We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love This Place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deshaies
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tendacayou Ecolodge & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Love This Place!”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Tendacayou twice and can't wait to return in May '13. The bungalows are amazingly created and crafted, the views are spectacular, and the restaurant is excellent. Everything is open-air, and there's no air conditioning in the bungalows, but the altitude and breezes make it very comfortable. Nobody speaks English there, but if you can get past that, it's a wonderful, although fairly expensive, experience. We have not used the spa. It has been more than a year since our last visit.

Room Tip: We've stayed both times in Mamoune...you can see it on their Web site, of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonannie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tendacayou971, Responsable commercial at Tendacayou Ecolodge & Spa, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Google Translation
Chers clients,
Merci d'avoir partagé votre expérience Tendacayou.
Il est dommage que vous n'ayez pas profité du spa car il est le bijou de l'habitation, dans la continuité des bungalows.
Nous sommes plusieurs à parler anglais, mais pas tous encore.
Nous vous recevrons à nouveau avec plaisir, et en anglais !

Dear Customers,Dear customers,
Thank you for having shared your Tendacayou experience.
It's a pity that you did not take advantage of the spa, it is the jewel of the house.
We are several to speak English, but not all still.
We shall receive you again with pleasure, and in English!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    68
    19
    11
    5
See reviews for
40
145
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St Barthelemy, FWI
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

A beautiful tropical setting, with adorable doll houses, some up in the trees, some bright and colorfull on the ground. The decoration is ecclectic and suprising but it all comes together beautifully. U have to love nature to sleep there, because it feels as if you were sleeping with the birds. We felt like kids again, having to cross a little bridge to go to the bathroom at night to our other cabana. It sounds rustic but its very comfortable, has nice beds, bath robes, etc...
I thought it was missing products in the bathroom, it was actually surprising especially because they have a spa.
The restaurant was great, really excellent and I didnt think expensive especially when u know that there are absolutely no other restaurant that are even ok in the area, so yes they are cheaper but they are really more like snacks.
The breakfast was nice, with eggs, and cheese and French pastries etc...
One evening a cold dinner was delivered to our room, really healthy and good, loved it.
The spa is pretty as well, exotic with lush tropical plants and woods terrasses.
One night was noisy, they upgraded us to a bungalow further because they had planned an annual staff party, and honnestly that really bothered us, we called a few times to complain.
The place is usually super quiet and they were so nice the next day so we forgave them easily but still I think its unacceptable. Good thing is its only once a year.....We love the place so much that we want to go back, we dream about it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knokke-Heist, België
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We did not stay in the hotel Tendacayou, but had dinner twice in the restaurant La Poisson Rouge, and me and my wife both enjoyed a spa treatment.

We had dinner there twice in a row, on friday and saturday (pitty they were not open every day, but that's a choice we respect)... It was very good, one of the best meals we had when we visited Guadeloupe, the only comment I could give is that the menu only had 2 appetizers and 2 main courses to choose from and the 2 main courses were exactly the same the on friday and saturday, so we did not have much choice...

The spa is superb, we do alot of spa's & massages when on holiday and I must say this is one of the most extraordinary spas we have seen when travelling around, and the massage itself was superb as well. They have this whole installation you can enjoy after the massage, a must if you ever get the chance to visit this resort.

The whole resort is quite expensive (I don't know the prices for staying there), but visiting the spa and having dinner in the restaurant really is worth the money. Try to visit the spa during the day as the views are incredible.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christophe00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Tendacayou is one of the very-few very-special spots, in Guadeloupe and elsewhere in the world. Their website shows very well the incredible creativity and fun the owners must have had in building a place full of vibrant colors, hidden corners and surprising decorations.

It seems like they spent years on the sea bottom recovering an stunning mix of fishing gear, Uanchors, shells, rope, steering wheels, and turning all of this into a very humoristic hotel. One thing is sure, you will not lightly nor quickly forget your stay. We stayed in the villa Pauline bungalow, it's like sleeping in a colour book.

That being said, some comments to put the above into perspective.
- you will need a rental car to get there. The view is stunning, high in the mountains above Deshaies, and involves a paved but very steep road to get there.
- the service in the hotel is somewhat " distant". Three times during our stay, we could reach no one, neither at the reception nor in the (closed) bar; and there is no phone in the rooms to call someone. Breakfast service is OK, expect to be joined by at least a hundred birds who have learned to appreciate the leftovers. Fun to see!
- the rooms are more cabana-style, and in the middle of lush tropical plants. The room is separated from the (superb) outdoor shower by a simple curtain, so in the middle of the night, the wind can come rushing in. I recommend to bring a mosquito repellent and insecticide spray with you, unless you like uninvited company ( the mosquito nets do not work all that well). And the quality of the beds is fair, but nothing more.
- we did not eat in the restaurant. Prices were substantially higher than downtown ( we had two very nice meals at the Hemingway restaurant). The Tendacayou restaurant was also closed most of the five nights we stayed there.
- the spa on the top floor is gorgeous, both for its never-ending terrace as the variety of baths
- Generally, we found Guadeloupe hotels to be pricey; and if you want to enjoy the experience, speak or understand some french

Room Tip: Villa Pauline is close to the (nice but) small swimming pool; other hotel guests have to pass at you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelPige0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2009

Beautiful view; very sweet cabin ('yes papa'). Fantastic dinner on Saturday night (only evening they serve dinner => book well in advance). The room is basically open to the nature and we spent all day on the balcony when we were in the hotel... strictly speaking it' s not a hotel but much more a holiday apartment (small kitchen). No breakfast served and the linen wasn't replaced (which can be a bit uncomfortable after a few days...).You definitely need a car to get there! Great experience for a few days but not for a longer stay.

  • Liked — The stunning view and the balcony
  • Disliked — No change of bed linen
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pierre_Corinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deshaies
2.0 mi away
Le Rayon Vert
Le Rayon Vert
#2 of 3 in Deshaies
439 reviews
19.7 mi away
La Creole Beach Hotel
La Creole Beach Hotel
#1 of 23 in Le Gosier
1,316 reviews
23.7 mi away
Le Jardin Malanga
Le Jardin Malanga
#1 of 3 in Trois Rivieres
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Auberge de la Vieille Tour
Auberge de la Vieille Tour
#5 of 23 in Le Gosier
472 reviews
0.9 mi away
Au Jardin des Colibris
Au Jardin des Colibris
#2 of 29 in Deshaies
870 reviews
3.0 mi away
Langley Resort Hotel Fort Royal Guadeloupe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tendacayou Ecolodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tendacayou Ecolodge & Spa

Property: Tendacayou Ecolodge & Spa
Address: Chemin Matouba, Deshaies 97126, Guadeloupe
Region: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Basse-Terre Island > Deshaies
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Deshaies
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The natural beauty of the island, the pristine nature and protected from Basse-Terre, the rainforest of Morne Bois d'Inde , the view of the Caribbean ... . On this exceptional site stands Tendacayou our Ecolodge , a real homecoming. No TV , no phone in the home , just birdsong . A total disconnection without pollution ! We want to give our guests the opportunity to live a Guadeloupe otherwise, to discover the hidden treasures of the Caribbean island, to stay in an area of ​​exception in harmony with nature , combining ecology, comfort and chic. On site: an organic food restaurant and a wilderness spa ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Habitation Tendacayou Deshaies
Tendacayou Ecolodge & Spa Guadeloupe/Deshaies

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing