We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Raising the standard for B&B's.”
Review of Chateau Valcreuse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Roche-Posay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau Valcreuse
Certificate of Excellence
Schoten, Belgium
1 review
“Raising the standard for B&B's.”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Although B&B are not our cup of tea friends advised us to settle in a few days in Chateau Valcreuse and wander around the countryside. We experienced a wonderfull mid week in this small castle which felt like coming home. We really enjoyed the hospitality of this Belgian couple in France. No hassle, no obligations to other residents just relax and be overwhelmed by this beautifull region and this superb location. Even if you don't want to visit the surroundings the stay in the chateau itself is worth the destination More than 100% value for money. Put it on your to do list.

Room Tip: 3 rooms have a spectacular view over the valley and the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
52
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We could only stay one night in this beautifully maintained and stunningly decorated chateau on our way through the Loire area. We have stayed in many chateaux on our travels through France on previous trips and this is the very best we've encountered. Caroline and Alexander and their fabulous team treated us like family friends and we felt very cossetted indeed! We shared a 4-course dinner which was magnificent, went for a ramble through the beautiful gardens and orchard and visited the old town of Le Roche-Posay, just a 10-minute walk away. We can absolutely recommend this wonderful chateau. Thanks again, everyone, from Lee and Gary.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherpa200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schoten, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

The rooms are very beautiful, with a fabulous atmosphere. Breakfast outside with a beautiful view. Dinner at night under the trees. The chateau is walking distance to the village. The garden is beautiful and quiet. Kids love the pool, the swing, ping pong table,...
Alexander, Caroline and their team are wonderful hosts with an eye for every detail. Every object in the castle is carefuly selected. Alexander even hand picks the music playing in the background.
PS: use the pick-nick basket, they will fill it for you!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mvanimpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Affligem, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We had a wonderful 2 weeks stay in Chateau Valcreuse: luxury accomodation, excellent breakfast and dinners in the garden with beautiful views. Service is from a top level. Also our children had a great time thanks to the childfriendly approach and facilities.
An absolute juwel in the beautiful Loire valley of France.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iris_bruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BELGIUM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Woowww, I have visited the area of la Roche Posay which is really wonderful! It is not so deap in France, not so South oriented but the Provence feeling was absolute there! What a beautiful surrounding + you have there the best of all France together, the castles, the sun flower fields, the good resto's, the nice sweet villages in pastel colours painted, sweet markets with local products and the cherise on the cake I had was my stay during that travel in Chateau Valcreuse! What a beautiful B&B. I felt like a Princess and more! The interior was really with so much taste! The evening diner by Chef Denis was amazing. The domain of the Chateau was so relaxing, beautiful and the team working their with on top the host couple was so providing you a 'home-sweet-home-feeling'.
I will come back there for sure!

Helpful?
2 Thank Katty007Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Roche-Posay
0.4 mi away
Les Loges du Parc
Les Loges du Parc
#1 of 7 in La Roche-Posay
149 reviews
2.8 mi away
Relais De La Mothe
Relais De La Mothe
#1 of 1 in Yzeures-sur-Creuse
168 reviews
11.7 mi away
Le Pigeonnier du Perron
Le Pigeonnier du Perron
#1 of 1 in Availles-en-Chatellerault
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Clos Paille
Le Clos Paille
#2 of 7 in La Roche-Posay
39 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Vigne
Hotel Restaurant La Vigne
#4 of 7 in La Roche-Posay
33 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint Roch
Hotel Saint Roch
#6 of 7 in La Roche-Posay
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Valcreuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Valcreuse

Property: Chateau Valcreuse
Address: 2 route de Lesigny, 86270 La Roche-Posay, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > La Roche-Posay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in La Roche-Posay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the side of the wooded valley that cradles the river Creuse, Château Valcreuse boasts stunning views across miles of hilly, green countryside around La Roche Posay in the Vienne. Such a setting is enough to bring peace-loving visitors flocking to the area, yet those who have the good fortune to stay at Château Valcreuse can be assured that these wonderful surroundings are far from being the only aspect they will love about their visit. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing