We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Château Hôtel near of Strasbourg”
Review of Chateau de L'ile

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau de L'ile
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ostwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We discover that place during St Valentin, it was a very nice surprise.... Rooms are pretty, clean and the restaurant is simply fabulous. Very nice diner. There is a very nice SPA and all appropriate massages for a nice and excellent relaxation.
The Chateau is also well situated and there is a very nice garden around. Employees are highly professionals and very friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soserge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2013

We have stayed twice at this Chateau and both times have been completely satisfied. It is a little strange to find as you drive through an industrial estate but the Chateau itself is right next to the river. Unfortunately we have only visited in January but I would imagine it is very beautiful in the summer months. Both of the restaurants serve excellent food and the bar is a verynice area to sit for a drink pre orpost dinner.

Room Tip: We have had a river facing room and a garden room. Both were fine. The garden room had a balcony w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

This is a beautiful property. It needs a face lift soon as it feels tired, but the service is extraordinary. The breakfast has the best options we have seen in a long time, and the restaurants are first rate. It is highly recommended as a base to explore Alsace.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gazap0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

The resort is beautiful, has a nice garden, the rooms are OK, clean, the wellness area is sufficient (if there are not to many visitors). Close to Strassburg, but Ostwald itself is nothing to be visited. Even the chlorine smell some Tripadvisor users were complaining about was not there.
But the restaurant service was able to get me very upset:
- unprofessional, because they don't know how to be kind to customers;
- nothing about French "haute cuisine";
- half board to forget. The second dinner I was there, I became exactly the same menu as the evening before, with a choice between the identical 3 dishes). The unfriendly waiter confirmed, they don't use to change the menu. I tryed to say something, but the waiter just went away, didn't want to listen. I wish, my friends had let me go to the Italian pizzeria 200 meters away...
- bad organised serving breakfast, even if they just serve tea or coffee (the rest is on a buffet table for self service). You can see 6-7 waiters just looking around, doing nothing. It happened to me to wait half an hour before the only really working girl found the time to come, ask and serve hot water for tea.
- inconsistent, you ask for example for a drink, the answer coulb be negative. You ask 10 minutes later another guy, of course it is possible to have the same drink!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benedetto16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateaux_hotels_gef, Responsable relations publiques at Chateau de L'ile, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor.
We note your feedback. However, we are very surprised by your comment. Our customers are usually satisfied with the quality of our staff. It is probably relating to language misunderstandings.
We will do our best so that this situation never happens again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Great place to stay in the Strasbourg area when you want to be able to visit Strasbourg but also meander through the Alsace countryside. Rooms are well-appointed and there is a good size indoor swimming pool and spa. There are two (2) restaurants on property and a bar. It is in an extremely quiet area and has a wonderful setting with the grounds and the river flowing by.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaribbeanDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateaux_hotels_gef, Responsable relations publiques at Chateau de L'ile, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Hello,
Thank you for your kind comment.
Our location is ideal for a relaxing and enjoying Strasbourg and its region.
See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We booked this charming chateau near Strasbourg for a three nights stay over Easter holiday 2012 together with another family with two kids. Both families were happy to have stayed in this lovely hotel with its nice park. Their Easter egg hunt for the kids was really good and all of our 4 girls just loved the chateau. Their winstub was very nice and family friendly. Their indoor swimming pool was o.k but I would not call the whole a "Spa". Indoor pool with jacuzzi, little sauna and steam-box would probably be the better naming. But with the nice rooms on the third floor, the quality of food, the friendly reception and their overall hospitality we would recommend the Chateau for a nice stay with kids.

Room Tip: With a family we recommend 316 or 318 on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akyol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Booked in for new years eve and had the fancy room they show in the pictures! was the top of the tallest tower, with private terrace huge room and was lovely. The staff were super friendly and very helpful.

So whats wrong ... We'll it's just that they miss on so am other things - the basic things. Like why dos the whole hotel have to smell of chlorine because it has a spa? Why s thee no exercise equipment for a health orientated cliente? Why is the wall paper magnolia everywhere? In the spa why is the jacuzzi, steam room and sauna for a two people - i promise you would need to be on very good terms to share these facilities with another couple!

So, if you like Spa's or you like really nice weekends away, why would you stay here. Perhaps if you can't find somewhere else ... That is the only reason we would go back.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Selfation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ostwald
Petite France Centre
Regent Petite France & Spa
Regent Petite France & Spa
#9 of 131 in Strasbourg
1,114 reviews
Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile
#11 of 131 in Strasbourg
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Athena Hotel & Spa
#6 of 131 in Strasbourg
687 reviews
Petite France Nord Est
Hotel Le Bouclier d'Or
Hotel Le Bouclier d'Or
#3 of 131 in Strasbourg
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de L'ile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de L'ile

Address: 4 quai Heydt, 67541 Ostwald, Strasbourg, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Ostwald
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ostwald
Price Range: £100 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau de L'ile 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the gateway to Strasbourg, come and discover the Château de l’Ile and its 62 rooms. Enjoy the charm of its service, its restaurants and its spa, in the heart of a beautifully preserved natural area.The Château de l’Ile also hosts your professional and private events in its 12 reception rooms and outdoors in its delightful grounds.Comfort and tranquillity in the heart of the European capital ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau de L'ile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De l`Ile Hotel Ostwald
Chateau De l Ile Ostwald
Chateau De L'Ile Strasbourg/Ostwald, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing