We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spent 4 relaxing days in a beautiful room right on the lake.”
Review of Thumbi View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thumbi View Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spent 4 relaxing days in a beautiful room right on the lake.”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

The rooms, service, and host were amazing. The views and sunsets from the beach which is about 100ft from my room were incredible. Clean and friendly. I loved that shops and other resturants were just a out the gate or a 5 minute walk down the beach.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jinnaebriane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nnoeth, Owner at Thumbi View Lodge, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Thank you for your review, and thank you for choosing Thumbi to get to know Cape Maclear. Clearly you fell in love as much with the place as we did and it was such a pleasure having you stay here. We do hope you will be back and look forward to it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    31
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
34
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2014

The owners of this place are awesome! The rooms are nice with mosquito nets and nice breezes. The place is directly on the lake so as you walk out of your room you see the beautiful lake and islands. It is gated and very safe and secure. Near lots of craft markets and friendly locals who love to see tourists. I will absolutely be back. The entire staff was great.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mlockett84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nnoeth, Owner at Thumbi View Lodge, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Thank you for taking the time to mention us here. Yes Cape Maclear is like the worlds was before. Greeting strangers that pass you, being able to walk down the road at 20h00 and not to worry about safety. This is our Cape Maclear and it is always an honour to share if with guests. Hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilongwe, Lilongwe, Malawi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I loved being here! The couple that owns the place is such a sweet couple, beautiful servant hearts and always willing to help with anything. The rooms are nice, hot showers and a beautiful view of the Lake! Food is AMAZING!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nnoeth, Owner at Thumbi View Lodge, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Thank you for the visit and for taking the time to let us know you loved it. It is an amazing place, where I am sitting in the restaurant now I hear birds all around, with Fish eagles a bit back, cool breeze coming through here and in half an hour we are going for a swim in the lake. Sorry I hope I do not make you miss it too much! It was a pleasure having you here and we are so looking forward to the next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Affordable accommodation, very friendly staff and they were willing to help us in difficulties which occurred (such as not having enough cash...). Rooms were really nice and clean but a bit noisy due to the Bar close to the lodge. We would definately come again!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennipit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nnoeth, Owner at Thumbi View Lodge, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Thank you very much for the review. Your visit coincided with the inauguration of the new chief and the town celebrated it. But we are in a fishing village it gets a bit noisy some times. But it still sounds if you enjoyed your visit and for that we are very happy. We are constantly busy with renovations and hope you will be pleasantly surprised when you come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laramie, Wyoming
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Thumbi is a place like no other. A must stay! The staff is incredible and tend to your every need without being overwhelming. The rooms provide all that one could as for and the lodge is like being home. I have stayed in many lodges in Africa over the last 4 years and this is by far the best. The prices are very fair, you NEVER feel taken advantage of and the food.... INCREDIBLE!
I cannot express how impressed I am with this place... You will have to visit to know. When you do, say hi to all at the lodge and the village. Not only is the lodge incredible, the village is safe and very real! The only complaint I have is that I could not stay longer (I stayed 9 days as a line female traveler). Zikomo Chris, Noleen, Piet and Richard!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 710NIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nnoeth, Owner at Thumbi View Lodge, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Thank you so much for this! We really appreciate it. It was such a pleasure having you here for that time, and talk about the perfect client, that is you. I hope your soil analysis was successful and we can't wait for you to be back. This time make sure not to sit in a village in the middle of nowhere, COME HERE! See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I really enjoyed my time at Cape MacLear. Thumbi View Lodge was amazing! It was a perfect place for backpackers and other travellers alike. It attracts friendly people - I've made many friends while staying at Thumbi. Noleen, Chris, and Piet are great people: very friendly and very accommodating. The food was amazing; only topped by the incredible view! I would strongly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Any room is great, the backpackers rooms are very affordable and are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arnewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nnoeth, Owner at Thumbi View Lodge, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Thank you for the review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you fell in love with Cape Maclear like we did. Hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed there one night with a friend. I knew it was very basic and a work-in-progress. We had a comfortable, clean room. The shower was hot and with great water pressure. The owners were helpful and accommodating. The lodge was a few doors down from the the kayak rental- which my friend and I used. The weakest part of the whole weekend was that the dinner options were very limited. Everyone was served at the same time. So even though we ordered dinner around 5, we weren't served until 7- when everyone was served. The amount of food was average- but for a guy, it may be on the small side. Otherwise, I was happy with my time there and would definitely go back. .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelbugFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nnoeth, Owner at Thumbi View Lodge, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post the review. We have had so many compliments regarding our eating arrangements, because of the family feel, that we were not aware that you did not like this. At dinner different people get a chance to meet each other and use the opportunity to form new friendships as well as sharing travel tips. We are always open to suggestions, so we now offer dinner for a longer period in order to accommodation the people that want to dine earlier. We will look at portion size however, it is difficult because one person's " to much" is another's "to little". Hope to see you back soon and enjoy the rest of your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Maclear
4.2 mi away
Gecko Lounge
Gecko Lounge
#1 of 1 in Cape Maclear
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Waters by Serendib
72.7 mi away
Madidi Lodge
Madidi Lodge
#6 of 12 in Lilongwe
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#3 of 12 in Lilongwe
88 reviews
15.5 mi away
Nkhudzi Lodge
Nkhudzi Lodge
#2 of 20 in Mangochi
10 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cape Maclear EcoLodge
Cape Maclear EcoLodge
#6 of 19 in Cape Maclear
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thumbi View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thumbi View Lodge

Property: Thumbi View Lodge
Address: Village Road, Cape Maclear, Lake Malawi National Park 0157, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Lake Malawi National Park > Cape Maclear
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Cape Maclear
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come on over for the holiday of a life time! You have an on site scuba school, or snorkel surrounded by over 1000 species of brightly coloured cichlids. Rent a kayaks, go sailing on our 18 Foot Catamaran, go Thumbi island and have a BBQ and see Fish eagles up close. Then come back to the lodge, order a sun downer and sit in the pool whilst watching the sun set over the magnificent lake, nature's show of colours as you have never seen. Transfers to and from the lodge available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Thumbi View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thumbi View Lodge Malawi/Cape Maclear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing