 9 in Stoupa
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Olympia Villa and Pool
#7 of 9 in Stoupa
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kalogria Beach Hotel
Kalogria Beach Hotel
#1 of 7 in Stoupa
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kolokotronis
Hotel Kolokotronis
#1 of 37 in Stoupa
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kastro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kastro

Property: Hotel Kastro
Address: Messinias Peloponnese, Stoupa 24024, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Stoupa
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stoupa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kastro 2*
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing