We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When can we visit again?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Rosa Etna Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“When can we visit again?”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

If you can stay anywhere in Sicily then Zafferana Etnea is one of the most extraordinary and beautiful bases you can choose. With the badge of 80% production of Italy's honey and being the highest town on the slopes of Etna it is a gastronomical adventurer's dream location. Slightly off the beaten track, this is a magical place deep in the heart of real Sicily. What better place to stay than in the Villa Rosa vineyard. We stumbled on it by accident and if you are looking for a stylish, friendly and relaxed retreat with panoramic views of both the coast and mighty Etna then this is the place for you. Alberto is a fabulous host, not only does he have a sharp eye for design (not to mention a red London taxi) he is a great source of local knowledge and makes you feel like you are staying at a friend's house (complete with swimming pool & panoramic views). We can't wait to go back! It is almost too good to tell people about. Shhhhh.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sraasraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    40
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
139
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed at the vineyard for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon and wish we could have stayed longer. Our room had a lovely view of the vineyard and from the large house terrace we could sit and enjoy views all the way to the sea. We had a nice big room with a double shower. The Vineyard is Alberto's home and we were allowed to use the kitchen/sitting room which was an extra bonus. Alberto is a fantastic host: very friendly and nice to talk to and always on hand with advice on our travel plans and recommending a great place to have a meal. A mention must also go to the breakfast, which was the best one we had on our holiday! We couldn't recommend this place enough. It is more suitable for those with a car as it is a little out of town although not too far to not be able to walk there. Looking at the reviews though the b and b in town seems just as nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bumbleBry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bloomfield, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We decided to spend a couple of days on the Etna slopes on our way to Taormina, and chose - somewhat on a whim - Villa Rosa B&B (aka Etna B&B etnabb.com). The rooms in the Zafferana house were all booked, so we stayed at the vineyard house: we could not have been happier. The owner Alberto made us feel at home from the first minute, we relaxed instantly, absorbed by the fantastic view from the terrace (from the Ionian sea 10km away, across beautifully terraced orchards and vineyards, way back up to the 11,000 feet of Mt. Etna). Alberto is a very attentive and helpful, yet never overbearing, host. Also count on his network of local experts, such as Enzo the geologist, for fun and educational hikes around the volcano slopes.

Room Tip: The vineyard location is highly recommended, especially if you plan to have a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmaLeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2011

The rooms are large and beautifully decorated, Alberto is a great host and we enjoyed the Sicilian lifestyle. The views are amazing and it is a great place to do lots of day trips from. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeriKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

They have two locations, in town and also in a vineyard about 5 minutes from town. We chose the vineyard and weren't disappointed. our room was spacious and clean with a huge shower with two spouts and a view of the sea. To sit outside at night on the huge outdoor area with a wine and the stars was awesome. Alberto is really friendly and helpful and even gave us some of his local wine to try. You get a beautiful fresh breakfast and also have the use of the kitchen. If you visit Mt Etna or just want a quiet night away from the madness with great views, this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blacksteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Villa Rosa , a quiet comfortable bed and breakfast . A chalet surrounded by an orchard .A terrace with a view of Mt. Etna above and the Mediterrean Sea beyond. It can only be surpassed by its host " Alberto " You will make a new friend, and want to return . A 5 star experience . Not to be missed.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank easelpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We dind't stay at the main B&B but at the vinyard, which is about 5 minutes away by car. Alberto, the owner, ist super-friendly: He gave us advice on places to see and thanks to him we had a wonderful dinner at a nearby restaurant. The vinyard is a beautiful place! You can see the Etna and the ocean from here. The rooms and the rest of the house are nicely decorated and the deck is just the greatest place to hang out! In the morning, Alberto came by to bring us bread and pastries for breakfast, everything else we needed was in the kitchen. I would love to come back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bavaria77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zafferana Etnea hotels
0.6 mi away
Airone Wellness Hotel
Airone Wellness Hotel
#1 of 5 in Zafferana Etnea
815 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Esperia Palace
Hotel Esperia Palace
#2 of 5 in Zafferana Etnea
444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cartoline dall'Etna B&B
Cartoline dall'Etna B&B
#1 of 22 in Zafferana Etnea
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Monaci delle Terre Nere
Monaci delle Terre Nere
#3 of 9 in Zafferana Etnea
374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Etna GloB&B
Etna GloB&B
#1 of 9 in Zafferana Etnea
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Sicilia in Miniatura
B&B Sicilia in Miniatura
#3 of 22 in Zafferana Etnea
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rosa Etna Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rosa Etna Bed & Breakfast

Property: Villa Rosa Etna Bed & Breakfast
Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 357, 95019 Zafferana Etnea, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Zafferana Etnea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Zafferana Etnea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VILLA ROSA is located in the historical centre of the village of Zafferana Etnea (Sicily). This quiet, picturesque village set on the slopes of Mt.Etna overlooks the Ionian coast offering a beautiful panorama from the famous resort of Taormina all the way down to the Calabrian coast.Enjoy one of the most stunning areas of Sicily in a comfortable, authentic Sicilian dwelling built in the early 1920s. Excellent advice and guidance on the attractions of this unique area and its particular traditions are available from the proprietor of Villa Rosa who speaks English due to his previous professional career in London. Expect a comfortable bed and a freshly prepared Sicilian breakfast. Female members of this Sicilian family are also willing to provide recipes and instruction for the preparation of traditional dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Villa Rosa Etna Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Rosa Etna Bed & Breakfast Sicily/Zafferana Etnea, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing