We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kapuzinergarten Panoramahotel
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a planned cycling holiday with headwater. Ok but would not come back.
Headwater must be paying a very small fee to the hotel as it felt we were on rations ! Food poor. The room was basic but very clean. New and shiny compact shower room.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthewsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for Kapuzinergarten Panoramahotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights with our two children in the family suite. It seems to have been renovated since some of the earlier reviews were posted. The upstairs bedroom cozy and is lit by skylight with a shade over to block the light for sleeping. We had a balcony and a downstairs living area with a pull out bed that the kids slept on - it was comfortable for them, but would not recommend for adults (more of a futon type sleeping experience). Bathroom was clean and well appointed. Free wifi was included. The best part of this hotel is the spectacular view, amazing food and warm hospitality offered by the staff, including the owner Engelbert who was especially attentive and warm. The location in Breisach provides a great starting point from which we explored the black forest, Rhine valley and Alsace across the border in France.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1212rose1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during a cycling holiday and loved it. The views from the restaurant are stunning. The staff are wonderful, friendly and helpful. We paid a little extra for a superior room which gave us space and a balcony, bedecked with geraniums, and with those wonderful views. The bathroom had been recently re-done and had a splendid rainforest shower. The food was very good as was the service even on a busy night. The hotel is family-run and the owner, Englebert, is a delight. We'd certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: It's worth paying a little extra for a superior room for the space and the balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthAbingdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Breisach is an attractive and popular town on the Rhine on the German side of the River. Cross the bridge and you are in Alsace, France. The hotel is on a largely residential raised area above and close to the town centre. This is generally a benefit as the higher ground gives good views over the surrounding countryside, and is an interesting area in its own right. It does mean that the pleasant walk down to town is less pleasant climbing back.
The hotel is family run with enthusiasm, which includes an enthusiasm for food and good wine (plentiful in the area). The rooms are adequate, some with good balcony views over the countryside, but wouldn’t get you excited.
In August the hotel was busy and though visitors included young families there was a surprisingly high percentage of older people. The atmosphere amongst the guests was good.
Our group had come specifically to cycle and the hired bikes were delivered to the hotel and worked fine. The cycling was a great success as the surrounding area has great cycle tracks taking you to lovely places with good food/wine/beer.
So, take the hotel for what it is: reasonable value for money in a good location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We have liked this hotel a lot because of the amazing attention of details in the restaurant, the view and the kindness of the staff.

The quality of the food is high and the dinner in there is an unforgettable experience, close to the fireplace and all the time spoiled of attention and cares.

I personally liked less the room which was big but old, but this is part of the location being the place an old castle, still 99 € are ok for the dinner but too much for the room in my opinion.

Be careful because in other reviews I read that the restaurant has 1 star in the Michelin Restaurant Guide but in fact this is not true and the other told us they don't have it... still does not matter because the experience of a dinner in there is worth every single penny.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davide P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We stayed now 3 times at the kapuzinergarten, twice with the family and once with friends for a wine trip to the Kaiserstuhl.
We always had a duplex Suite, which is very nice (though pricey) in combination with a "feinschmecker" package, with a 6 course dinner.

Dinner is served overlooking the Kaiserstuhl mountains, outside or inside. The quality of the food is very good, service is a bit slow. Especially when there is a large tourbus group (they are kept seperate).

The basic rooms are quite small and .. Basic!.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exroosje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Hotel ja , schöne Aussicht, Preis/Leistung des Restaurant vollkommen unangemessen
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fmceu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Breisach am Rhein
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stadt Breisach
Hotel Stadt Breisach
#4 of 4 in Breisach am Rhein
168 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kreuz-Post Hotel-Restaurant-Spa
Kreuz-Post Hotel-Restaurant-Spa
#1 of 3 in Vogtsburg im Kaiserstuhl
95 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Caballin
Le Caballin
#1 of 1 in Vogelgrun
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Winzerstube
Hotel Winzerstube
#2 of 3 in Ihringen
56 reviews
3.3 mi away
Zur Achkarrer Krone
Zur Achkarrer Krone
#1 of 1 in Achkarren
69 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Garni Kaiserstuhl
Hotel Garni Kaiserstuhl
#1 of 3 in Ihringen
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapuzinergarten Panoramahotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapuzinergarten Panoramahotel

Address: Kapuzinergasse 26, 79206 Breisach am Rhein, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Breisach am Rhein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Breisach am Rhein
Price Range: £88 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kapuzinergarten Panoramahotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kapuzinergarten is situated on the top of the little hill of Breisach am Rhein with a beautiful and impressing view to the Kaiserstuhl, Tuniberg and Black Forest. Every room has this great view, you have the choice between the rooms in cottage-style (higher class) and the monastery-style (standard class). The cottage rooms have each an individual interior decoration and are very comfortable. The monastery rooms have a special charm due to several antiquities from a real monastery. The Restaurant Kapuzinergarten is in the house and has a great view, especially on the glazed terrace. There you can have a fine and fresh meal with seasonal and mostly bio-certificated ingredients. Wines from the region you are watching while your diner are being served. Wines since 1974 are in the big wine cellar. Breisach is well situated for day tours to Freiburg or Colmar (25 Minutes) or Basel and Straßbourg (1 Hour to drive to). Engelbert Hau and his team are looking forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kapuzinergarten Panoramahotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing