We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a shame we love Stoupa”
Review of Hotel Kastro

Hotel Kastro
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stoupa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Kastro
Ranked #4 of 7 Stoupa B&B and Inns
Paignton, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“what a shame we love Stoupa”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

What a shame that The Hotel Kastro did not live up to expectations ,it looks so nice and we have visited Stoupa many times and thought it would be nice to stay there ,as it is right opposite the beach ,
First the the good bits ,room cleaned towels changed every day ,All staff and owners very polite, all areas very clean.
The room was very small, the door to the tiny balcony hit the bed when you opened it ,the balcony was on the ground floor the out look from rooms 2 and 3 was a bank of dense shrubs about 8 ft away and the drains so there were lots of mossys at dusk ,
My husband asked if we could be moved to a different room as I was badly bitten but was told that was not possible so they gave us mossy coils to light
But breakfast same every day no choice 2 pieces of toast, butter,honey, strawberry marmalade,coffee.or tea with two tiny sealed pots of milk,and one square of processed cheese, a glass of orange squash and to top it all a glass of water ,some people had boiled eggs so I asked could I please have an egg instead of the horrid cheese I was told that each egg cost one euro ,well even a cheap b&b provide a nice breakfast with choices for breakfast
Sun beds
cost five euros a day each putting the cost up even more, all the sea front bars and eataries provide sun beds free if you buy just one drink ,so we didn't use the Kastros sun beds
We will not be staying at the Kasro hotel again ,we will be staying elsewhere in Stoupa

Room Tip: top rooms not so many mossys good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    9
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The hotel is very clean. Sheets are changed every two days and towels everyday. The room is cleaned every day.

Situated in front of the seaside, it has 4 sea-view rooms with splendid view.

The breakfast offered has two toasted slices of bread, one slice of toast cheese, two small butters, one small honey and one small strawberry marmelade along with a glass of orange juice (not fresh) and a cup of coffee. They call this european breakfast! Of course, one can order other food but they will have to pay extra.

Paraskevas, the owner is very polite. Georgia, his sister cleaning the rooms is also very polite. Lata, the lady preparing breakfast and cleaning the hotel and the rooms is also extremely polite. Korinna, the late shift receptionist is also very polite. Unfortunately, the same cannot be said for Sokratis, the guy serving breakfast and the morning receptionist. He is the reason why i did not check 4 stars. For this profession one NEEDS to be polite. He was exactly the opposite.

There is a receptionist until 22:00.

There is very easy access to a super market, bars, resaturants. You do not need a car for those. If you want to buy more, there is a super market which is on the main road which is 10-15 minutes walking distance. Close to that super market there is a pharmacy.

I think i was quite detailed. Kastro hotel is worth it but Sokratis spoiled it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vtol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, UK
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I have thought long and hard about writing this review as it is so lovey here - I don't want it to be ruined by loads of people going there!
Stoupa is so small and 'Greek' and unspoilt. It has to be the most relaxing place I have ever visited. It is a strange drop off if you have not been before as you have to have a short walk from the coach to the hotel. The road is too small for a coach to go down.
The Kastro is welcoming small and the location could not be bettered. We paid a little extra for a sea view (glad we did - well worth it). We were warned that it might be too hot but it was fine - given that we had air con.
Breakfast is continental and no choice but you can pay extra if you want more. We found it fine and it was served by the charming Socrates.
We would recommend the walk to the next village, Agios Nikolaos or catching the bus to Kardamili.
I am not a confident swimmer but there was no stopping me there - kayaks the lot!
We ate at a difference place each night and never had a bad one (even though I am vegetarian)
If we had to gripe it would be that you have to pay extra for sun loungers on the beach. That said we will definitely be going back and we have always said the the world is too big to go to the same place twice - We will make an exception in Stoupa's case!

Room Tip: Go for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank willyNuneaton_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Wow...right across the street from the beautiful beach. Very clean room and very comfortable!! Great little balcony off the room. Breakfast was a little on the skimpy side...just 2 slices of toast and some cheese, juice and coffee (enough for me) , but for those who want more, there are plenty of cafes and restaurant to go to. Loved it there and would stay there again!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank goldy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed for one week at the Kastro and had a fantastic stay in a prime location. Our room had a sea view which was gorgeous and it was very, very clean. Although the breakfast was simple that suited us and we liked the fact that the hotel was run by a family. We felt very welcome and came back to the hotel to play cards alongside the owners on a couple of nights. We would recommend the hotel to anyone coming to Stoupa.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

stayed at george apts year before but found eat mostly at kastro and position great so stayed georges apts v good to will review just myself and wife daughter away with school restraunt was open when we there so food good heard its closed now but the house wine and food was v good shame closed lots of good eating houses around though

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Very friendly and helpful hotel. Although we didn't have a sea view, we had an excellent clean room with balcony (useful drying area and small washing line!) but, unusually no hairdryer, which I didn't discover till I came out of the shower. Comfortable beds. Only grumble was very poor breakfast - no fresh juice or bread, just sliced, and lukewarm coffee. Excellent restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wrinklie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stoupa hotels
0.0 mi away
Lefktron Hotel
Lefktron Hotel
#1 of 9 in Stoupa
186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Apartments Kleopatra
0.0 mi away
Anaxo Resort
Anaxo Resort
#2 of 9 in Stoupa
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Olympia Villas
Olympia Villas
#7 of 9 in Stoupa
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kalogria Beach Hotel
Kalogria Beach Hotel
#1 of 7 in Stoupa
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kolokotronis
Hotel Kolokotronis
#1 of 37 in Stoupa
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kastro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kastro

Property: Hotel Kastro
Address: Messinias Peloponnese, Stoupa 24024, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Stoupa
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stoupa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kastro 2*
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing