We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovley place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Chateau de Cocove
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Recques-sur-Hem
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovley place”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Me and the wife stayed here for one night, the place is beautiful, the rooms are clean.
Our bathroom was a dated one but with a view to die for and as for the other reviews saying the food is expensive there were two 3 course meal options for 28 euros (£21 at time i write this) that's not too bad if you ask me, I had the more expensive four course 45 euro set menu which again as this including a fillet steak (£20+ in UK) I didn't think was too bad especially with the level of service provided with it.
I agree 14 euros is too expensive for a croissant and some OJ thats why we didn't bother with the continental breakfast but went out instead. Would return again.

Room Tip: Deluxe have view over the front lawn area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    163
    71
    43
    19
See reviews for
55
290
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

This is a money trap....the rooms are fine, although the duvet cover on our bed was evidently used. The food however, is the real let down. The menus are tremendously overpriced for really poor quality, ordinary food. Breakfast is poor but very expensive. If you are expecting a special stay, at a cost, do not stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luciag525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
426 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This Chateau is really near to Calais but yet a world apart. It is beatuful and the staff are fantastic. We arrived very late and they had organised a late night plate of beautiful french cheeses and some excellent red wine. We were disappointed not to have spent longer here. It is so close to Calais - a must if you are nipping across the channel for a night.

Room Tip: We chose a deluxe room, but all the rooms have stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobStamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Had seen mixed reviews of this place and had a little trepidation as we arrived. However, this was unnecessary:

-Really convenient for the Chunnel;
-Charming old chateau with pleasant setting;
-Rooms are a little dated but seem to be being upgraded (eg our bathroom was first class);
-Food menu not extensive but neverthelss had a good selection and range of prices - good walue;
-Wine list is excellent, extensive and reasonably priced.

My only minor concerns preventing a 5* review are:

- Public spaces are a little tired;
- The two (yes two!) staff front of house are overstretched when manning reception, bar, restaurant, bell hop, etc. They were nevertheless extremely helpful and friendly and I would have prized open my wallet had they not disappeared at the end of the evening - probably for a well earned rest!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesjackos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Lovely hotel in park setting.The rooms were very nicely decorated in the french style. Food was excellent as was the service. An added bonus was the free wi-fi. All in all a charming hotel which I would recommend for a short break. Several guests had dogs with them so would also be a good stopover. We went to Le Touquet and Montreuil one day and St. Omer another day where the men went of to La Coupole - A V2 rocket launching site during the war. The found it fascinating.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the park have the best view. They all seem very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caz186389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 379 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We spent one night here (1 June) having not booked anything and just turned up at 11pm, slightly later than we had planned because of the delays on the Eurotunnel at Dover. Our helpful Satnav found it for us as we left Calais, at the start of a road trip round Europe. The owner had a room available fortunately, and kindly let us in even though it was so late. It was 98 euros and we had a good night’s sleep in the huge comfy bed. Beautiful hotel and grounds - we were just passing through but it would be lovely to return and spend longer here. Nice clean bathroom, and a very good breakfast in the morning. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsetter77Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester England
Level Contributor
206 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Picturesque, clean, excellent food and service. We used it for a three day tour of the First World War battle fields being reasonably central for visits to Ypres and the Somme.

It's also well positioned near the tunnel to stop off on the way down or back from driving to/from the South of France.

However the standard de luxe bedroom we had ,though recently refurbished, was small with a lack of storage space. Our en suite was a small shower room where style had defeated practicality with the walk in shower overflowing and flooding the area. Ventilation was a vent not a fan which also meant everything steamed up. The super king double was comfortable and gave a good nights sleep.

Dinner and breakfast were good value with excellent choice.

Good place for a short stay. The small bedroom and en suite would get you after that.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seebeforeigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Recques-sur-Hem
7.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Hotel Chateau Tilques
#1 of 1 in Tilques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
20.4 mi away
Hotel Chateau Clery
Hotel Chateau Clery
#1 of 1 in Hesdin-l'Abbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hostellerie Saint Louis
Hostellerie Saint Louis
#1 of 1 in Bollezeele
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#1 of 2 in Lumbres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
13.0 mi away
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
#1 of 7 in Coquelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
4.4 mi away
Le Manoir Bonningues-les-Ardres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau de Cocove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau de Cocove

Property: Le Chateau de Cocove
Address: Avenue de Cocove, 62890 Recques-sur-Hem, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Recques-sur-Hem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Recques-sur-Hem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Chateau de Cocove 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Chateau de Cocove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau De Cocove Hotel Recques-Sur-Hem
Chateau De Cocove
Le Chateau De Cocove France/Recques-Sur-Hem, Pas-De-Calais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing