We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“two nights in January”
Review of L'Auberge Bretonne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
L'Auberge Bretonne
Certificate of Excellence
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“two nights in January”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This hotel is quite special in every respect. The room we had was one of their more humble being on the second floor but was large, beautifully appointed with an excellent en suite bathroom. We paid extra for breakfast, quite expensive but of extra special quality. The same comments apply to our evening meal.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindfieldresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    28
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
14
58
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel and our experience was just as good as last year. Stayed 3 nights and ate in the restaurant on one of the nights. The food was fantastic and the restaurant staff were so helpful, friendly and enthusiastic, it was a real pleasure to eat there.
The room was large, very well appointed, tastefully decorated and very clean. Parking is available right outside the hotel and if that was full, there was plenty of other on street parking around.
The old town centre with its various restaurants and the harbour area are a 5/10 minute walk away and there are plenty of beaches and other attractions within a reasonably short drive.
Everything about this hotel felt just right and the owners and reception couldn't have been more helpful, we will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We spent one night here, it was a junior suite and very luxurious. The only thing lacking was air conditioning, and it was a very hot day (and night). There was a fan, but it didnt really make a lot of difference. The room was very clean and the staff were lovely. We ate in the restaurant, the food was superb, but we found it a bit too "formal" for us. If we returned, we would not eat in the restaurant. It is located in a beautiful area.

Room Tip: Would recommend a junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

lovely room, beautiful bathroom, clean, very friendly staff, helpful.
only slight complaint: there is some noise of the kitchen refrigeration.

nice breakfast with homemade yoghurt, jams, pancakes etc.

dinner: very good!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laravos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts, UK
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed in a junior suite for 90 euros and it was very luxurious.
Plenty of space and good furnishngs.

Food is a star of this hotel. It is excellent, but it is also expensive. When paying 75 euro for the chef's tasting menu the bar is set high.
I liked the fact we got unusual food; rhubarb with fish, and vanilla with the potato puree. Some may not like it, but it makes the food the talking point as it should be in a great restaurant. We paid another 29 euros each for the wines, which I recommend as they were superb. A delicate sauvignon from the Loire, followed by a fantastic chablis, a classic Bordeaux and a 1985 Loire dessert wine.
To be a bit critical we got potato puree with two dishes and felt the dessert trolley was a little conventional.
Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay and will definitely return.
Thank you

PS - charge of 8 euros for wi-fi and beware only one device can log on. Charge more for room and give free wifi.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SP1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

In a small square at the top of the village, L'Auberge Bretonne is a delightful small hotel, comprising of three traditional Britany houses converted to provide a comfortable combination of respect for the heritage and nice modern touches. Our room was large, well apppointed and comfortable, with a large bathroom and a view over the village roofs. We were made to feel really welcome and the service was impecable. The food in the restaurant is of the highest standard (with a wine selection to match - have either the house menu selection or let them choose, you need to be a master wine critic to do better). For those meals when you don't feel like gastronomique food, there are several other good resaurants within minutes, from creperies to pizza by the waterfront.

La Roche-Bernanrd also makes an ideal base for exploring this part of Britany (we were there for a week) The village itself is pretty and welcoming, - small yet all the essential shops - and provides easy access to all the surrounding areas, with places to go and things to do in all directions.

Room Tip: Pay the small extra for the larger rooms. The standard one's are a perfectly good size and the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisNicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed there for two nights in late May. In the heart of the village of La Roche Bernard this was a wonderful find. Everything was faultless. The accomadation was super and the food was exceptional both the dinner and the breakfast. The owners were totally hands on and made you feel so welcome.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Roche-Bernard
0.0 mi away
Domaine de Bodeuc
Domaine de Bodeuc
#1 of 1 in Nivillac
119 reviews
9.4 mi away
Domaine de Rochevilaine
Domaine de Rochevilaine
#1 of 1 in Billiers
629 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir du Rodoir
Le Manoir du Rodoir
#2 of 2 in La Roche-Bernard
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant l'Albatros
13.4 mi away
Hotel de la Plage
Hotel de la Plage
#1 of 2 in Damgan
408 reviews
6.5 mi away
Domaine De La Bretesche
Domaine De La Bretesche
#1 of 1 in Missillac
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge Bretonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Bretonne

Property: L'Auberge Bretonne
Address: 2 Place du Guesclin, 56130, La Roche-Bernard, France
Region: France > Brittany > Morbihan > La Roche-Bernard
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in La Roche-Bernard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Auberge Bretonne 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your L'Auberge Bretonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing