We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Location”
Review of Brandwirt Gasthof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brandwirt Gasthof
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gosau
Orange, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is a nice traditional Gasthof in a beautiful spot. Easy to get to, just off the main road about 15 minutes west oh Halstatt, close enough to go into town after the crowds are gone. Very good breakfast. Good service. Clean. We were there in June but its clearly a great base of operations for winter sports.
WiFi connectivity is very limited. A little bar of soap in the bathroom would have been nice

Room Tip: No elevator so if you have mobility problems request a low room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tw3retiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    21
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Apparently a great place to start a ski trip from, I cannot comment, but this traditional Gasthof
provided a great stay for the family and some friends. In a refurbished old building held in the same family for centuries you can see the history in the architecture. A very traditional family run restaurant and bar on the bottom floor and two more stories of rooms. Has a play area outside for the kids and a stack of toys for the younger kids to play with upstairs. Free wifi access is available as well as free parking. A short drive to the outstandingly beautiful town of Hallstatt that is a must to see for a day or two. Ensuites/Toilets are retrofitted into the rooms so are very small but adequate. A beautiful part of Austria.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDS_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Recently returned from a weeks stay in the Gasthof Brandwirt. Hotel was excellent value with comprehensive buffet breakfast and hearty 3 course evening meal with salad buffet. We had a standard double room which was always nice and warm and bath with an excellent supply of very hot water.
We had a balcony with lovely views toward the mountains and ski area in Gosau (Room 36).
Décor was a bit basic but adequate and kept nice and clean. Had TV in room but could not find any English speaking channels. Free Wi-Fi available in reception area only.Staff and owners were all very nice and helpful, particularly when we left the parcel shelf from our rental car at the hotel when we left. When we asked could we pay to post it back Anna e-mailed to say they would drop it in at the airport in the next few days at no cost. Most helpful and excellent communication via e-mail when we made the original booking with the hotel.
We had a car so drove to the lifts which were only about 5 - 10 minutes away. Very good ski area and lift system. But busy as it was a holiday time for Vienna apparently when we were there!
Efficient lift system but would choose to go when quieter.
Fantastic position to visit Hallstatt, St Wolfgang, Salzburg etc if not skiing. Hallstatt is a gorgeous place and well worth the 15-20 minute drive.
Not an awful lot to do in Gosau however. Resort a bit spread out and no particular heart. Glad we chose half board as excellent quality and not much choice nearby otherwise. Would recommend car hire as also free parking at the hotel and only short drive from Salzburg.
Would definitely recommend and many thanks again to Anna and the staff for a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Room 36 was at the end of the first floor so quiet and with lovely views and sunny aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieBWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
340 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Cozy small hotel. The views around it are beautiful! We stayed here when we wanted to go to Hallstat, which is my favorite city in all of Austria! We were with a tour group, so this was picked for us. No wifi are anything fancy, but still a cozy place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stcloudmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US expat in Moscow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed here over New Year's and enjoyed the generous breakfast and dinner (halfboard option). It is a family owned operation and very cozy. A short (free) bus ride to the ski lifts is easy to access at the bus stop directly down the small hill from the hotel. The cross-country ski path is directly in front of the hotel. There is a storage room for ski equipment and boot dryer downstairs. Free parking in front of hotel. Our room and bathroom could use an update, but was clean and comfortable. Dogs are welcome for 15 EUR per stay fee. Beautiful in winter and surely summer too.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a balcony, some with bath tubs. We had a non-smoking room on second floor with balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EK-STL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gosau
5.7 mi away
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
#2 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
7.1 mi away
Resort Obertraun
Resort Obertraun
#2 of 4 in Obertraun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Landhaus Koller
Landhaus Koller
#2 of 5 in Gosau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Gasthof zur Post
Gasthof zur Post
#4 of 8 in Bad Goisern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
5.7 mi away
Seehotel Gruener Baum
Seehotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Lindwurm
Hotel Lindwurm
#8 of 8 in Bad Goisern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandwirt Gasthof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandwirt Gasthof

Property: Brandwirt Gasthof
Address: Gosau Nr. 151, Gosau 4824, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Gosau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gosau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brandwirt Gasthof 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Brandwirt Gasthof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing