We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Inspector Needed”
Review of Ugie House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keith
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ugie House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Keith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a wedding, wish I had taken the option if staying in friends caravan instead!

Hotel dated, no-one at reception, receptionist didn't even know what time breakfast was in morning!

Room was well old.... Sheets didn't fit bed, floor sloped, towels barely covered modesty.

Breakfast was average, though had to keep getting up to share milk with other five tables.

Thank god I was hungover when staying in room, never been so glad to get home!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scots_Fireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for Ugie House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2013

The food in the restaurant in the evenings is excellent. We stayed for 3 nights at the end of March and found the rooms very tired but clean.
Good selection for breakfasts but avoid the smoked haddock as the piece that I had one morning was overcooked as was the poached egg on the top of it. Apart from this the Cooked breakfast options that I had on the other mornings more than made up for my one disappointment.
Staff were helpful and friendly even though one spilt a drink over me as we sat down for a snack on the first day.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank HofIlkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

someone to seat us. Seems staff was busy in the kitchen (Not sure). My friend and I were the only one there at the moment. On a quiet Thursday evening for dinner. The waitress finally took our drink order and handed us the menu, then quickly diapered. we did not see her again until she brought us our drinks and 5 minutes later took our order. We were only seated a minute before our starters were served. Food was ok nothing spectacular. I had the Prawn in tater sauce .... for the main I had Haddock with Steam veggies and boiled potatoes. Again nothing spectacular. Food was warm and then the meal was over. There were a few more customers. That went through the same waiting for the waitress routine. Waitress never came back to ask how the food was and if we needed anything.. but had to stop her so I could ask for some lime and butter for my fish to give it some taste.. I would have to say not really my style, and the people are not as friendly as the town slogan goes!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Due to nature of my work a do travel a lot. I've seen lots of hotels. While Ugie is not the worst hotel i have ever stayed in i can't recommend it. Unless you're out of options :)

Shower that can give you severe burns, flaky paint, bathroom not re-decorated since 60s, decor from early 50's. No chair in the room, no mains sockets near the bed. Deserted reception.

I could clearly hear somebody snoring upstairs...

yay - Free wifi...

Judging by other reviews of this hotel i have a suspicion that quality of room varies a lot...

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noizz_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

Organised a seminar here and stayed overnight. Bedroom was adequate with a good-sized bathroom and spotless throughout.
Dinner was generously portioned and well-presented. Ditto breakfast.
Slight issue with no projector available for seminar (although there is a screen?), and young girl who checked us out struggled to add up our bill without a calculator to hand!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlislecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Ffour covers average food, well presented, good service.
Wife's Salmon not cooked properly, my Chicken roulade not bad, came with rice AND mash tatties also with veggies. Enough food to feed a small country though, between the four of us.

Room Tip: didnt stay at hotel so only commenting on the restaurant
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt13teen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We stayed at the Ugie House Hotel for a friends wedding and we found the meal was the best wedding meal we have ever had. The waitresses where so polite and looked after everyone so well. The hall was amazingly decorated! They should all be very proud in how well the Ugie House Hotel hosted us all!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paula9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keith
9.6 mi away
Eastbank Hotel
Eastbank Hotel
#2 of 2 in Rothes
63 reviews
11.7 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
246 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Cullen Bay Hotel
Cullen Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cullen
367 reviews
15.6 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
429 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fife Arms Hotel
The Fife Arms Hotel
#6 of 6 in Keith
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ugie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ugie House Hotel

Address: Church Road, Keith AB55 5BR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Keith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Keith
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Ugie House Hotel Keith, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing