We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Whisky Shop Dufftown

The Whisky Shop Dufftown
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Keith
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Whisky Shop Dufftown is in the heart of Speyside and The Malt Whisky Trail. We offer an exceptional selection of over 600 whiskies for you to buy on-line, over the phone or by dropping in to see us at the shop we have many of our whiskies available for you to try. We hold whisky tastings by arrangement for groups or individuals – it’s a relaxed yet informative way to find out more about whisky.
Lochgelly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

When in Speyside a visit to this shop is a must! The range is second to none and I found the staff to be helpful and a patient even to a customer like myself who has very little knowledge of whisky. There was a wide range of bottles to taste and I felt under no obligation to purchase (although I did buy a bottle).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stuartie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    14
    1
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norge
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best whiskyshop in Speyside ?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Probably the best whisky shop in Speyside. The staff is always very friendly and helpful finding your favorite whisky. Their selection of whisky is also very very good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Snorre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beste Whisky Shop in Dufftown!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

The best whisky shop in Dufftown, and possible in the entire country! Great selection of whisky. Including many independent bottlers. Very knowledgeable staff (and owner to I suppose). Excellent service. Have been buying whisky there for many years now. Always to my great satisfaction. They're always happy to help. For me it's a must stop every time I'm in Speyside.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teun73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
205 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“bad attitude”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Called in here recently. I had also done so a year ago. Same man in the shop with the same attitude. Arrogant and dismissive. It was the usual you can taste if your buying something. Real lack of patience with foreign national guests who were asking questions. There is a good selection prices are high in my view. If touring call into Robertson's at Pitlochry. Good selection great prices and a much better attitude to customers. They would do better having a tasting charge for customers. Really poor can turn the whisky sour!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter1Northampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very unimpressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

The woman serving in this shop appeared to regard us as a nuisance. She was far more interested in her laptop than us. She refused to let us sample and gave us no advice. The shop was very cramped and there was a lot of noise from upstairs. We did buy something but only because we knew one whisky we definitely wanted and the price was reasonable. The town of Dufftown in general was a huge disappointment - the woman in the nearby coffee shop cleaned out her nose before serving us with indifferent coffee and scones and several shops were closed. The scenery is nice but is scenery enough?
The address given here says Keith. It is not in Keith. The owners haven't even bothered to correct that. Keith is a lot nicer.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Moravian19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Whisky Shop Dufftown also viewed

 

Been to The Whisky Shop Dufftown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing