We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic Luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monaci delle Terre Nere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monaci delle Terre Nere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Rustic Luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had two wonderful nights this small hotel set in a peaceful farm setting on the slopes of Mt Etna, the food was fantastic and our hosts delightful. Dinner is a set menu that changes every day and wont disappoint, take their recommendation on wines, they're all local and great.

Room Tip: Check out all there rooms before you book, no two are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NZ_WP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monaciterrenere, Proprietario at Monaci delle Terre Nere, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for choosing Monaci for your stay in Sicily.

We are so glad you enjoyed the food of our restaurant, because our home-grown products and well-finished dishes are a source of pride and we treasure our guests’ feedback.

Thank you for your comments on our estate and on the amazing Mt.Etna.

Our aim is to establish a long and lasting relation with our guests and in this regard, we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again at Monaci in the future.

Warm wishes,

Guido Coffa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    51
    40
    21
    7
See reviews for
59
226
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Piedmont, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel has it all- setting, location, rooms, food, and service. Every staff member we encountered was welcoming and helpfulWe wished we could have stayed longer. We also did a day trip to hike part of the way up Mount Etna which was well worth it. The staff were the most helpful and

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monaciterrenere, Proprietario at Monaci delle Terre Nere, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for taking the time to write your review about your recent stay at our Hotel.

With great pleasure we read that you enjoyed our service, the rooms, our location and the friendliness of our staff, which is always ready to take care of all our guest's requests. Thank you so much for your kind words.

I do hope that we will have pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any further assistance.

Warm regards,

Guido Coffa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
61 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

it s a super cool spot! you wake up to a beautiful scenery all around the place, B&B was nice,
fantastic breakfast, rooms comfortable enough, however they could improve the comfort level,
like adding shampoo, conditioner in the bath, slippers for the cold floor,
also the suit we stayed was part of the old structure and looked really nice however not perfect for allergy, had some smell, due to the stones!
dinner very disappointing, perfect for brits and German tourists, but not what one expects from Sicilian hospitality and tastes and flavours, however the management really kind and understanding about the matters.
over all : nice stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlaDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monaciterrenere, Proprietario at Monaci delle Terre Nere, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for choosing Monaci for your stay in Sicily.

We are grateful for you taking the time to write your review and we are glad that you appreciated the surroundings and the breakfast and that you gave us a positive feedback on your stay.

We like to define ourselves as an eco-friendly hotel, that’s why we do not use mono-dose soap and we provide our guests with soap-dispensers within the rooms.

Our restaurant serves only fresh food and dishes which are prepared with home-grown products, which are a source of pride for us.

Thank you for your constructive criticism which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Guido Coffa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We enjoyed our weekend here enormously. The surroundings here are beautiful and the Staff extremely friendly and helpful. You can sit by the salt water infinity pool and enjoy views of Mt Etna. We dined in both nights and were not disappointed, the food was delicious. We went for a wander around the farm first thing before breakfast each morning and saw where a lot of this fresh food comes from. Breakfast was equally tasty with a good choice, boiled eggs, fresh fruit, salami, yoghurt fruit juices bread apple cake and coffee...delicious.

We look forward to revisiting sometime in the future.

Thank you for a great break.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monaciterrenere, Proprietario at Monaci delle Terre Nere, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for choosing Monaci for your stay in Sicily.

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback on the site following your stay with us and I am thrilled that you had a very special experience. I am delighted that you appreciated the helpful team and that they made your stay a very special experience and I have passed your kind word to everyone.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you for your loyalty and kind regards,

Guido Coffa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago de chile
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We booked 3 nights in a suite at the gorgeous Monaci delle Terre Nere but checked out after the first night.
The grounds on the slopes of Etna are truly stunning and the suite we booked had a view of the volcano. However, it was situated directly above the kitchen and the entrance to the room was also where the kept cleaning and kitchen supplies. The clattering and banging from this 'cupboard' area was made worse by the noise of the blender and dishwasher from the kitchen. From 7am-11:30pm there was constant noise.
We asked if we could change suite/room and we were told they were fully booked. We had breakfast whilst thinking about whether to check out or not. This was the finally stage of our honeymoon where we had chosen this peaceful, luxurious location after the chaos of Rome and Palermo. At the moment we decided to stay music started blasting from speakers around the swimming pool where we were told they were to be hosting a private birthday party (for their friends, it later emerged). This was the last straw. When we confronted the owner he arrogantly said he didn't know what our problem was and if we wanted to leave we were to pay for the 3 nights not just the 1. We argued and it got ugly. We didn't want anything for free -although I feel he should've discounted something for the inconvenience- we just wanted to pay for what we'd used and leave. At this point he then offered to us a bigger suite 300m from the main buiIding (which was 'fully booked' beforehand but of course, he was then going ask his friends to move).
In the end we realised we had made the booking through the Splendia website and telephoned them for help.
After everything we managed to pay for just our 1 night and promptly left.
It was an absolutely disappointing experience after
everything we'd read about this "Sicilian retreat, deliberately small and discreet, providing an unpretentious hideaway tucked away from the hurly burly of life"

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Loicadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monaciterrenere, Proprietario at Monaci delle Terre Nere, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for the positive description of our property and position: those who are lucky enough to visit our surroundings and to admire Mt.Etna slopes and landscape are always enchanted by its beauty, calm and striking grandeur.

I regret reading that you did not appreciate your room and I am sorry you found it noisy as our rooms have 17th century stone walls which are very heavy and they prevent possible disruption from noise. Moreover, the only part of your room which is close to the common area is the bathroom, so we are very sorry that you have been particularly sensitive to the background noise.

Once we had the possibility, we immediately propose to you to change your room and in order to do this, we had to disturb the guests of another room who have been so kind to accept the inconvenience. I would like to stress how unpleasant was for us to bother other guests and how your refusal to this offer has been disappointing for us. The discount you were offered was not given by Splendia but by Monaci, anyway you refused it too.
I would like to stress that, while booking online, the cancellation policy is well explained, so a refund cannot be provided on the first day of the stay.

The party you mentioned was a small meeting at the poolside, with soft music in the background, creating an intimate and pleasant atmosphere.

I regret reading the word “arrogant” referred to myself because I always strive to create a friendly relation with my guests, as a home-owner more than as a GM. I felt hurt and offended by your personal attack and I am very sorry that you are damaging the image of this place, using this useful website in a way that I found inappropriate.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Thank you,
Best regards.
Guido Coffa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

As soon as you get through the gates of this hotel, you can leave all your troubles behind. We stayed 7 nights in a row and settled for an independent lodge situated about 300 meters from the main building (nr 7, "Somptuoso"). It had a sweeping view over the countryside and the sea on the front side and the Etna on the backside. Lots of space and a very large bed with a perfect mattress.
Breakfast was a real feast. Fruit from the estate, fresh orange juice, local made sausages, honeys and cheeses, home made jams, bread and cakes; goat milk, yoghurt, organic eggs, etc. etc. Dinners were good and offered us an excellent occasion to get to know the very masculine Etna wines.
Service was irreproachable.
Very special thanks to all the members of the staff who made this stay the highlight of our holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed for two nights last week as part of a week touring Sicily. The hotel is very characterful and charming. The decor is particularly fine and a lot of effort has gone in to producing a very stylish place to stay with lovely modern art and beautiful details at every corner. We spent the two days here doing very little - we needed a rest and were happy to relax around the estate, taking a walk through the vineyards and then sitting out on the terrace overlooking the wonderful views down to the sea. The weather was not great so we also enjoyed setting up a lovely open fire in the sitting area of our room and relaxing on the sofa. If the pool area had been open and the weather nicer then I could have wiled away much longer here! I envy those people coming in summer!

We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner here and enjoyed the delicious local produce and fresh fruit and veg from the estate. Only aspects for improvement in terms of dining would be to allow guests longer to enjoy dinner - we felt a little rushed and stuffed from being served four courses in very quick succession! A word on the service too - everyne was friendly and courteous but the young Sri Lankan guy who served dinner, drinks and generally was around helping was particularly charming and kind - we really liked him.

Our room was gorgeous - the Fresco Suite - with a lovely sitting area and very stylish decor and views over the estate to the sea. We would highly recommend it. Only improvements I would suggest would be to instal a nice roll top bath to allow guests to relax in and also an ipod docking station - that would be consistent with the very high standard of comfort that it offers otherwise.

All in all a very memorable place to stay and one that I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: The Fresco suite is spacious, beautifully decorated and has wonderful views. It feels like you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zafferana Etnea
1.3 mi away
Airone Wellness Hotel
Airone Wellness Hotel
#1 of 5 in Zafferana Etnea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
15.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
16.4 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.5 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
11.7 mi away
Castello di San Marco Charming Hotel & SPA
15.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monaci delle Terre Nere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaci delle Terre Nere

Property: Monaci delle Terre Nere
Address: Via Monaci snc, 95019 Zafferana Etnea, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Zafferana Etnea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Zafferana Etnea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaci delle Terre Nere 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2007, by chance, I stumbled upon this place, fell in love with it and decided to devote my life to its resurrection.To bring this place, previously chosen by the monks of Saint Anna’s order for his special energy and extraordinary charm, back to life. It has become the second great project of my life. The estate Monaci delle Terre Nere is situated along the slopes of Mount Etna, the biggest volcano in Europe on the border of the Etna National Park at 500mt above sea level. My wish has been to preserve the historic identity and local traditions, more than a Boutique Hotel it is a home which I hope retains its intimacy. The house which dates from 1800 is listed as one of historical importance. It is now a place where traditional Sicilian Architecture is combined with contemporary art and living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Monaci delle Terre Nere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaci Delle Terre Nere Sicily/Zafferana Etnea, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing