We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glamping at its best”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Maclear
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Domwe Island Adventure Camp
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“Glamping at its best”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We kayaked all the way to this camping spot from the main land.Upon arrival all you see is the magnificent beach and vegetation. The stylish camping tents are well hidden within the marvel of this exotic island. It is so private that u can easily think you are the only guest there; It is sooo easy to get lost in time. Activities include snorkelling, kayaking and hiking/mountain clumbing. We spotted a civet cat and some bush pigs and a lot of bird species. Come braai on the beach at night or indulged in their set menu which include some Malawian delicacies. Beatiful Peaceful and everything a dream holiday is made of.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KayGee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We only spent 1 night on the island but we loved it and would have liked to have stayed longer. Two of us kayaked over while two of us took the boat with our luggage and supplies which was convenient because you can't fit much into the kayaks. The island has a private beach and you can bring your own camping supplies or stay in one of their furnished tents, which we did and thought it was worth it. You can go snorkeling or hike up the hill to the top or just lounge around in one of the hammocks and read a book. We very much enjoyed going as a small group. I'm not much of a camper but this place was great.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The place is self-catering and we didn't have very many supplies with us, so one of the staff members paddled out to a local fisherman and brought back some fish for us. In the evening, the staff called us over to see the bush pigs rummaging around for food. We even got to see a civet cat.

For food, make sure you bring enough! I'd recommend stopping by a supermarket before getting to Cape MaClear as there isn't much in the way of supplies. There are a few small shops where you can buy eggs, bread, beans, chips, tomatoes and some bananas. They even sell cooking oil in small clear bags. They have a kitchen and salt and pepper on the island.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DP301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We loaded our backpacks onto the kayaks and paddled to Domwe island for 3 magical nights. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We had a fish braai on the beach. We camped on a wooden deck overlooking the lake. Walk to the top of the hill for a beautiful view. You must take all your own food with but you can buy fresh fish from passing boats and there is a bar. Snorkeling is excellent.

Room Tip: You need to bring your own tent or stay in one of the safari tents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed on Domwe Island for 4 days in June, what a great time we had. We kayaked and swam in the warm clear water. One day we climbed to the top of the hill behind the camp, from here you can see for miles across the blue lake water to the distand mountains of the rift valley.

The camp is great, comfortable beds, quite surrounds and attentive staff. A wonderfull no fuss place to relax.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4south
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hangzhou, China
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

After the "oppulence" of Mumbo Island, I was wonderfully suprised at yet another fantastic stay at Domwe. We had a great room - with a stunning view of the beach below and the lake - with a short clamber down to the beach itself. The staff on the island were fantastic, and a special mention must be made of Francis, our chef. He managed to produce three fantastic meals a day (one vegetarian and one not) from the hodge podge of supplies we brought along - a miracle worker. The staff were really great at assisting my travel buddy in procuring some fish from the local fisherman. I would suggest that you do take along some mosquito coils - there arent many mosquito's on the island, but the flies can become a bit much. A torch of your own is helpful - as the kinetic lamps provided require constant winding.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rdaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

5 of us canoed over to the island for 2 nights.. Perfect relaxation with swimming snorkelling canoeing relaxing. Well maintained spotless tentss and beach and the 2 resident guides ever helpful but unobtrusive. Solar lanterns at night.No electricity no wifi all a bonus. Great sunsets.Freshly baked bread available as a sprise bonus

Room Tip: If you want a spotless retreat to your 'own' island this is it. Dont look for mods cons if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainbow003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

The service was great. The island is self-catering & luckily Kayak Africa have a shop on the mainland where we could buy some groceries that were not overpriced & frozen (cheese, chicken, bacon, mince), kept in the ice box on the island. We found the markets in Malawi were well stocked with fruit & veg. but meat was not easy to find. Alex was our guy on the island & he did all our cooking, even baked us some fresh bread, our designated shopper Rose had had the great idea of including flour & yeast when buying at Shoprite in Blantyre. We would give Alex the ingredients & some basic instructions & an hour or so later would be served on the deck with a meal fit for queens, Bolognaise, BBQed chicken, BLTs & fresh fruit salad every morning (you can cook yourself if you prefer). Thanks again ALEX. Fish was not as easy to come by as anticipated, we managed to buy Kampango on the mainland, a type of catfish, which I enjoyed greatly but the others in our group seemed to be put off. Chambo, the fish we used to enjoy in the late 60's when I lived in Malawi, seems to be like hen’s teeth. The best Chambo I had was on the Air Malawi flight back to JNB.

We did the camping option on Domwe, hiring tents, foam mattresses & bedding, the tents were on a wooden platform with thatch roof, in the trees with view of the lake, very comfy. One improvement I would suggest for the 40+ campers would be a little bench on the platform for putting on shoes or just sitting & having coffee. The bucket shower is an experience not to be missed. Once again a simple request to Alex that a warm shower was needed, half an hour later you have warm water flowing down your back under the trees, sublime after a lovely day of snorkeling!!! The composting toilet reminded one of ones bodily functions at times, but the idea that what one leaves on the island is not going to foul the place for time to come, adequately compensated for that.

The location of Domwe Island is spectacular!!! It is tranquil, rustic, eco friendly & luxurious all at the same time, a welcome relief after the hustle & bustle of Cape Maclear, (we had a party next door to us on Saturday night on the mainland). The deck overlooking the lake with honesty bar providing cold drinks (beer, coke, water, G&T, whiskey, wine!!) or hot water, on hand at all times is the best. I did not object to paying for extras as it allows those on a tight budget to stay on an island, usually a very costly holiday option, you can even bring your own tents. It was our most costly accommodation in Malawi, +-R300pppn + a good tip for the guys, including 2 kayaks, against R200pppn at most other places but we would still have to cook for ourselves or buy meals, very good value in my book. If you want everything laid on, you can stay on Mambo Island which we did not do as it was out of our budget.

Don’t forget to go up to the kitchen in the evening to see the Bush pigs & Civet cats.
Thanks again to all at Kayak Africa for a memorable time.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NatGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Maclear
0.0 mi away
Gecko Lounge
Gecko Lounge
#1 of 1 in Cape Maclear
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kaya Mawa
Kaya Mawa
#1 of 1 in Likoma Island
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Zebra Island Lodge
Blue Zebra Island Lodge
#1 of 1 in Maleri Island
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Funky Cichlid
The Funky Cichlid
#1 of 3 in Cape Maclear
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cape Maclear EcoLodge
Cape Maclear EcoLodge
#6 of 19 in Cape Maclear
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Makuzi Beach Lodge
Makuzi Beach Lodge
#2 of 5 in Chintheche
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domwe Island Adventure Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domwe Island Adventure Camp

Property: Domwe Island Adventure Camp
Address: Cape Maclear, Lake Malawi National Park 48, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Lake Malawi National Park > Cape Maclear
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Cape Maclear
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unleash your inner islander! Island paradise as it is meant to be - deserted and wild with ancient forest and crystal-clear waters teeming with tropical fish. Kayaking, snorkeling, scuba diving and exploring on foot fill the days; while a cold drink and quality hammock-time in the sunset-facing camp add a dash of style to the nights. Self-catered and self-guided, a visit to Domwe Island is ideal for active people who prefer doing their own thing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Domwe Island Adventure Camp Malawi/Cape Maclear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing