We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Outside Wedding Catering.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keith
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royal Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 6 Keith B&B and Inns
Rothes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Outside Wedding Catering.”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The Royal Hotel provided the catering for our daughter's wedding in a country village hall.
Everything from beginning to end was first class. The food was superb and every member of staff - kitchen, waiting and bar went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure that everything went without a hitch.
The wedding guests were full of praise for the whole event and We cannot recommend them highly enough as outside caterers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    26
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
22
23
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Comfortable, clean with friendly staff. Great old fashioned service, breakfast was superb and eating in the restaurant was a treat, in fact we chose to eat there both nights we stayed. The chef happily adapted the menu to cater for my gluten free needs and it was delicious. There are no lifts but the staff will happily assist if required. A staff member went out of her way to get me some gluten free sweet treats from a local bakery and delivered them to our room. Off street parking available.Highly recommend as a great homely place to stay while visiting the lovely Keith area. Thank you from down under Brett and Sharon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wishful50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Very comfortable and homely.Staff great and nothing too much trouble you only have to ask
and they do there best to provide what u want even an ironing board
We stayed at the royal for our sons wedding and it was perfect from start to finish.
Food always available and the breakfast was superb everything u wanted and again you only have to ask and you got

Thanks to all the staff for a wonderful stay.

We'll be staying with you again .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reedy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Attended a wedding here at the weekend. Could not of wished for better service, the hall was beautifully set and the food again was excellent as usual. The waitresses were all very smart and quick and polite service. They couldn't of done enough for us. Keep up the good work girl

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vera allan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckie, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We enjoyed a most wonderful meal at The Royal Hotel last night. Went there to celebrate two family birthdays & an anniversary & could not have made a better choice of venue. Goat's cheese starter & sweet potato with a hint of chilli & coconut soup served with warm bread rolls - delicious! All mains were selected from the Specials & simply could not be faulted. Cumin-spiced rump of lamb with minted couscous & pomegranate; salmon served with a Marco-Pierre White ketchup & spring onion sauce and a beautiful selection of perfectly cooked vegetables with a special timbale of mashed potato; special roast fillet of beef served on a bed of double rosti cakes & topped with a slightly melting blue cheese & butter, accompanied by a deliciously dressed salad with exquisite-tasting shoots & herbs around the plate - the beef melted in the mouth & was one of the best steaks I have ever had the priviledge to eat! Although the portions are always large, the temptation of the mouth-watering menu saw us also order a couple of desserts! A lemon & lime cheesecake cream with berries & crumbled ginger biscuits - simply sublime! Also a cheeseboard with a generous selection of cheeses, oatcakes & crackers & fruit - always my husband's favourite! We enjoyed wine with our meal - a tasty tipple at a very reasonable price. The staff were friendly & worked hard to look after all the customers but a special mention is due to the owners of the establishment who were both working in the dining room & bar area to ensure glasses were topped-up & that the meals were to everyone's satisfaction - GREAT customer service - thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juicyfruit11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Stayed here one night - 6th July, after attending a function in the hotel. Room looked ok to start, but closer observation noticed paint off the wall, no plug where the kettle was situated, had to put kettle on floor next to bed to switch it on, no hairdryer in room and no Gideon's Bible. No information booklet about hotel either. Bathroom had only one little shelf behind sistern, nowhere to hang clothes or towels, a double hook on the door and a towel rail wouldn't break the bank surely. The lock on our door was held in place with one screw and was not exactly secure. My husband is unable because of health problems to lift and carry our suitcase, and while I was struggling downstairs with the suitcase, the gent sitting in reception looked up from his mobile phone and just said "Aye aye" and didn't even offer to help at that stage or when we had to go down steps to get out the front door (could not use the side where a ramp was because that door was locked)!! Having read several reviews which said the was a "great hotel" and to quote the hotel's own site" Our Hotel offers all the amenities of an upscale hotel" I would really have to disagree!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntly, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This place is a must , right on the main front ,so easy to find.Parking at the back of the hotel or at the side. Through the front door up the stairs and turn left . you will be greated and seated drinks orders etc and menu . we were seated in a long lounge area ,cool and plenty off space The food came quite quickly after ordering and wow it looked good and tasted lovely .( we had the roast ..,mealt in the mouth)The prices are excellent. The waiting staff are all very helpful and the chap behind the main bar was most intertaining ,with good humar,and ideas to what to see things and places to visit in the area . this place is a local favorite ,and as they say ,",eat where the locals eat and you will not go far wrong "

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keith
9.6 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
180 reviews
11.8 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
234 reviews
11.1 mi away
Cullen Bay Hotel
Cullen Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cullen
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Craigellachie Hotel
Craigellachie Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigellachie
576 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fife Arms Hotel
The Fife Arms Hotel
#5 of 6 in Keith
28 reviews
3.0 mi away
Chapelhill Croft
Chapelhill Croft
#1 of 6 in Keith
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Royal Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 3 Star | Church Rd, Keith AB55 5BR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Keith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Keith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel was built in 1883 and is situated on the main A96 equidistance to Aberdeen & Inverness. The hotel has been refurbished to a high standard. We have 20 bedrooms all of them boasting beautiful en-suites. Tea & Coffee making facilities & TVs in every room. The hotel is an ideal base for golfing, fishing, shooting, visiting whiskey distilleries & simply for sightseeing some of the magnificent views along the Moray Coastline. The Hotel's Restaurant is known as the best place to eat in the surrounding area and boasts an award winning Chef who produces quality dishes not only for the refined dinner but the more hearty eater as well. The Hotel offers full conference facilities suitable for small or large groups. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel And Restaurant Keith, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing