We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, laid back place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Habitation Grande Anse
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great, laid back place to stay”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Stayed in one of a studio grand large here for four nights. It was a great stay and totally met our needs! The grounds are beautiful here and the rooms are spread out up and along the hill on which HGA is situated. The room was comfortable with a nice large bathroom. The room included bunkbeds for children, which we did not use. The patio overlooking the hotel's grounds was great and the kitchen looked very good for anyone who wishes to eat in. HGA's front desk staff was extremely friendly and attentive, answering all of our questions in either French or English (whichever we preferred) and ensuring that our stay was a comfortable one. It's not the height of luxury, but it's a great home base for anyone looking for a well-situated, clean, quiet and quality place in Deshaies. Grand Anse beach is located just across the road from HGA, so that is a big plus as well! AC in the room was welcomed; however, guests should note that room service is only once a week here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scubafan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    196
    55
    12
    4
See reviews for
89
221
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

My husband and I stayed here for the first few days of our Gaudeloupe vacation. We found the hotel to be basic, clean, comfortable and enjoyable. The outdoor kitchen was great and the bathroom seemed to have been newly remodeled. The room was small and a little dark, but comfortable overall. Closeby is Grande Anse Beach, some great restaurants, the Rhum Museum and there is scuba diving about a half hour away. When we were there it was very quiet even though it was the holiday and there was some English spoken which was not that common in Guadeloupe. On our way from the airport we stopped at the Price Leader supermarket in St. Rose which was much better than the markets we found right around the hotel. The cocktails were great, but we did not eat at the hotel during our stay.

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SMcLearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manitoba,canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

I have read through other reviews and have chosen to go here because of them. I felt very much welcomed and at home here. No frills and staff serving you at every turn. We enjoy the "do it yourself" vacations. Rent a car and explore the islands. It is much cheaper and driving is very easy here. You can hit alot of beaches and go at your own pace.
The kitchenette is handy. With food allergies there is no worry. The grounds are small but you go to see the country not the hotel ,Right? Some must see spots are La Grande Soufrière ( an active volcano that you can climb ),Chutes du Carbet , Cascade aux Ecrevisses ( water falls) are a couple. Surf the net and learn abit of french to make the most of your holiday. One really great resaraunt is south of HGA until you hit the round about then go inland a couple hundred yards. On the left is a small place called carib passion( i think).Food there is simple and good and ask for a rum punch. Ask them to show you how to make it.
Your vacation is what you make it ,get out and see the country.It's great and everyone is so friendly.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank buchberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

We had a wonderful, sunny week in Guadaloupe in November 2008. The Habitation Grande Anse hotel served as a perfect home base for our daily trips since it was well kept, safe and cosy choice with a beautiful garden. We had the chance to cook ourselves in the room, but we rather enjoyed the breakfast served at the hotel restaurant. The staff was always friendly and able to serve us also in English. We liked the pool (very clean) but also one of the beaches is close. If you wish to exlore more the town, other beaches or night life, then it is better to rent a car. I understood the hotel has several room options from two persons' rooms to big groups or families. We enjoyed our stay and I can easily recommend the place!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lomamieli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2009

Many reviews liked Habitation Grand Anse. It just wasn't what we were looking for. Our initial room was dark and dank with an "outdoor space" just about big enough for two chairs. We asked for a new room and were given a room less dark and less dank with a slightly larger outdoor space. Since it was too late to search for another hotel we took this room and made do. Sleeping was difficult as the walls were paper thin. Our next door neighbors had a young child who did the things young children do, but they might as well have been in our room. Another reviewer marked this hotel as good for honeymooners...I can only be thankful that we didn't have honeymooners next to us. Although 300m from the beautiful Grand Anse beach, HGA is on the other side of the "highway" and as the wind blows from offshore, all the trafic noise floats up the HGA property. Many people will be happy here, but we moved after two nights, paying another night's cancellation charge. No regrets.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DonatoT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2008

I must say we visited this hotel in low season, so maybe that's why we didn't really bond with this hotel... Also, we are divers and this hotel is just a bit too far from the main dive site at Bouillante (Plage de Malendur), so it took us half an hour way and half an hour back... With the AVERAGE rating, also take into account that we have seen many hotels, including very luxurious. HGA IS a nice place to stay, but not to be compared to All Inclusive Riu's or Iberostars! So, if that's what you want, don't go there, and better, don't go to Gwadloup, because you won't find it there!

The hotel is not really a hotel, but more a collection of self catered bungalows. The rooms are spacious, but after a stay in the Vieille Tour, the beds were a bit hard. However, that didn't keep us up at night and we slept fine! The rooms are clean and provide everything you need, including an aircon which keeps the rooms fairly cool. Yes, the interior is a bit dated, but still charming. the outside terrace is a real plus!

The pool is nice and is cleaned every morning. Also the surrounding areas look well taken care of. The breakfast was good (bit expensive), except for the last day (sunday) when it wasn't as fresh as the other two days! Plenty of opportunities to have breakfast somewhere else though (or stack your own, as the fridge does work properly)!

The restaurant was closed for most of our stay, but after opening we decided we wanted to have one night of lobster. We asked the owner if he knew a place where to get it and he offered to cook us the lobster there. They didn't overprice and the lonster was delicious!

For people who wanna go to the beach, the mammal park, the gardens in DesHaies, it is a great place to stay. For people who wanna dive every day, like we do (and like a drink afterwards) it is a bit too far!

If you dive, dive with CIP in Bouillante, Plage de Malendure!!! They are the best!

  • Liked — Outside terrace and fully equipped kitchen
  • Disliked — Beds and the fact that WIFI didn't work on my Mac :-(
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ArtikalGial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2008

A couple friends and I stayed here for 4 days in mid February. We were pleasantly surprised at how wonderful it was for the price. I wouldn't call it luxury, but the rooms were spacious and cool, with great views day and night.
The gardens are lush and immaculate.
Proximity to the beach is excellent.
The restaurant (Le Papillion) had a varying menu with a seemingly accomplished and very friendly Chef.
Not a lot of nightlife nearby, so keep that in mind... go somewhere else if you're looking to be near town.
Not a lot of Americans, but most of the staff speaks English and are quite helpful. They even made what seemed like a zillion phone calls to find us a car to rent for a day trip.
The only neative aspect for us was that it seems to be popular with families... there were quite a few children there, and seems like there were always kids in the pool. I suppose I would view this as a pro, if I was traveling with children.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — lots of kids
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mjskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deshaies
3.1 mi away
Le Rayon Vert
Le Rayon Vert
#1 of 2 in Deshaies
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
20.1 mi away
La Creole Beach Hotel
La Creole Beach Hotel
#1 of 23 in Le Gosier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
20.0 mi away
La Maison Creole
La Maison Creole
#3 of 23 in Le Gosier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Hotel Fleur d'Epee
Hotel Fleur d'Epee
#2 of 23 in Le Gosier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
24.9 mi away
Le Jardin Malanga
Le Jardin Malanga
#1 of 3 in Trois Rivieres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.7 mi away
Langley Resort Hotel Fort Royal Guadeloupe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habitation Grande Anse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habitation Grande Anse

Property: Habitation Grande Anse
Address: 30 Ziotte, Deshaies 97126, Guadeloupe
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Basse-Terre Island > Deshaies
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Deshaies
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Habitation Grande Anse 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Habitation Grande Anse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habitation Grande Anse Deshaies
Habitation Grande Anse Hotel Deshaies
Habitation Grande Anse Guadeloupe/Deshaies

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing