We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, stylish boutique property - a lovely place to get away from it all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monaci delle Terre Nere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Charming, stylish boutique property - a lovely place to get away from it all”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed for two nights last week as part of a week touring Sicily. The hotel is very characterful and charming. The decor is particularly fine and a lot of effort has gone in to producing a very stylish place to stay with lovely modern art and beautiful details at every corner. We spent the two days here doing very little - we needed a rest and were happy to relax around the estate, taking a walk through the vineyards and then sitting out on the terrace overlooking the wonderful views down to the sea. The weather was not great so we also enjoyed setting up a lovely open fire in the sitting area of our room and relaxing on the sofa. If the pool area had been open and the weather nicer then I could have wiled away much longer here! I envy those people coming in summer!

We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner here and enjoyed the delicious local produce and fresh fruit and veg from the estate. Only aspects for improvement in terms of dining would be to allow guests longer to enjoy dinner - we felt a little rushed and stuffed from being served four courses in very quick succession! A word on the service too - everyne was friendly and courteous but the young Sri Lankan guy who served dinner, drinks and generally was around helping was particularly charming and kind - we really liked him.

Our room was gorgeous - the Fresco Suite - with a lovely sitting area and very stylish decor and views over the estate to the sea. We would highly recommend it. Only improvements I would suggest would be to instal a nice roll top bath to allow guests to relax in and also an ipod docking station - that would be consistent with the very high standard of comfort that it offers otherwise.

All in all a very memorable place to stay and one that I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: The Fresco suite is spacious, beautifully decorated and has wonderful views. It feels like you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    63
    41
    21
    7
See reviews for
62
251
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We visited this lovely hotel in May, 2013 during our 10 day Italian vacation. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. When I arrived at this hotel I had actually been 6 days without luggage and one of the staff members called the airline for me multiple times and because of them (and their abilities to speak Italian) I finally got my luggage back!!

They were conducting the finishing touches on the pool installation at that time, but still allowed us to go for a little swim! The grounds are lovely and this place is very relaxing and peaceful. If you come here make sure to have at least one dinner on site. The food was amazing and all local. The breakfasts are also lovely. I only hope someday we will return to this lovely place :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica_b09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xewkija, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed for Valentine's 'Weekend. We are arrived very late on Valentine's day, on arrival we were greeted by friendly member of the staff member who welcomed us at the hotel and gave us complimentary drinks.
At this point we were informed that our room was upgraded free of charge :) . We were shown to our room, the Double Deluxe Fruttato which was really nice and had a functioning fireplace.
Dinner was served in a small hall with a functioning master fireplace, staff was extremely nice even though we had arrived after the closing time of the kitchen but they still made sure that me and my girlfriend had a wonderful dining experience.
The next day, breakfast was served in one of the barns which was beautifully restored. It made breakfast even more relaxing with freshly baked bread and an assortment of fresh fruit from the estate itself.
In evening we ate again at the hotel and again the food was amazing.
The following day we had breakfast at the hotel and did the check out. The staff at the check out was extremely nice and helpful.

I would definitely recommend this hotel as an excellent place for a romantic retreat or for a short relaxing holiday.

I would like to thank again the Staff at Monaci delle terre Nere for beign so nie to us.

Regards
Matthew Xuereb

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Persuaded by glowing reviews and knock-out photos of this property, we added this location to our two week Sicily itinerary. Although it probably could be a divine spot, it did not, at least for us, live up to its acclaimed reputation.

We visited in late September while it was still quite warm. Along with being greeted on our arrival by a fence topped with barbed wire, the grounds were not well tended, the internet service was not working properly, the room air conditioner was broken causing us to ATTEMPT sleeping with an window open-----difficult with biting bugs and baying dogs.

The room was extremely dark with minimal lighting and the layout of the bathroom was bizarre. It was located at the top of metal stairs that wobbled when you climbed them (no railing) and you had to duck in order to use the toilet.

When we exchanged emails with the management prior to arriving we were advised that a car was not a necessity and there was much to do on the farm. We were told that there where hiking trails, an infinity pool and a great room we could use. None of those amenities lived up to expectations and in reality where just facades. If you wanted to do anything at this location you needed a car.

On a positive note the wait staff (not management) were pleasant and helpful.

Rather than spend our original reservation time of three nights, we decided to cut our losses, as expensive as that was, and head to our next destination early. Before leaving the next day we had a nice breakfast on a tattered terrace outside along with a few other guests. Guido, the assumed owner, greeted and paid attention to everyone but us, his dissatisfied boarders. We noticed that in on line reviews he is quick to point out the reasons for negative comments about the resort, but didn’t seem at all interested in discussing our dissatisfaction with us directly.

This was an expensive lesson for us, but hopefully in the future we’ll look closer at the details before staying at a place like this. Eco Farms can be wonderful places to stay if they are managed properly and care is taken in making them live up to the high prices charged. We will not return and would not recommend Monaci to our friends.

Room Tip: Stay away from the Suite Amabile!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaci, Owner at Monaci delle Terre Nere, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,
I am sorry to say that your review is less than honest. You arrived and discovered that you were not in a city but in the countryside. You explained to the guest manager that you were terribly sorry but that you had made a mistake. You did not make one complaint about the hotel, the room or the amenities. You immediately decided to find alternative accommodation in the city. You apologised profusely but became angry when she declined to refund your booking. You have decided to exact your revenge with a negative review and therein lies the danger of the review system; some are honest whilst others have an agenda. Sadly, yours is made with a dishonourable agenda. We hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your stay and that no other establishment gave you cause for complaint, however inadvertently such cause may have arisen.
Kind regards
Guido Coffa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Monaci is a well run property that has been beautifully restored through the vision of its passionate owner Guido, who is an exceptionally friendly and insightful host not to mention their lovely and smiley staff.

As soon as you arrive you feel "at home" and part of the "family".

The surroundings are breathtaking with hectares of fruit trees, vegetable gardens and vineyards, all on the Etna slope for you to walk around and see. The place is run with respect to nature, so you get the best of both words: a beautiful and comfortable place while being close and respectful of nature.

The food is exceptional. From the frugal breakfast with local honey and yogurt, homemade/local jams, bread, fruit and vegg from the gardens, not to forget their fresh pressed orange juice!
Dinner consists of a daily set menu with 4 mouth watering courses consisting of local seasonal produce, tasty with a grand choice of wine in a cosy in a homely but very chic setting.

We didn't use the pool due to time of year but it looked inviting with panoramic view of the surroundings.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beezybeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Monaci is well worth the drive to it's remote location. After all, it's a true "get away from it all" kind of stay. Located on the slopes of Mount Etna you will be surrounded by stunning views, vineyards, olives, citrus, figs, and truly amazing gardens which you are free to roam and explore. AND you get to eat all the organic bounty for breakfast or if you dine in for lunch or dinner. Breakfast also features local honey, homemade preserves and Guido's very own organic olive oil (which contains the highest polyphenol content possible).

You are literally surrounded by beauty--natural and manmade. The owner, Guido has poured tons of love and thought into converting an old monastery into this designer boutique making Monaci a unique and comfortable stay. And to top it all off, his staff is kind and efficient.
Also, they are very helpful with arranging transportation or appointments.

We enjoyed the happy hour most evenings as this kind of boutique seems to attract very interesting and friendly guests.

I recommend doing the wine tasting offered by Etna wine school for Monaci guests. Benjamin and Valeria are very cool.

We stayed 5 nights, enjoyed every day of it and would consider going back.

The pool was too cold for us in November but we enjoyed reading poolside and soaking in the views.

They are usually fully booked so book in advance to get the room you'd like.

Have fun!

Room Tip: As they are usually fully booked I was lucky to get a room at all in such short notice. The sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had four lovely days here relaxing after visiting other Italian cities. Very nice living room, bedroom and bathroom. Beautiful pool and sunbathing terrace. Lovely breakfasts amongst the pine trees behind main house. All around the house are marvelous views up to mount Etna and down to the coast. A very tranquil spot to relax in. Only real challenge was finding way home each evening in dark by trying to follow Sicilian road signs.

Room Tip: Garden suite does not have own garden area but has own balcony overlooking view to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zafferana Etnea
10.6 mi away
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Linguaglossa
387 reviews
15.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,013 reviews
1.3 mi away
Airone Wellness Hotel
Airone Wellness Hotel
#1 of 4 in Zafferana Etnea
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
839 reviews
43.5 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
15.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monaci delle Terre Nere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaci delle Terre Nere

Property: Monaci delle Terre Nere
Address: Via Monaci snc, 95019 Zafferana Etnea, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Zafferana Etnea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Zafferana Etnea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaci delle Terre Nere 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2007, by chance, I stumbled upon this place, fell in love with it and decided to devote my life to its resurrection.To bring this place, previously chosen by the monks of Saint Anna’s order for his special energy and extraordinary charm, back to life. It has become the second great project of my life. The estate Monaci delle Terre Nere is situated along the slopes of Mount Etna, the biggest volcano in Europe on the border of the Etna National Park at 500mt above sea level. My wish has been to preserve the historic identity and local traditions, more than a Boutique Hotel it is a home which I hope retains its intimacy. The house which dates from 1800 is listed as one of historical importance. It is now a place where traditional Sicilian Architecture is combined with contemporary art and living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Monaci delle Terre Nere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaci Delle Terre Nere Sicily/Zafferana Etnea, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing