We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flawless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Chateau de Cocove
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Recques-sur-Hem
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Flawless”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed for two nights and had a delightful weekend. Perfection in every way. This was a first visit, but there certainly will be more.
Good food, a knowledgeable wine waiter and courteous staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piquedame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Laure D, Responsable réception at Le Chateau de Cocove, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We thank you for taking the time to post your comments concerning your stay at the Château.
It is pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Château.
Your Sincerely,

Marie-laure Ducrocq
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    160
    71
    43
    19
See reviews for
54
288
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is the first time I have ever felt the need to write a review, especially as we based the decision to stay at this hotel on two factors; its location (near the channel tunnel as we were planning a classic rally to the Chateau in the future) and the very reviews placed on trip advisor and other sites.

I will try and keep it short and factual, but in summary our stay was a expensive disappointment:

1. On arrival we had to wait some 10-15 minutes at the reception as it was un-manned (despite ringing their bell several times - The English don't like dinging bells for service, well I don't, especially when its in complete vain and only makes you feel uncomfortable). It wasn't until i ventured up to the first floor of the hotel and came across a cleaner did we have any chance of finding out where the receptionist was. Arrived apologetic and clearly we had interrupted a late lunch.
2. Even though the advised room / check time had been exceeded by at least 1 hour, we had to wait a further 45 minutes until the room was cleaned and ready for us, making it just short of 4pm in the afternoon (after a 5 hour drive - not the best of starts or introduction to this hotel - surely, this little hiccup will be soon forgotten).

3. Privacy & Security - Bathroom door didn't close, just opened on its own - also no locks. I have been married for some years, but I would like to have afforded my wife some privacy as she used the bathroom. No working safe for valuables - broken.

4. Floors and the bed position. The room we had had a very uneven floor, so much so that the bedstead was lower than the foot of the bed - this makes for an uncomfortable nights sleep (avoid rm 21).

5.Le Chateau de Cocve is currently in the middle of refreshment to its decor. However, they have completely cut corners of the insulation of the walls or the fitting of the room doors... so much so that I could hear the people in the next room whispering in order to have a private conversation that they didn't want overheard by other guests. We could also hear people in their rooms several doors down too. Not to mention the disco/party in the hotel grounds that finished at 2am in the morning.

6. Service, whilst we were offered coffee whilst we waited for our room to be ready (thank you), the service and attitude of the staff was generally poor. for example; it states that all staff can speak French and English, it became clear to us that this is very limited and on several occasions we had to revert to French in order to be understood. If you don't speak French - beware. If you have a complaint not sure it would be understood in any language!

7. At dinner, we were shown to a window table for two, only to be embarrassingly removed a few minutes later as if was reserved for more important guests. That really made us feel welcomed and valued. we noted other guests also where being turned away (people staying at the hotel).

8. Wine selection - why do the French think the English are uneducated when it comes to wine and vintages??? so BEWARE if you order a bottle of the 2003 xyz at some considerable expense, please ensure they given you what you order and not another inferior wine/year. I had to send the wine back ...'oh sir but its the same wine as on the menu which we just happen to run out of'... no it isn't'. Also the 1/2 bottle of the St George Grand Cru we order - had to be strained as the waitress broke the cork and had to take the bottle away in order to remove the cork residue from the bottle. No hint of apology we will get another..

9. Over Charged. so to top it all for this experience we were over charged, They have a good menu choice, whilst it mainly consists of much the same choices for each selection but changes in price as you increase the number of courses. so for example if you have two courses its 28Euro, three course 38euro and 58euro for 4/5 courses etc. we left the table after two courses, albeit I had two slices of cheese so in fact one could argue we had 2 courses and a 3 course meal, yet have been charged the most expensive menu choice 58euros each (which we didn't realise until we arrived home). The final straw that broke the camel's back..

I would like to make this summary a round 10 points.. but I would only be being picky (oh, rusty and dirty chairs in the garden - light coloured cloth wearers beware!!! - rust stains on seats of dresses and trousers isn't a good look), in fact a serious point; as rust stains are practically un-removable from cloths and maybe an expensive lesson learnt.

Finally, we had intended to meet in the future with group of friends on a short classic car trip to France from Kent, I'm so glad we avoid the embassement by undertaking a recce as part of our holiday... on the other hand not the best way to finish your holiday either.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel, no privacy - walls like paper. You'll read the hype like we did and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Laure D, Responsable réception at Le Chateau de Cocove, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

It is with a particular attention that I have read all your comments about your stay at the Château.
Please note that I am surprised to read it.
About your arrival, I present you my apologies of not to be there because I was with other people in the reception room and you seemed to accept it.
Note that all the rooms can not be ready at 2PM, I have asked to the room ladies to make your room in priority and they made it but they can not clean a room in 5 minutes.
Your room has just been renovated so I do not understand your comment about it.
I do not understand all your remarks about restaurant, service, restaurant, wines: Your stay seems to be bad from the beginning....
I propose you to contact me by phone to discuss about all your remarks.
Your sincerely,

Marie-laure Ducrocq
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is the most gorgeous property. It is located within beautiful grounds. We actually stayed in a separate, newly renovated building with our children. It was done to a high standard and there were 2 large double bedrooms and a single room.
The restaurant was lovely. We enjoyed a lovely evening meal.
The staff were friendly but the receptionist seemed to also be the waiter and the bell boy and as a result seemed a little stressed.
Be warned, the restaurant shuts at 9pm. We only just made it in time for dinner

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Laure D, Responsable réception at Le Chateau de Cocove, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We thank you for taking time to post a kind comment about Château de Cocove.
It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our pavilion for your family but also the restaurant and the friendly staff.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you very soon at the Château.
Your Sincerely,

Marie-laure Ducrocq
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Lovely quiet Chateau, spacious room on the first floor, large and comfy bed. soft linen and spacious bathroom with shower and power bath. We ate in the restaurant, 3 lovely courses and the chocolate pud was to die for.. Nice little bar and the house rose Gris Blanc very quaff-able!.
So we had the most gorgeous sunny day I am sure that helped and my my only small criticism would be to have been provided with some comfy outside chairs for sunbathing and reading. The garden is very well kept. We will go again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerieLoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Laure D, Responsable réception at Le Chateau de Cocove, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of Château de Cocove.
We are most happy that you enjoyed your room, the restaurant and also our park.
I have read with attention your request concerning chairs for sunbathing and reading.
Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Château.

Your sincerely,

Marie-laure Ducrocq
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

What a wonderful place to stay. We arrived in the early evening and were given a very warm welcome. The chateau is situated at the end of a beautiful long drive and it looks magnificent. We had a delightful bedroom and en-suite and started our holiday with a drink before dinner. We were spoilt for choice with the dinner menu and the food was delicious. We had a pleasant stroll in the lovely grounds after dinner and spent a very relaxing and quiet night. The breakfast was scrumptious. We wished we were staying there for the whole of our holiday! We will definitely return to the Chateau. If you are looking for a place to stay outside of Calais you will not be disappointed if you stay here!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minicooperdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Laure D, Responsable réception at Le Chateau de Cocove, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We thank you for taking the time to share your lovely experience at Château de Cocove.
It is so pleasing to read that you enjoyed the château, the restaurant, the room and the facilities we have proposed you.
Please note that it will be a pleasure to welcome you for your next holidays.
Have the pleasure to welcome you very soon.

Best Regards,

Marie-laure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
91 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We arrived at the chateau in the afternoon after driving from Paris, so we were all pretty tired. Thankfully the check-in process was smooth and quick. There were five of us checking-in at the large “house” behind the main chateau. First impressions were great – the house has a very large sitting room and three separate bedrooms (all with en suite bathrooms). Two rooms have king-sized beds; one room has a single bed. The room on the 1st floor is actually the “attic” but it is done up so beautifully with exposed wooden beams that it feels like the master suite. The rooms feel like they have been recently renovated. The roman blinds are a nice touch and they definitely block out all the light to ensure a peaceful sleep.

The house is situated about a 2-minute walk from the main chateau so if you don’t like the walking to and fro for the meals then you may want to choose another room. That said, it is a nice house to have everyone in your group staying together.

Meals at the restaurant were hit and miss. The first dinner was nothing too fancy (although the dessert was fantastic – trust the French to make such great puddings!) but subsequent meals really picked up the slack and we were left very satisfied.

The chateau grounds are truly beautiful. The front lawn is well-maintained; it almost begs you to take off your shoes and play Frisbee there all day. I went for a run around the countryside which was lovely as it allowed you to have a glimpse of what the neighbourhood is like.

Service was warm and responsive; Frank (the manager at the restaurant) is phenomenal with his gentle humour and generosity. I cannot commend him enough. The only hiccup occurred on day two when I had to go to the front desk to ask for bath towels, and the lady at the reception actually had to check with housekeeping if they have actually left us bath towels, which took up an extra 5 minutes while I was waiting there. Other than that, it was a lovely stay and we truly had a great time. Some of our friends even opted to do a cellar tour which left them very impressed. Thanks Chateau de Cocove!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenflubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Laure D, Responsable réception at Le Chateau de Cocove, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Further to your trip to Château de Cocove, we would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.
We are most happy to read taht you enjoyed our pavilion but also the kitchen and its services.
Be assured that I note the problem about the towels.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Château.

Best Regards,

Marie-laure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Very impressive when driving up to chateau.

Entrance and public rooms reflect old style look. Service efficient.
Standard rooms small and basic inside for a 4* hotel, bathrooms with bath but no shower!
Beds just a double - small for hotels.

Not far from autoroute so easy stop to/from channel.
Free WiFi. Quiet location, large gardens.

Disappointed in room so would probably not use again unless next size up room was at a reasonable price and had shower!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MushroomTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Laure D, Responsable réception at Le Chateau de Cocove, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We thank you for taking time to post a review on our hotel restaurant.
Please note that we offer different room categories: classic - superior and luxe. Superior and Luxe are bigger and some of them have bath and shower.
I propose you to phone us to book, and at that time it will be a pleasure to propose you and explain you our different rooms.

Yours sincerely,

Marie-laure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Recques-sur-Hem
7.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Hotel Chateau Tilques
#1 of 1 in Tilques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
20.4 mi away
Hotel Chateau Clery
Hotel Chateau Clery
#1 of 1 in Hesdin-l'Abbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hostellerie Saint Louis
Hostellerie Saint Louis
#1 of 1 in Bollezeele
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#1 of 2 in Lumbres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
13.0 mi away
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
#1 of 7 in Coquelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
4.4 mi away
Le Manoir Bonningues-les-Ardres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau de Cocove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau de Cocove

Property: Le Chateau de Cocove
Address: Avenue de Cocove, 62890 Recques-sur-Hem, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Recques-sur-Hem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Recques-sur-Hem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Chateau de Cocove 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Chateau de Cocove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau De Cocove Hotel Recques-Sur-Hem
Chateau De Cocove
Le Chateau De Cocove France/Recques-Sur-Hem, Pas-De-Calais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing