We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Rosa Etna Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Villa Rosa is an old town house with different sizes/types of rooms at different prices so it is good to telephone Alberto first to find out what there is. He speaks excellent English. He also has another B&B on a vineyard out of the town
We had the huge room on the top attic floor with its own private and wonderful roof garden with view of Etna. The room is where Alberto lived when he stayed there. His parents also live there. The room has 1 double and 2 single beds and a cot. There is comfortable seating and also a table with 4 chairs. It was all very comfortable. The bathroom is well equipped with an excellent shower and there is a fridge. There is a telly and excellent wifi. Breakfast was quite wonderful. It is served in the parent’s dining room and there is everything to eat that one could possible want. We chose to have fruit juice and lovely fresh bread rolls with butter and local orange blossom honey, huge pastries that Alberto called sugar bombs, and almond biscuits, chocolate truffles and fresh fruit. There was also cheese and meat and yogurt etc. Alberto’s Mama made us fresh coffee or tea. It was a feast.
Alberto, who spent several years working in London, has information to help with everything.
His friend Giuseppe at Refuge Citelli advised us how to explore Mount Sartorius - an old Etna eruption. His friend Serjo took us out in his 4x4 on a paid tour around some other old Etna eruptions. We followed Alberto’s guidance and ate our first Sicilian pizza (deep fried pizza) in in the café called Donna Peppina - where it was invented - delicious - a fat bomb!
Thank-you Alberto and your parents – we did not want to leave

Room Tip: The attic room was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fredinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at the attic room in villa Rosa for 3 nights in October and we were very pleased with this B&B. Villa Rosa is in the middle of Zafferana, a nice little village nearby the Etna, which we could see from the private terrace. Alberto and his parents are great hosts and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast in the garden is lovely. The private parKing place around the corner is very convieniant, because parking in the city centre is difficult. Alberto had very useful tips about the area, about visiting the Etna, what local products to buy (try the almond whine) and also where to eat in the town. The room was clean and cosy, but when you are tall (as many Dutch people are) mind your head at the bathroom. We would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rverw2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in September and had a fantastic time. Villa Rosa is in a stunning location in Zafferana. Our room had views from it's own private terrace over Mount Etna. Alberto is a great host and made us feel very welcome. He had very useful tips about the area, about visiting Etna, which is very easy to get to from behind the B&B, and also where to eat in the town. I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting the area. Peter & Rachel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
2  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

We just spent 5 nights in the vineyard. When Alberto, the owner, showed us the house, our first response was: we want to buy this house! And after 5 days we felt the same.

Only two bedrooms are rented so you basically have a house for yourself.

Superb location on the edge of the town of Zafferana with a big terrace overlooking the vineyard in progress and the sea. On the other side of the house and from the swimming pool area you could see mount Etna. It's a good location to explore the coastal and mount Etna area.

You can use the kitchen and the fridge if you wanted. We had the most comfortable bed in Sicily and loved the double rain shower in the bathroom.

In the morning Alberto brought us fresh bread and nice sweet treats such as croissants with cream and made some coffee. The rest of the day we had the house to ourselfs. Sometimes Alberto showed up later in the day and checked if everything was ok.

Alberto knows where the good places in the area are, is very helpfull and fun to talk to.

If I will visit Sicily again, I will defently return to this place.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Channie-g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Thoroughly recommend this place. Alberto is a splendid host, who is humorous and helpful. He was full of advice as to how to enjoy the region, but relaxed with it. The accommodation is charming and is perfectly located. Zafferana is a great place to stay. It has good bars and restaurants, and is a great base for exploring the locality.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed at the Villa Rosa B&B for 5 days at the beginning of July 2013. We had a great time. The room we stayed in was more like a studio, really. We had everything we could possibly want: a big comfortable double bedroom with an adjoined bathroom and a beautiful terrace where we could relax after a long day's travelling around. The host, Alberto, is just wonderful: not only does he speak perfect English (which is a luxury in Sicily!), he is also extremely helpful, resourceful and friendly. We met with a little bit of a medical emergency during our trip and Alberto did everything he could (in fact he went out of his way) to help us - for which we were grateful. The B&B's location is also superb: you are close to the main square of the town, and a few good restaurants. If one wants to explore the Etna and its surrounding (lovely) towns, I would really recommend you use Villa Rosa as your 'home away from home' base.

Room Tip: You can choose to stay in Zafferana, or just outside of it: Alberto has another house which has a po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We've stayed in the vineyard villa for almost a week at the end of May and had the best of times. We have two small kids - 2.5 and 5 and the place couldn't be more fun for them. We had to watch them as otherwise they'd be in the pool non-stop and they loved exploring the garden and playing with the ash stones :-) The views are amazing and it is so peaceful there!

There is a big kitchen/living room in the house with everything you need to cook but why would you when there is a great local restaurant with amazing pizzas and pasta for around EUR 5 five mins walk away from the house? Or you can hop in a car and reach Zafferana Etna in 2 mins - a charming town with a cathedral, loads of little shops and cafes and restaurants.

Alberto is a great host, full of recommendations of places to see and food to try. The only problem we've had was the amount of cakes he was bringing us every morning. We had fly back with top buttons on our trousers opened. :-) We hope to be back one day soon.

Room Tip: We had the sea view room and our youngest loved sleeping in the little 'storage room' next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stulka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zafferana Etnea hotels
0.6 mi away
Airone Wellness Hotel
Airone Wellness Hotel
#1 of 4 in Zafferana Etnea
908 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Esperia Palace
Hotel Esperia Palace
#2 of 4 in Zafferana Etnea
465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Etna En Vie
Etna En Vie
#3 of 22 in Zafferana Etnea
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cartoline dall'Etna B&B
Cartoline dall'Etna B&B
#1 of 22 in Zafferana Etnea
106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Etna Bike B&B
Etna Bike B&B
#7 of 22 in Zafferana Etnea
47 reviews
1.9 mi away
B&B Sotto i Pini
B&B Sotto i Pini
#19 of 22 in Zafferana Etnea
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rosa Etna Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rosa Etna Bed & Breakfast

Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 357, 95019 Zafferana Etnea, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Zafferana Etnea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Zafferana Etnea
Price Range: £44 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VILLA ROSA is located in the historical centre of the village of Zafferana Etnea (Sicily). This quiet, picturesque village set on the slopes of Mt.Etna overlooks the Ionian coast offering a beautiful panorama from the famous resort of Taormina all the way down to the Calabrian coast.Enjoy one of the most stunning areas of Sicily in a comfortable, authentic Sicilian dwelling built in the early 1920s. Excellent advice and guidance on the attractions of this unique area and its particular traditions are available from the proprietor of Villa Rosa who speaks English due to his previous professional career in London. Expect a comfortable bed and a freshly prepared Sicilian breakfast. Female members of this Sicilian family are also willing to provide recipes and instruction for the preparation of traditional dishes. Seasonal close between november 15th and march 15th. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Rosa Etna Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Rosa Etna Bed & Breakfast Sicily/Zafferana Etnea, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing