We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Auberge Bretonne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
L'Auberge Bretonne
Certificate of Excellence
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed in a junior suite for 90 euros and it was very luxurious.
Plenty of space and good furnishngs.

Food is a star of this hotel. It is excellent, but it is also expensive. When paying 75 euro for the chef's tasting menu the bar is set high.
I liked the fact we got unusual food; rhubarb with fish, and vanilla with the potato puree. Some may not like it, but it makes the food the talking point as it should be in a great restaurant. We paid another 29 euros each for the wines, which I recommend as they were superb. A delicate sauvignon from the Loire, followed by a fantastic chablis, a classic Bordeaux and a 1985 Loire dessert wine.
To be a bit critical we got potato puree with two dishes and felt the dessert trolley was a little conventional.
Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay and will definitely return.
Thank you

PS - charge of 8 euros for wi-fi and beware only one device can log on. Charge more for room and give free wifi.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SP1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    27
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
14
54
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

In a small square at the top of the village, L'Auberge Bretonne is a delightful small hotel, comprising of three traditional Britany houses converted to provide a comfortable combination of respect for the heritage and nice modern touches. Our room was large, well apppointed and comfortable, with a large bathroom and a view over the village roofs. We were made to feel really welcome and the service was impecable. The food in the restaurant is of the highest standard (with a wine selection to match - have either the house menu selection or let them choose, you need to be a master wine critic to do better). For those meals when you don't feel like gastronomique food, there are several other good resaurants within minutes, from creperies to pizza by the waterfront.

La Roche-Bernanrd also makes an ideal base for exploring this part of Britany (we were there for a week) The village itself is pretty and welcoming, - small yet all the essential shops - and provides easy access to all the surrounding areas, with places to go and things to do in all directions.

Room Tip: Pay the small extra for the larger rooms. The standard one's are a perfectly good size and the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisNicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed there for two nights in late May. In the heart of the village of La Roche Bernard this was a wonderful find. Everything was faultless. The accomadation was super and the food was exceptional both the dinner and the breakfast. The owners were totally hands on and made you feel so welcome.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malétable
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

It's a very nice place situated good in a very nice small "village de charactère", to visit the area north and south of La Roche Bernard like Golf the Morbihan, also the area round La Baule and the salt mines etc........
"L'auberge" is settled in a good location, a nice building, comfortable room, friendly hosts, tasteful interior and quiet setting.
You can eat good. We were there for 3 nights, and we had dinner just the last day.
We had better done it the days before also.
Our room (Junior suite ) was tastefull, clean and comfortable.
A little bit more bath salt and shower gel would be more comfortable. It was rather limited.
That 's the only minus.

Room Tip: We were in the blue junior suite and were happy in it (with the bath and the shower). We didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nancyd112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

My daughter and I have been taking Mom and Daughter road trips since she was in third grade. Usually, our trips have involved a leisurely drive up the California coast, savoring delightful meals at various amazing restaurants and staying at our favorite Big Sur inn. This time, however, my daughter had just turned 18 and she was headed off to college. This called for something even more special. So, we decided to take our road trip abroad--because we are foodies, to France. More precisely, to Brittany. We spent a week in Paris in an apartment (also wonderful) and then took to the train to Rennes. We rented our car (a spritely Citroen 5) in Rennes and hit the road for the coast. We arrived at La Roche Bernard late in the second day of our trip and headed for L'Auberge Bretonne where we had made reservations for one night. We found a clean and welcoming little inn in the heart of this picturesque little town. Our room, beautifully decorated and light-filled, looked out over gardens in the back. A newly remodeled bathroom with an elegant tub provided the welcome warmth and comfort of a hot bath. The town itself offers history, picturesque views, beautiful running trails close to the water, artisan shops well worth visiting (we loved the ceramics shop), as well as great crepes. We enjoyed our stay and loved L'Auberge so much that we ended up changing our itinerary so we could come back for one more night. We ended up in a room facing the street this second time but it was equally as pleasant and quaint. This time, we ate dinner at L'Auberge--and were very glad we did. Our table faced out on a lovely little vegetable garden. As the evening light waned, we enjoyed one of the best meals we had during our entire trip (including Paris). Oh, and I almost forgot to mention that the couple who runs L'Auberge could not be more delightful. Every aspect of our stay was truly delightful and we would gladly return to La Roche Bernard and enjoy more time at L'Auberge Bretonne.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Roche-Bernard
3.3 mi away
Domaine de Bodeuc
Domaine de Bodeuc
#1 of 1 in Nivillac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
9.4 mi away
Domaine de Rochevilaine
Domaine de Rochevilaine
#1 of 1 in Billiers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir du Rodoir
Le Manoir du Rodoir
#2 of 2 in La Roche-Bernard
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant L'Albatros
13.4 mi away
Hotel de la Plage
Hotel de la Plage
#1 of 2 in Damgan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
6.5 mi away
Domaine De La Bretesche
Domaine De La Bretesche
#1 of 1 in Missillac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge Bretonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Bretonne

Property: L'Auberge Bretonne
Address: 2 Place du Guesclin, 56130, La Roche-Bernard, France
Region: France > Brittany > Morbihan > La Roche-Bernard
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in La Roche-Bernard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Auberge Bretonne 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Auberge Bretonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing