We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the views and hospitality”
Review of Le Rayon Vert

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Rayon Vert
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Deshaies
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2008

We were two American couples with our first time visit to Guadeloupe and found this resort to be all the website promised. Very clean, beautiful grounds, exceptional infinity pool and view. We enjoyed the restaurant at the resort and highly recommend the lobster! Our friends were competent in French which helped alot in asking Q's to the owners. We didnot experience a mosquito problem, but since the resort is on the rain forest side of the island, be prepared for rain showers nearly daily. Nearby Deshaies is a wonderful village with great places to eat and shop. We did not see the Green Flash, but the sunsets are beautiful. We highly recommend this resort. Yes, it is l60 euros/nite and due to our weak dollar that does mean it costs over $200/ nite, but it is worth it in our eyes. Only drawback for us was it is not on the seaside directly.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ginko1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2008

The Rayon Vert is an excellent choice for a relaxing, romantic vacation. In the Northwest corner of Basse Terre (Guadeloupe), it is overlooks the Caribbean. The cottages are spaceous and each has its own private patio.
The pool is large and beautiful. As you swim, it seems as if you are in the Caribbean.
The restaurant was great too.
My husband and I had a wonderful time and were sorry to leave.
Don't miss the nearby Botanical Gardens. They were terrific.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2008

We stayed at the hotel Rayon Vert earlier this week.

GOOD:The hotel had a nice pool, great views and their included breakfast was quite good. When I say 'quite good', I mean that it included eggs, fresh fruit and yogourt whereas at some hotels in Guadeloupe, it's coffee and 2 small croissants. The rooms were clean, the bathroom large and there was a fridge. The staff were efficient but not particularly friendly.

BAD: The bed was the worst we've had at a hotel at this price and the price of this hotel is nowhere near $87., it is 160 euros a night...closer to $200. There are two patio doors on either side of the room but you can't open them because there are no screens. The cabanas are set into a hill side with a great view of the ocean on one side and a great view into the cabana from further up the hill on the other side! Keeping those curtains closed greatly reduced the light inside. Other than that, there was one window in the bathroom and it also had no screen. You could not shut that window properly because it only had shutters. There were lots of mosquitos. This is more than just annoying as there are signs up at the airport in Pointe a Pitre when you arrived that indicate Guadeloupe has Dengue fever.

Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
9  Thank CanadaSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2007

You feel a touch of Provence when you first enter,beautiful urns overflowing with trpocal foilage greet you.You feel like you have arrived!!Beyond the grand entrance you see this killer infinity pool melting into the horizon with couples lazily lounging drinking Rum Punch or the local T-punch.Down the hill was our private cottage 101 with yet another view of the crytal blue sea.A very cozy room with mahogany accents thur-out,huge tile bath with double vanity,huge walkin shower.Loved our room.Every morning we had a suffient breakfast of crossiants,scambled eggs,ham,fruit,etc.Enough till we ventured to find our next great meal.Most days we had lunch on the beach a Grand Anase.Our favorite resturant in the area was Cannon de Bains,it was a step up from most of the other resturants.If you want to dive or snorkel you must go with Blue Note in Deshairs.Enjoy as we did!!!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank lakenormandwellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2007

We chose a 2 centre holiday spending a week on Guadeloupe at Le Rayon Vert and another on Dominica at the Beau Rive. The contrast in islands is very marked, and despite the better roads etc on Guadeloupe the quiet, undeveloped and relatively unspoilt nature of Dominica scored for us. In particular we were not expecting some of the traffic jams we met at 0620 in the morning on the way back to the airport!

That being said we were very pleased with our choice of Le Rayon Vert. The management were extremely helpful, the hotel lovely and the pool one of the best we have come across with infinity views over the carribean. The bungalow was well furnished, clean and attractive and the views from the balcony lovely. Nearby Deshaises was one of the nicest towns on the island and had some reasonable restaurants to complement that at the hotel. All however tended to serve the same range of dishes which were fairly basic. Opposite the hotel however up a short drive is the Meltipot "Le Cuisine Metissee". This small restaurant is head and shoulders above every other restaurant we sampled in the vicinity. The meal was truly French with a choice of 5 meals for each course at very reasonable prices. All courses were well and freshly prepared and served individually by the owner/chef. We discovered this on the last night but wished we had on the first. An absolute must to visit. If staying on Basse Terre, Le Rayon Vert can be thoroughly recommended.

Stayed: February 2007
5  Thank gandang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
France
12
Reviewed 7 July 2006

Very good restaurant, extremely nice staff. The rooms are simple but well designed. We were in a "Bungalow" class room, which is meant to be upper class. The bathroom was unfortunately pretty simple, without a tub and with a very average appearance.
The view on the sea is wonderful, especially from the restaurant and from the pool.
The location of the hotel is excellent, in the quiet and wild part of the Guadeloupe, away from Pointe à Pitre and the bip hotels of Grande Terre.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for a honeymoon!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2005

We just returned from Guadeloupe (March 22-30, 2005). We stayed at Le Rayon Vert for 5 nights. It is a small hotel with about 18 bungalows over looking a beautiful bay. The hotel is well kept. The bar, dining and infinity pool area are stunning. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It was a great start to our wonderful Guadeloupe vacation! We definitely would recommend this hotel to our friends. In fact we would return in a second!

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank fsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deshaies
20.3 mi away
La Creole Beach Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
Caraib'Bay Hotel
Caraib'Bay Hotel
#1 of 3 in Deshaies
267 reviews
22.8 mi away
Le Jardin Malanga
Le Jardin Malanga
#1 of 3 in Trois Rivieres
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Hotel Fleur d'Epee
Hotel Fleur d'Epee
#2 of 23 in Le Gosier
857 reviews
6.7 mi away
Habitation du Comte
Habitation du Comte
#1 of 2 in Sainte Rose
86 reviews
20.7 mi away
Auberge de la Vieille Tour
Auberge de la Vieille Tour
#4 of 23 in Le Gosier
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Rayon Vert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Rayon Vert

Address: La Coque Ferry, Deshaies 97126, Guadeloupe
Region: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Basse-Terre Island > Deshaies
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Deshaies
Price Range: £136 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Rayon Vert 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Le Rayon Vert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Rayon Vert Deshaies
Le Rayon Vert Guadeloupe/Deshaies

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing