We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend”
Review of Akrotiri tis Stoupas Restaurant - CLOSED

Akrotiri tis Stoupas Restaurant
Cuisines: Greek, Pizza, Grill
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Benefitting from excellent location this taverna serves very good food. House salad makes for a refreshing wholesome lunch. Chicken souvlaki portions very generous. Staff exceptionally pleasant .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doraexplorah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Βέρα Α, Manager at Akrotiri tis Stoupas Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Doraexplorah,

We very much appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back again to our beautiful property.

With best regards Arapis Vasileios&Georgia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    16
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“The best food”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We found that most restaurants in Stoupa have very similar menus, calamari, stifado and the like. Here is the one place that is really different in what it offers. Pork loin in barbecue sauce is to die for and is pork Diane. And it is brilliant that when you are given the menu you also receive a photo album showing what the various different dishes look like. The photos are accurate!.
Portions are generous and the quality would grace any restaurant.
It is a bonus that you are sitting by the sea with the best view in town of the sun setting over the sea.
This was definitely our favourite restaurant in Stoupa.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Trogblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Βέρα Α, Manager at Akrotiri tis Stoupas Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Trogblade,

Thank you for your nice comments. We are happy that you had an enjoyable dinner with us and we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.
With best regards Arapis Vasileios&Georgia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic food in a great location”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Akrotiri has to be one of my favourite tavernas in Stoupa. It is in a superb location at the far end of Stoupa and has lovely views. I say far end of Stoupa but it is only a short walking distance from the beach. The staff are very friendly and helpful. It has a great menu with many traditional Greek dishes. This is an ideal taverna in which to have a relaxing meze under the shade while you enjoy the views or to visit in the evening and enjoy watching the sunset. We went to Akrotiri for lunch and dinner and each time was a pleasurable dining experience. The menu is very reasonably priced and the quality of food makes it good value. It is difficult to single out a particular dish but I thoroughly enjoyed the shrimp saganaki and the calamari was light and tender. Do give this taverna a try when you are in Stoupa, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Despina1002014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Βέρα Α, Manager at Akrotiri tis Stoupas Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Despina1002014,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments . I am delighted that you had an amazing time and I hope to welcome you in the near future .Best regards Arapis Vasileios&Georgia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

On all our visits to Stoupa we have to visit this taverna, if only for the position. Where else could you find such a view of Stoupa and the sunset. In fact, we call this sunset taverna, not akrotiri!
I had the lamb chops and my husband had a steak with sauce. Both meals were very good. We shall be back again next year!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Beryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Βέρα Α, Manager at Akrotiri tis Stoupas Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Beryl S,
Thank you so much for your kind words!! we are so happy that you enjoyed the food,sunset and generally the position of Akrotiri restaurant and we hope to welcome you back!!
Best reagards Arapis Vasilieios&Georgia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“so pleased we found this Taverna!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We visited Stoupa last year but did not get to the Akrotiri, and we felt we should try this year. SO PLEASED we did. The food is wonderful,really! One lunchtime time we strolled to the far end of Stoupa (past Gialos, & Halikoura Tavernas) & yes a great view, and found the staff/owners really friendly/polite, but the food superb. Had Meze type lunches (also went in the evening) & along with Greek Salads, the dishes we had included Kalamari which is now the best Kalamari i have tasted! So simple so nice. When you travel to Stoupa visit this taverna, Value for money-Great Views-Friendly Staff-Great Food-

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank petrosSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Βέρα Α, Manager at Akrotiri tis Stoupas Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear petrosSL,
We would like to thank you very much for your kind words!! we are looking forward to welcoming you and serving you again in the Akrotiri Restaurant!! Best regards Arapis Vasileios& Georgia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Akrotiri tis Stoupas Restaurant also viewed

Stoupa, Messenia Region
Stoupa, Messenia Region
 
Stoupa, Messenia Region
Stoupa, Messenia Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing