We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French owned small but nice”
Review of Cape Mac Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cape Mac Lodge
Blantyre, Malawi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“French owned small but nice”
Reviewed 29 October 2012 via mobile

I think more than anything else the treatment I received Frm the French couple that owned the place made the world of a difference dispite all the small things u may feel shld be changed! They have a beautiful lay out, lovely pool and jacuzzi area! But the hospitality I received out shone any where Iv ever stayed at!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nabeela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    19
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
8
20
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Cape Mac Lodge is a wonderful place! It's set right next to the beach, with gorgeous views of the local village life and the beautiful sunsets. We had a room with a view on to the lake, and a lovely seating area outside where we could watch the world go by. There's a lovely wee pool - and we had this completely to ourselves for a whole day, which was just so relaxing. The staff are so friendly and can't do enough to help. There's a kayak and a sailing boat that you can use for free.

The restaurant was lovely - food delicious, friendly atmosphere and wonderful staff.

Oh and we left at 4am in the morning on the last day which meant we missed breakfast, so the staff made a picnic to take with us! A lovely touch.

My only criticism would be of the mosquito nets which should really tuck into the bed rather than be walk-in ones - walk in nets do not keep mosquitos out - too many gaps!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilster33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Very much enjoyed Cape Mac Lodge. We went there with our son and his family in August this year. The owner made us very welcome and even provided a babysitter so we could all relax and enjoy our evening meal.
We had no problem with the mosquito nets and the rooms were quite adequate. The views were wonderful and the food was excellent. They provided a very good child supper in front of the TV and made every effort to make our stay comfortable.
Our son and his family are looking forward to going again over the Christmas holidays.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoolacombeArol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We dined many times in Froggies restaurant during our four month stay in Cape Maclear and thouroughly enjoyed it each time. Pre dinner drinks can be taken in the lush garden watching the sunset over the lake, and the food is excellent. The steaks were the best dishes we ate in Malawi!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahMelbourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, uk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Cape Mac Lodge turned out to be a great place to stay. The rooms are clean, comfortable and have everything you need. The mosquito nets are the best and easiest to use of any I have seen. The bar and bartender are good and the food served in Froggies is the best I have had in many trips to Africa. The owners and staff did everything they could to help make our stay enjoyable. The location is beautiful and the atmosphere was very relaxing.
I love Cape Maclear and have been several times, when I return I will definately stay at Cape Mac Lodge.

Room Tip: rooms are spacious and have tea/coffee, aircon, great showers, safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanHull_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2010

This is a comfortable place to stay, the four poster style mosquito nets were in good condition and both bar and room staff very helpful, food from Froggies restraunt also good.

At present there is a problem with the neighbours and they are playing loud African Reggae music from 0600 to 2300 to pressure the Cape Mac Lodge into payment. This is significant disturbance and creates a rather antagonistic relationship with the villagers. I would recommend checking that the problem has been settled before staying here.

The beach boys in Cape MacLear are rather tiresome on the beach when simply trying to relax, but there is plenty to do and the place is quite safe with violence virtually unknown

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxinsoxuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Stayed a couple of times at Cape Mac Lodge, and is fantastic in setting in middle of Chembe village, just great food by Kondwane the excellent chef, airconditioned comfortable rooms, and great clean swimming pool and jacuzzi. The staff are very friendly and helpful. A wonderful place to relax and enjoy the stunning view over the lake.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Maclear hotels
4.1 mi away
Gecko Lounge
Gecko Lounge
#1 of 1 in Cape Maclear
81 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thumbi View Lodge
Thumbi View Lodge
#1 of 19 in Cape Maclear
139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mgoza Lodge
Mgoza Lodge
#3 of 19 in Cape Maclear
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cape Maclear EcoLodge
Cape Maclear EcoLodge
#6 of 19 in Cape Maclear
34 reviews
0.9 mi away
Annie's Lodge Cape Maclear
Annie's Lodge Cape Maclear
#11 of 19 in Cape Maclear
24 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Funky Cichlid
The Funky Cichlid
#1 of 3 in Cape Maclear
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Mac Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Mac Lodge

Property: Cape Mac Lodge
Address: Cape Maclear, Lake Malawi National Park, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Lake Malawi National Park > Cape Maclear
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Cape Maclear
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Cape Mac Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Mac Hotel Cape Maclear
Cape Mac Lodge Malawi/Cape Maclear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing