We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice relaxing place to stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Chateau de Cocove
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Recques-sur-Hem
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I stayed at this hotel during a trip to Brussels. It is a very friendly hotel with a great atmosphere. I had no complaints other than the restuarant was expensive and they do not serve any snacks. Difficult to find but well worth the effort. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller1036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012

Located just 15 minutes from the Calais Euro tunnel exit, this is a great hotel with traditional French values and great cuisine. Not especially low cost but great value.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flowersrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We were looking for a hotel close to Calais on our return trip that was a bit more than just a room and Le Chateau de Cocove claimed to fit the bill. The stay will cost around 200 euros for the DB&B

We stayed here in mid April so it was a bit chilly to sit outside in the late afternoon but it was so pleasant that we took a stroll around the herb and flower garden that had chickens and rabbits running around,
We stayed in room 6 so had the late evening sunshine directly on our room. The room had recentley had some part refurbishment and was ok for one nights bed breakfast and evening meal.
THE CHATEAU-typically french with loads of history if you have the time to explore including the usual family tragedy you find with this type of chateau in northern france.
In the restaurant their was a good choice of regional food and some quality wines,even a wine cellar that you can look around on request
Do not forget this is a Best Western hotel and if you expect only 2/3 stars you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room with a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lowena7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here as a family of 4 for 2 nights on way back from skiing over Easter. Had the newly fitted out cottage in the garden (the Pavillon) which has double downstairs and double upstairs for the kids. Worked well enough. Posh sort of place, but relaxed and friendly, and for the type of place, very child-friendly. Kid menu not advertised, but there is one if you ask (though no choice on it). Really good evening meal though - the first time we've ever felt comfortable in a nice restaurant with our young kids - partly due to good atmosphere, partly nice food, partly friendly service (and partly that they were reasonably well behaved for once!). So much to see in the area, this makes a really nice base from which to head out and a very quiet and chilled place to come back to at the end of the day. We really enjoyed it. Table tennis in the games room was fun. Only warning is that there are building works going on for some rather out-of-keeping looking conference/business facilities being built. We weren't disturbed at all, but it makes some parts a bit odd/messy looking. Seemed to be nearly completed though and will probably make the place more successful if not quite so charming.

Room Tip: We had the Pavillon, a converted cottage in the kitchen garden. With a young family it worked really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My husband and I have been coming to this hotel on our way back through Europe for 9 years now and were extremely disappointed this year. We chose not to stay as I have long believed the rooms overpriced in the main but we always have dinner here as the food has always been fantastic and accompanied by lovely service. Not so in October 2011. We ordered drinks at the bar and a bottle of wine. When we went to our table for dinner we had to ask after 15 mins and finally getting the staffs attention would they bring our wine. It didn't bode well. What a huge disappointment. The food was nothing like the usual standard and quality i wonder what has changed? This really was a favourite of ours. I sincerely hope the owners read these reviews and take note.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peanut2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We were looking for a night away and wanted somewhere close to Calais that was a bit more than just a room and Le Chateau de Cocove fits the bill.

We stayed here in October so it was a bit chilly to sit outside in the late afternoon but it was so pleasant and picturesque that we decided to enjoy a bottle of champagne while we chased the setting sun around the courtyard – that was a giggle as first we moved our table then other guests followed and that went on several times until the sun disappeared and we all gave up.

The Chateau is typically “Old French” its decor is a bit dated, its rooms a bit small and its corridors a bit cold but you know as you walk through the door it has history – including family tragedy and Germans building fortified bunkers under the lawn during WWII.

The outside is nicely maintained with a walled herb garden and a large lawn area. You will find rabbits and chickens running around the grounds. Our room was on the ground floor – it was a little musty when we first arrived so we don’t think it had been used recently, but once the heating was on it was cosy and inviting if a little small! The shower room was a good size with a very nice walk in shower and plenty of hot water. The food was very good as was the choice of wine. Talking of which there is a wine cellar which if you ask nicely they will open up so you can look around.

In summary, an enjoyable night away in an old French Chateau - yes it was not perfect but if you don’t go expecting too much you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scarybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Have stayed here several times and always enjoyed it. Room 17 is our favourite.

Room Tip: Room 17 overlooks the garden, very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Recques-sur-Hem
7.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Hotel Chateau Tilques
#1 of 1 in Tilques
759 reviews
20.4 mi away
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
#1 of 1 in Hesdin-l'Abbe
631 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hostellerie Saint Louis
Hostellerie Saint Louis
#1 of 1 in Bollezeele
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Hotel  La Matelote
Hotel La Matelote
#3 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
414 reviews
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
20.5 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#1 of 5 in Wimereux
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau de Cocove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau de Cocove

Address: Avenue de Cocove, 62890 Recques-sur-Hem, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Recques-sur-Hem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Recques-sur-Hem
Price Range: £83 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Chateau de Cocove 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Chateau de Cocove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau De Cocove Hotel Recques-Sur-Hem
Chateau De Cocove
Le Chateau De Cocove France/Recques-Sur-Hem, Pas-De-Calais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing