We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicely located lounge”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Gecko Lounge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape Maclear
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gecko Lounge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Maclear
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
138 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nicely located lounge”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Simple but clean rooms, very friendly and kind staff, wonderful view on the lake.

The prices for food and drinks (all except beer) are a rip-off and far too expensive (e.g. Pizza US$ 12-14), the basic (but clean) rooms are also overpriced (USD 80-90). So it might be worth while to consider meals in the village.

All in all, good time and nice experience, the average rating is composed of nice location and good service with too low value for money. .

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikiAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    35
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
9
18
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We arrived at Gecko Lounge after dark on a Tuesday evening and I think we may have been the only people staying there that night. I was somewhat surprised at the price of the room, especially since it didn't include breakfast and it was not during peak season. We were charged $80 for a double room with an en suite bathroom, which is not an unreasonable price, but was certainly higher than any other place we'd stayed in Malawi, including Blantyre. I was a bit annoyed that I wasn't able to shower that evening because we didn't have hot water and besides the barman and the security, there was no one around who we could get to sort it out for us. The next morning we were allowed to use another room to shower.
I'd give it 5 stars for location and friendliness, but overall in comparison to the experiences we had at other Malawian places of accommodation, it was pretty average.
But what the hell, being in beautiful Cape Mc Clear can quickly cause amnesia about minor discomforts! And the manager did give us a $10 discount for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank u-amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

There are only a few high quality places to stay in Cape MacClear, Gekko lounge is not the cheapest but is the best combination or hybrid of hostel / hotel experiences. The chalets are very well decorated, comfortable and clean. Service is a little slow at the restaurant but helps you to get in the relaxed frame of mind for lake Malawi, the bar gets lively on the weekend nights and pretty chilled during the week. Its a great place to get some really good pictures of the lake, especially at sunset.
Some general tips for travelers, you can get belhartsia tablets in the medical center about 15 minutes walk out of the town, it will cost about $20, depending on your weight. there can be a few drunk bums around the town who might try latch bringing you to shops if you make this mistake to chat with them..

Room Tip: At the weekend the bar is noisy, get the chalets far away from it if you need an early night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichieD31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

We stayed at Tuckaways which is a few cabins on the beach about 400m along the beach from Gecko but owned by the same people. Our breakfast was served in Gecko so the two are very closely linked. The setting was beautiful, we had our own cabins right on the water. Unfortunately one of them had a lot of bugs the first night but it was fine the second night. The music from the bar at Gecko and another bar nearby could be heard in the cabins but didn't keep me awake. The staff were really friendly and helpful and did their best to help us with activities and make us feel welcome.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnIrishView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Great place. Spacious, nice looking room, good shower and a beds with mosquito nets. All the windows are covered by mosquito nets. Right at the beach. Nice place to relax in the hammocks. Super friendly and helpful staff. Especially Richi was really great and helpful. Restaurant/bar with nice view and good food.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMSUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

I stayed in Chalet 2 which has a kitchen (small fridge, hot plate, dishes, etc), bathroom, double bed along with a bunk bed. Mosquito netting surrounded both the beds. I had a large veranda which had a table two chairs, a bench and a lounge chair. About 20 feet away from the veranda, there were three hammocks which were extremely comfortable and great for reading. Unfortunately, Malawi is experiencing a severe gas shortage so the Cape was pretty quiet considering it is supposed to be quite a party town. There is a restaurant on the property and the food was excellent. They make some of the best pizza I've ever had. The fireworks pizza was really tasty. I also had breakfast there and it was more than adequate. There are other rooms there that are smaller and obviously less expensive, but I couldn't resist the veranda.

Lake Malawi is beautiful and well worth visiting. Supposedly it's the 9th largest lake in the world. Scuba diving and snorkeling are a must when visiting as the fish are unbelievably beautiful and colorful. It's a little pricey (you can definitely find cheaper lodging (if you don't mind sharing a bathroom), but much cheaper than some of the lodges in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjl202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2011

This is a really nice place, the best – apart from the ridiculously over priced ones! However there are a couple of bug bears! The boat/souvenir touts are not meant to approach you on the grounds but their office is so close (next to our chalet, so they could see us all the time) that we found they hassled way too much. The chalets are very nice but don’t take number 2! On the other side of the fence live a large family with many noisy children & roosters. There is nothing Gecko can do about the noise but be expected to wake up to it at the crack of dawn & it goes all day! For some reason food takes a long time to arrive at Cape Maclear so be ready for it! Gecko’s normal wait after ordering was 45 minutes to 1 ¼ hours. Still, better than at Fat Monkeys where we waited 2 hours for dinner!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Maclear
24.7 mi away
Sunbird Nkopola Lodge
Sunbird Nkopola Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mangochi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Waters by Serendib
4.2 mi away
Thumbi View Lodge
Thumbi View Lodge
#2 of 19 in Cape Maclear
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Mgoza Lodge
Mgoza Lodge
#3 of 19 in Cape Maclear
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Funky Cichlid
The Funky Cichlid
#1 of 3 in Cape Maclear
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
11.3 mi away
Nkhudzi Lodge
Nkhudzi Lodge
#1 of 18 in Mangochi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gecko Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gecko Lounge

Property: Gecko Lounge
Address: Chembe Villgae, Cape Maclear, Lake Malawi National Park, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Lake Malawi National Park > Cape Maclear
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Maclear
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prices: $90 Chalets $75 Rooms $15 Reed room per person Gecko Lounge is the only place to be at the weekends in Malawi - situated on the shores of Lake Malawi in Chembe Village in Cape Maclear (near Monkey bay). We have 2 self catering en-suite lakeside chalets & 4 x en-suite rooms & the Reed Room which is perfect for groups, families & travelers on a budget (sleeps 8 in private sections). We also have an already legendary Bar, damn fine restaurant & pizza oven, diving & kayaks, hi-speed wi-fi internet access, boat trip organization.... we do it all basically.... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gecko Lounge Malawi/Cape Maclear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing