We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax and enjoy !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Au Jardin des Colibris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Terneuzen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to relax and enjoy !”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed a whole week in the mini-villa. Great place.
We enjoyed all aspects, the bungalow, the swimming pool, all the good tips provided, the snorkling gear that was provided, the laundry that was done, the complete kitchen, etc etc.

If we would have to mention something that was not good, we only could complain on the lengths of the beds. For us (tall Dutch people, 1.95meter) the beds were too short. But this was something we knew upfront, so not a good reason to complain. But this was really the only thing.

From this place you can drive to all important things to do on basse terre.

Room Tip: The mini villa is suitable for 4 to 6 persons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peetjeneetje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    94
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
333
434
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kolding, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed 14 days at Au Jardin les Colibris, Deshaires and it was 14 fantastic days in stunning surroundings. Matthieu and Co. did all they could to make our stay as comfortable as possible. They were helpful with everything and we really enjoyed our stay.
We were exploring the stunning island, and had seen and visited many interesting places. We would love to come back and visit the island again, and will of course stay with Matthieu and co at Au Jardin les Colbris, Deshaires, Guadeloupe

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomsenx10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed here for a week and it was one of our best holidays! Au Jardin des Colibris is an excellent place for relaxation; It is surrounded by woods and a beautiful garden. It is very convenient to visit all the attractions but away from the busy part of the Island, just perfect for families and couples looking for perfect holiday. Owners are very helpful and attentive; always present to give good advice. We would definitely go back and would highly recommend for any one.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Me and my wife spent a week in the Gite verte at Au Jardin des Colibris. We really loved the area. Nearby village Deshaies is charming. Suprisingly genuine with a lot of nice fish restaurants just by the sea. And nearby beaches Grand Anse and Perle are just beautiful. Long, clean and not crowded at all with stunning surroundings of mountains and rain forest. The accomodation suited us really well. Clean and nice. Good price compared to other places in the area. And we really appreciated sleeping in the middle of the tropical garden with colibris and other birds accompanying us on the front porch.

Owner Matthieu and his employee Sebastien were really great to us. They helped us set up all kinds of trips and excursions, lent us snorkelling equipment, gave us tips as to where we could find sea turtles etc. Great service and a very welcoming atmosphere!

The only thing that we felt we lacked at Au Jardin des colibris was a sea view. When living on a island, I want to be able to feel that the ocean is near. And also, we prefer to be able to get to restaurants and the ocean etc without having to have to move by car. Here we needed the car to go anywhere. But this, we noticed later on in our vacation in Guadeloupe, is the general case for Guadeloupe. You need a car to get around in the island no matter where you stay. But in spite of this we were very happy with our choice to stay at Au Jardin des colibris and I can really recommend it. You will get a nice and relaxing experience and get good value for your money. Thanks Matthieu and Sebastien!

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 weeks in the case creole for our honeymoon . We loved it! Our case was so cozy and romantic in the middle of beautifull garden, just perfect. The kitchenette had all the supplies we needed. The outside bathroom made showering an amazing experience. The hammock was a relaxing place to read or just to chill.
Sébastien and Mathieu were wonderfull hosts. They answered every question with kindness. They gave us the adresses of nice restaurants, made reservations, told us were to find turtles(and we saw a lot of them), gave good advice on wich walks to do, which waterfalls to visit, had discount tickets for parcs des mammelles, the boat to les saintes & le jardin botanique,...
They even set up a surprise from friends !
Deshaies is wonderfull cozy village to stay. Good restaurants, nice shops, beautifull sunsets, nice beaches,....
We found deshaies a good starting point to visit all the sightseeing in Basse Terre.
We will come back!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank p0ny0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My husband and I enjoyed 10 days in the tree house cabin - clean, roomy and peaceful with lovely breezes, birds and sounds of nature. Great hospitality from Matthieu and Sebastian - they were always available - from the reservation process to helping with shopping and dining recommendations. With our very limited French we had no trouble venturing out and communicating. We toured both sides of Guadeloupe and this area was the best by far. The town of Deshaies had great restaurants (Savane and Le Mahina were our favorites) and shops, the two closest beaches were great for snorkeling and swimming - we preferred them to Grande Anse. So much to see and do, we will need to return to continue our explorations. The cabin was perfect for two and we even had another couple join us for a few days - the futon in the living area worked out great and we still had enough privacy and space. The deck was great for relaxing and enjoying dinner prepared in the well-stocked kitchen. Thanks to our hosts for everything!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K2T1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We rented the case créole for a week and felt blessed every morning - standing in our outdoor, rainforest shower - and every night - sitting on our private terrace with freshly grilled fish and a drink listening to the cicadas around us. The cabin we stayed in was in excellent shape - clean, beautifully crafted and full of authenticity and the outdoor kitchen worked perfectly for us - it seemed that great attention was paid to every little detail. Au Jardin des Colibris is situated on the edge of the large botanical garden just a couple of minutes by car in the hills outside Deshaies where you find both a good supermarket, a nice bakery and plenty of good dining options. The best beaches on Guadeloupe are reached within 15 minutes. We could always count on Matthieu and Sebastien at the little reception to be there for us with their great knowledge of the island to guide us to new, exciting adventures, and to help us with practical arrangements and snorkeling equipment. They went out of their way to make us feel happy and at home - and we did.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrederikkeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deshaies
1.2 mi away
Le Rayon Vert
Le Rayon Vert
#2 of 3 in Deshaies
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
1.7 mi away
Caraib'Bay Hotel
Caraib'Bay Hotel
#1 of 3 in Deshaies
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
20.3 mi away
La Creole Beach Hotel
La Creole Beach Hotel
#1 of 23 in Le Gosier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Habitation Grande Anse
Habitation Grande Anse
#8 of 29 in Deshaies
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
2.9 mi away
Piton Bungalows
Piton Bungalows
#1 of 29 in Deshaies
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
3.6 mi away
Langley Resort Hotel Fort Royal Guadeloupe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Jardin des Colibris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Jardin des Colibris

Property: Au Jardin des Colibris
Address: Viller, Deshaies 97126, Guadeloupe
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Basse-Terre Island > Deshaies
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Deshaies
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of a luxurious tropical garden, Au Jardin des colibris is a boutique hotel right next to the botanical garden and a few minutes from the most beautiful beaches. Charming bungalows, cottages, incredible hut in the trees, lodge and villa with an amazing sea view nested inside the tropical forest close to quiet, calm and nature ... With a pool 24/24 open. "One of the best address in Guadeloupe," wrote the famous Hachette Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Au Jardin des Colibris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Au Jardin Des Colibris Guadeloupe/Deshaies

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing