We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,141)
Filter reviews
1,141 results
Traveller rating
1,017
111
11
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,017
111
11
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mini villa basse terre the kitchen front porch outdoor shower humming birds post office rental car paper towels wonderful memories a couple of minutes parking space botanical gardens every morning tropical paradise large terrace helpful hosts
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,141 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2018

We stayed 9 nights in mid-May 2018 and had a fantastic time. The staff at Au Jardin was extremely friendly and catered to all our wishes. Our small Villa was very cozy and well equipped - we felt almost like home except for the Colibris and tropical Flowers that we could enjoy from our Veranda.Au Jardin is located directly next to the botanical garden and very near to Deshaies. The Beautiful beaches of Grand Anse and Plage de la Perle can be reached with a 10 minutes drive.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelmutZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aujardindescolibris, Propriétaire at Au Jardin des Colibris, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Dear Helmut,
We were so happy to receive you and your wife Au jardin des colibris for 9 nights. Your smile each morning was our first reward, and this review the second one! THANK YOU !!!
We are so proud to read you had a "fantastic time" with us, you love your "cosy and confortable" bungalow and the location close to nicest beaches and tiny village of Deshaies.
We hope to see you again soon,
Best
The hummingbird's team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 10 nights in a very cozy hut. The hut was fully equipped (kitchen, bathroom, living room and bedroom and a nice varanda including a weber grill). We were welcomed by Aurelie who really treated us warm and was always available for anything we needed. They offered a nice typical creole degustation plate and punch. We had also breakfast for the first morning which we could enjoy the nice varanda within the nature. This was very practical mainly because we arrived quite late and we didn’t need to worry the first night and morning. For the following days we bought fresh fish directly from the local market and grilled. The best beach in Guadeloupe “Plage de la Perle” is just 10 minutes by car from the hotel. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We could ask for anything, for example recommendations, cooler, snorkeling equipment, beach towels, etc.. We will definitely go back and we highly recommend if you are looking for a cozy, quiet in nature with a very warm welcome. Thanks to Aurelie for everything!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Silvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aujardindescolibris, Propriétaire at Au Jardin des Colibris, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Silvia,
Thank you so much for this commentary, so warm and sweet for us ... We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay in the wooden creole hut and you found a "small paradise close to Deshaies", it is really wonderful!
We hope to see you again soon ;)
The hummingbird's team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018

We stayed in Au Jardin des Colibris 2 weeks ago (April 2018). It was really lovely and exactly as expected. We stayed in the Villa. There were only 3 of us but it had bed space for 6-8. The self catering accomodation had everything that you needed. All plates, bowls, pots, pans, cups etc were available in the kitchen. There was a fridge/freezer, microwave/grill and gas hobs. There was also a bbq available for your use outside which was great. Also, the accomodation offered cooked meals if you ordered a day in advance if you didn't fancy cooking. And you could pay for a breakfast or dinner on arrival. The little jams and butters which came with this breakfast kept us going for our full stay which was great. The rooms were basic but decorated in a fun, colourful manor. We had 2 double beds, a bunk bed and a sofa bed. The bathroom was fine and had everything you needed. The shower worked well and was powerful and hot enough. There was only one hitch in which the water and electricitiy went out once but it was only for a short period of time and the girls at reception took care of it. We had ample bedding and towels. We stayed for 2 weeks so the reception staff told us to let them know if we needed a change of towels or bedding. One note, there is no TV. But there is WIFI which worked well.

The best part of this accomodation was the outdoor space. We had plenty of personal, private space. Outside we had a large dining table, coffee table and chairs and sun loungers. There was also a clothes horse which was handy for drying towels etc after the pool or beach. The accommodation offers washing and drying of clothes for a small fee which the staff take care for you if you ask at reception. Our villa was right beside the communal swimming pool. There were trees and things between us and the swimming pool which allowed for privacy. the swimming pool was a nice size, was cleaned every day and had loungers and a cute sitting area beside it. I mostly got the swimming pool to myself when I went down but people did definatley use it.

Another note for when you are sitting outside. There is a lot of wildlife. Which we thought was brilliant and really lovely. But if you are someone who may not appreciate a chicken coming up to your dining table, this may not be the place for you. We enjoyed it, there are feeders which encourage small garden birds, including humming birds. There are chickens. At night, you may spot frogs and lizards. We didn't have too much trouble with mosquitos here but it is inevitable that you will probably get bitten a little bit on a trip to Guadeloupe.

The girls at reception were all very friendly and helpful. They were able to speak in English for us. The reception can provide plenty of advice on things to do in the area and can provide some discounted tickets for things like the Botanical Gardens next door.

The location of the accommodation was good. You will need a car to get around on this island. Most of the roads are steep and twisty. Each villa here had its own parking space which was good. We were a couple of minutes by car to the nearest town of Deshaies. We personally did not try to walk as even though it is close, there is not footpath and was afraid of the danger on this type of road. There were restaurants, shops, a post office and a bakery in the town. About 20 minutes away was a larger supermarket (Super U) and also one of the bigger beaches (Grand Anse) which was very lovely and picturesc.

Overall, we had a very lovely stay. The surroundings were idealic and tranquil. It had everything we needed and the service was friendly and very useful.

Thanks for everything.

Stephanie

Room Tip: We stayed in the Villa, plenty of room for 3-6 people (8 max). Great outdoor space. Right beside the pool.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aujardindescolibris, Propriétaire at Au Jardin des Colibris, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Dear Stephanie,
Thank you so much for your reply ... Whaaoooo! What else?
We are proud to read a review like yours, so happy if your stay was "lovely" and we hope to see you again ;)
Friendly regards from our "paradise"
The hummingbirds team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This is a lovely off the beaten track haven in Deshaies. We booked the Creole hut which was basic inside, but this did not detract from its charm at all. Its kitchen on the veranda was equipped with everything you could need and the "outside" shower never ceased to be a pleasing novelty. If you didn't fancy using the kitchen to cook in the evening then there are good restaurants in the town but the site can also arrange for meals to be delivered to your accommodation which you can just heat up in the microwave. We tried the curry and the chicken coloumbo, and both dishes were delicious.The complex is very well run and the grounds lush and green. The only noise came from the wildlife and the various cabins, villas and bungalows are set out to give each a good degree of privacy. The pool area was immaculate and a pretty place to chill for a while. Best of all were the reception staff who were absolutely magnificent, always ready with a smile and helpful above and beyond the call of duty. A car is a must at this resort and if you are timid about driving direct from the airport as we were, then although we could not find a car rental place in Deshaies itself, a near by hotel (too far to walk but a short taxi drive away) has a car rental desk. Each accommodation has its own allocated parking spot. All in all we had a fabulous stay at Au Jardin des Colibris.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lynn431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aujardindescolibris, Propriétaire at Au Jardin des Colibris, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Lynn,
Thank you so much for your commentary ... We are so proud to read these words, and so happy if your stay with us was a success! We hope to see you again in our "relaxing heaven" ...
Friendly regards
The hummingbirds team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

My husband, daughter and I stayed in the Secret Lodge. It was a perfect size for a family of 3 and it was equipped with everything we needed. Our favorite part was the breathtaking view right of our balcony! We enjoyed eating breakfast on the balcony, having a beer in the evening, or just watching our daughter play while the chickens and humming birds played around us. The staff was super friendly and welcoming. We highly recommend!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jrod180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aujardindescolibris, Propriétaire at Au Jardin des Colibris, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you so much for your recommendation and your experience with us. It was a pleasure for all the team to receive your sympathetic family in our "Secret Lodge" with this "breathtaking view" and we hope to see you soon again!
Best tropical regards
The hgummingbirds team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews