We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Residence Cap Azur
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fouesnant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2013

we have used Pierre &Vacances before four time and were happy, this time we found the staff unhelpful, this time we appeared to have to pay for things like towels, the safe in the room, WiFi, making up the beds,


Room Tip: the rooms were a good size and beds were comfortable but on our arrival to the place we did not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
2  Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

This was a second visit to the Residence by members of our family and the reason for returning was the memory of the wonderful, sandy beach and a lovely tidal harbour that this little bit of paradise on the Finisterre coast has to offer. Cap Coz was better than the memory, especially as we were blessed with a sequence of crystal clear, sunny days only rarely punctuated by light showers.

The Residence itself is beautifully situated across the road from the beach and round the corner from the harbour. There are lovely walks in both directions from the doorstep and a range of eating places from cheap and cheerful to self-consciously up market within a couple of hundred metres. I have to admit that several of the members of our party rarely left the premises, being content to enjoy the sunshine by the pool.

The apartments are bright and cheerily decorated although a little on the threadbare side in one or two areas. The five of us managed well in a seven berth duplex but two more would have been a little awkward. The kitchen area with its restricting breakfast bar arrangement was the centre of regular chaos as it allowed only one person to actually work on food production or dish washing and stacking at any one time.

While we were there, the weather was cool at night and sleeping wasn't a problem but in much warmer weather I would imagine the apartments could become somewhat stuffy. I had rather a mixed impression as to whether air conditioning was available but none seemed apparent in our place.

The niggles I refer to were small, but irritating nonetheless.

Firstly, the Residence only allows clients to enter their apartments at 5 in the afternoon. Since one has to leave at 10 on the last day, this takes a sizeable chunk out of a stay and means that one is left, after a journey from the port having to wait to empty the car, settle in and so on. Given that the cleaning staff do not make beds and have a pretty easy cleaning task to perform otherwise, this suggests to me that P and V aren't employing enough of them. Being told that it was "not possible" to park in the Residence until rooms were accessible rather took the gloss off the arrival.

I knew that the Residence charged for a restricted WiFi service before I turned up and decided not to pay on the principle that, for the money we were paying, asking for cash for WiFi was just taking the mickey. I was not aware, however, that the safe in our room was going to cost me 10 euros to use and the fact that I was asked to pay for it rather summed up the penny pinching impression given on arrival. Having said that, after an unpromising start, the staff were uniformly efficient and pleasant.

For those wishing to use WiFi, by the way, the Le Clerc supermarket nearby has an excellent free service.

These little inconveniences pale into nothing when set against the charm and beauty of Cap Coz. There's something for everyone here: extensive and varied water sporting opportunities, beach lazing, walking, fishing, eating or just sitting and watching the tide. If it had rained, one would have needed some imagination and a few car trips to fill the days, but the sun shone and it was wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank retiredstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed 3 nights during the half term holidays in May 2013. We booked a 2 bedroom apartment. Our 2 boys had one room and we had one that was up a staircase above the other rooms. It had a balcony facing the sea. The apartment was plenty big enough for us. It was clean and in good condition. Only a handful of the apartments were occupied and the whole place was very quiet. The pool was nice but a only about 20 celcius so a bit cold. There is no restaurant at the apartments but you can pre-book bread and croissants from a local shop to pick up from reception in the morning. The receptionist was very helpful. There are 4-5 restaurants within walking distance. A great one with the kids is the crepes place. We tried 2 others The Belle Vue (fairly upmarket and fine) and the one on the beach near the creperie which was cheaper but pretty ordinary.

A road runs in front of the apartments but it's very quiet. The beach is just across the road and the sea there is calm, being in a large, sheltered bay. So windsurfing, etc are easier for novices than elsewhere.

A couple of tips if you go there:
There are table tennis tables but you can't hire bats and balls. You can buy them but better to bring some with you. Bring towels - you can hire them but they are expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank timbonius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Had originally booked for one night on return from South West France, but ended up there a day early and so glad we changed plans. Cap Coz is a gorgeous little beach and the PV residence sits right across the road (it's a quiet road), absolutely perfect.
It was quiet given the time of year, so we had no disturbance and for the most part had the pool to ourselves. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the apartment was very clean and well equipped. A family of 5, we found the apartment to be a good size (2 bedroom). I'd certainly recommend families with small children to ask for a ground floor apartment, this gave our kids easy access to play in the garden which extends from the apartments patio. Even from the ground floor we still had a view of the sea beyond the pool (which is secure).
We'll be returning to the area and this is one place i'd be more than happy to stay at again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dodie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Having used P&V residences throughout France before this one did not disappoint. The reception staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The location was perfect-opposite the beach and very quiet and relaxing. Would stay again if in the area,

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We had a very pleasant stay here in the middle of August when you might have expected it to feel crowded and noisy. It didn't - there was no noise from neighbouring apartments and none to disturb you from the small road between the Residence and the beach.

Make sure you advise Reception if you will be arriving outside their opening hours as you will need the code to the safe outside to collect your keys. Parking is convenient as you have your own dedicated space allocated to your apartment. There was plenty of space in bike racks.

Our apartment was up 2 flights of outdoor stairs - not easy when you arrive and leave with all your clobber! Think we would have been better off with ground-floor accommodation if we had taken the dog, which was an option.

Apartments have a nice beachy feel with hard floors throughout. The kitchenette area in ours (A25) was small and there's no socket to plug the kettle into. We had to put it on the floor. Cooking without a proper oven was a bit of a challenge - you have 4 hotplates and a microwave with a grill function. But otherwise - comfy beds, clean bedding, excellent showers. Balconies are cheek by jowl but on this top floor we had an attractive view across the pool and landscaped area to pine trees and the beach beyond. Fairly steep stairs to double bedroom and bathroom but another bathroom on the ground floor was very useful. Cool and airy upstairs with velux skylights.

One of the sofas in the living area converts into a single and pull-out bed.

Pool was a bit chilly but fine on a warm day. Sea was very warm - plenty of seaweed on this beach but just beyond it the sea was lovely for bathing. There are some water sport options for hire from the beach - kayak, stand-up paddle etc. and an ice cream/snack bar.

Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. There is tea and coffee available there free of charge during opening hours. Slight drawback: if you need Internet access, the wifi you can buy (16 Euros for a week) is only available in Reception or just outside so if Reception is closed, you have to sit on the steps outside with your device!

Top tip: although there are 2 outdoor table tennis tables, you have to buy the bats and ball so take your own if you have them.

We found the nearest town, Fouesnant, a bit 'dead' but Foret Fouesnant was better and there's a nice walk to there from Cap Coz. Concarneau Is worth a visit. Quimper is lovely. Benodet is pleasant but heavy on the Brits!

Other local beaches like Mousterlin and Beg Meil are good. Pointe de la Torche is best for body-boarding or surfing.

We are fans of Pierre et Vacances residences (see review of Les Bergers ski apartments in l'Alpe d'Huez) as they have a nice French feel and noise has never been a problem. We've also enjoyed their residence at Le Touquet.

But back to Cap Azur - we would definitely return. And you can't say fairer than that.

Room Tip: All face in direction of sea. Just depends if you want ground floor with small grassed area or firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellenbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Wow, travelling down for a camping holiday with 2 kids on July, we stopped off here for 2 nights looking for a relaxing kick start to our holiday and came across this real gem. Accomodation was modern, clean and with a real no fuss and helpfull attitude from staff we had a wonderful stay. Beach right across the road and a nice safe pool for the kids. Rooms were a little pricy even for this time of year but all in all a great location with beautiful villages, cafes and markets close by it makes for a great stop off point. This area of the country has beautiful beaches and walking areas. Well recommend.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank Smiggsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fouesnant
0.1 mi away
Mona Lisa Cap Coz
Mona Lisa Cap Coz
#5 of 7 in Fouesnant
252 reviews
5.9 mi away
Le Cornouaille Hotel
Le Cornouaille Hotel
#1 of 11 in Benodet
114 reviews
2.5 mi away
Thalasso Concarneau Spa Marin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Les Sables Blancs
Les Sables Blancs
#2 of 10 in Concarneau
582 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel de la Pointe de Mousterlin
1.3 mi away
Hotel l'Oree du Bois
Hotel l'Oree du Bois
#6 of 7 in Fouesnant
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence Cap Azur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence Cap Azur

Address: 93 avenue de la Pointe du Cap Coz | Cap Coz, 29170, Fouesnant, France
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Fouesnant
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fouesnant
Price Range: £53 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence Cap Azur 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence Cap Azur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre & Vacances Residence Cap Azur Fouesnant, Brittany, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing