We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful setting, great hospitality, great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Rocca della Rosa
Ranked #14 of 22 Zafferana Etnea B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We decided on the spur of the moment to go to Sicily. La Rocca della Rosa had a room available for 6 nights, and we really lucked out. The setting is amazing, with views of Mount Etna from the roof-top terrace, and from our bedroom window (we were fortunate enough to get the room with the old wine-press in it). Maria was very friendly and available whenever we had questions, and was very helpful with all sorts of recommendations. We ate (and drank copious amounts of local wine) there every night for a very reasonable price, outside in the courtyard under the trees, and were served seemingly endless courses of delicious fresh, local or homegrown food lovingly cooked by her mother. We couldn’t have done better at a fancy restaurant, and were spared driving home after dinner on the tortuous roads. This place is not for you if you don’t like animals (there are 3 friendly dogs) or nature, or if you want a fancy bedroom/bathroom, but we loved it and were very comfortable, and hope we have the opportunity to go back again.

Room Tip: ask for the room with the wine press, if available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

My jaw dropped when I was taken to our room with a huge, antique wine press--two stories tall--in it. The food was excellent and the tiers of agriculture were really interesting and a great stroll. One word of advice...get good directions and a full address for your GPS unit. Ours did not recognize the address on the website and it took a long time to find this gem.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyInItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

we found this wonderful estate farmhouse by luck on our way from Taromina to see Etna. Great country atmosphere, beautiful old architecture of the mill/winery. The meals tasted so good in such an old country setting

Room Tip: choose the huge mill room with vaulted ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Icuzzame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in March so we could visit Etna. The accommodation was so unusual - we stayed in a building formerly used for wine making, I think pressing grapes, and some of the huge equipment was still there! We loved the character of the room and old furnishings and overall rustic effect, but it is not for those who need typical modern bland hotel rooms where everything is the same. It is a very informal set up.

We had a great home made dinner, standard simple dishes and plenty of food and the best canoli I tasted during my trip. Breakfast was fine, cold with the exception of some fried eggs- get there on time so they are still hot! Also home made cake and pear juice - This is not a big farm, (which in one way was a pity as I had heard great things about the food at agri turismo properties where everything is produced on the farm and had dreams of extensive meats and cheeses etc!) but as we were only there one night we didn't mind.

There is a great roof top terrace which you can see etna from, with sun loungers etc. There was a dog there was adorable new puppies- very cute!! But probably the best thing about the property is Maria, who runs it. She is very friendly and has great English. It's wonderful to have a young person running this sort of busines, and so professionally. She answered every correspondence about the booking really quickly and had lots of information about the building, food, tourist sights etc. Also, we had a lost passport scare, and Maria was fantastic ringing shops and restaurants where we had been, ringing the authorities where we would have had a language barrier, and saving us paying foreign mobile phone call charges. In addition she stayed at the hotel until the problem was resolved. In the hurried panic I left some belongs behind which she was even good enough to go to the effort to post on to me when I got home.

The hotel is very convenient for etna and maria also gave us a card which gave us a discount on cable car, which took the sting out of the high cost.

I really enjoyed my stay here. It's one if the few times I felt my stay was worth every penny and that my money was going to a business where the owners really cared about doing everything to the best of their ability.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bos78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaRoccadellaRosa, Proprietario at La Rocca della Rosa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thank you so much!
reviews like yours really make me feel taht my efforts are appreciated, it was a pleasure to meet you!
bye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We had our best evening in this restaurant (we didn't stay here, just came for the dinner)... It is a little off the main roads but well worth the drive. The dishes were very plentiful, with great taste and obviously made from local produce. Maria, the hostess, was a pleasure to chat and she explained a lot about the food and the culture.

Overall, should be a definite stop for anyone on the east coast of Sicily

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Seyahatname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed at Rocca della Rosa in early September, decided to extend the stay due to the warm hospitality and good location; with Taormina, Syracusa, Etna and the beach within easy reach. We loved staying in this old villa, surrounded by history and beautiful antique furniture. The food, breakfast included, was first class and enjoyed in the formerwine cellar. Maria's excellent English was an extra bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UrdurGunnarsdottir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

La Rocca Della Rosa is situated at the foot of Mt. Etnea just outside the quite of Zafferana Etnea. It is easily one of the most beautiful and charming buildings one will ever stay in. The rooms are very spacious and immaculately kept. The breakfast in the morning is really 5 star. You shall receive some unbelieveable home cooking from the hosts and a fantastic welcome to boot! The views of the coast and Mt. Etnea are breath taking. The Autostrada between Catania and Messina is only minutes away which gives you great freedom and access to the East coast of the Island. There are an abundance of top restaurants in nearby Zafferana.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
3  Thank PaulDoyleIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zafferana Etnea
1.4 mi away
Airone Wellness Hotel
Airone Wellness Hotel
#1 of 4 in Zafferana Etnea
908 reviews
1.5 mi away
Monaci delle Terre Nere
Monaci delle Terre Nere
#3 of 9 in Zafferana Etnea
405 reviews
0.6 mi away
Etna En Vie
Etna En Vie
#3 of 22 in Zafferana Etnea
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Case Perrotta
Case Perrotta
#2 of 8 in Sant'Alfio
261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fermata Spuligni
Fermata Spuligni
#11 of 22 in Zafferana Etnea
33 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Rosa  Etna Bed & Breakfast
Villa Rosa Etna Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 22 in Zafferana Etnea
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rocca della Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rocca della Rosa

Address: Via Bongiardo Zafferana 26 | 95019, 95019 Zafferana Etnea, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Zafferana Etnea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Zafferana Etnea
Price Range: £55 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"La Rocca della Rosa" was born as a vacation house in 1800, now is a so called "agriturismo", a country hotel with a production of bio extravirgin olive oil and cherries and a restaurant where is also possible to celebrate birthdays, weddings or other ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Rocca della Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rocca Della Rosa Sicily/Zafferana Etnea, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing